Customer Reviews for

Last Time I Saw You

Average Rating 3
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Read before attending your HS Reunion

This was an enjoyable story that was quick to read. I warn you though - it will make you think of people who graduated with you. I'm sure there are certain characters in this book will remind you of specific classmates.

I enjoyed finding out each of the character's e...
This was an enjoyable story that was quick to read. I warn you though - it will make you think of people who graduated with you. I'm sure there are certain characters in this book will remind you of specific classmates.

I enjoyed finding out each of the character's expectations of the reunion and how it played out. I was disappointed a bit in the ending. It felt a bit like the author was back in English class and her writing assignment met the minimum number of pages required by the teacher and quickly ended.

I still enjoyed the book and would recommend it to others.

posted by Sherry_Young on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

I was so disappointed.

I really wanted to like this book. Even after reading the hokey subject of a fortieth class reunion, I still had hope because I have really loved most of Berg's books.
So I bought it and what a waste of my hard earned money. The characters were stupid and superficial a...
I really wanted to like this book. Even after reading the hokey subject of a fortieth class reunion, I still had hope because I have really loved most of Berg's books.
So I bought it and what a waste of my hard earned money. The characters were stupid and superficial and the story line was just plain boring. I finished it because 1) I paid for the book and 2) I kept hoping it would get better. It didn't.
Don't waste your time or money.

posted by Debles on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I was so disappointed.

    I really wanted to like this book. Even after reading the hokey subject of a fortieth class reunion, I still had hope because I have really loved most of Berg's books.
    So I bought it and what a waste of my hard earned money. The characters were stupid and superficial and the story line was just plain boring. I finished it because 1) I paid for the book and 2) I kept hoping it would get better. It didn't.
    Don't waste your time or money.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    DISAPPOINTING!

    I had read WE ARE ALL WELCOME HERE by Berg and could hardly wait for my copy of THE LAST TIME I SAW YOU to arrive! I pre-ordered the book. I was having surgery and had even ordered the copy as an audiobook--a huge investment! What a waste of my money! Now I am faced with huge medical bills and the cost of a useless audiobook. I am so sorry for Berg. The reviews she has received will be difficult for her to read.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    Disappointed

    I usually love Elizabeth Berg's novels but this one just did not do it for me. I liked the concept of the reunion as we follow each of the categories of people that we tended to label our high school classmates, but the characters just did not ring true. If this is your first Berg novel, don't give up. I suggest "We Are All Welcome Here" or "Never Change" to realize the true genius of this writer.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read before attending your HS Reunion

    This was an enjoyable story that was quick to read. I warn you though - it will make you think of people who graduated with you. I'm sure there are certain characters in this book will remind you of specific classmates.

    I enjoyed finding out each of the character's expectations of the reunion and how it played out. I was disappointed a bit in the ending. It felt a bit like the author was back in English class and her writing assignment met the minimum number of pages required by the teacher and quickly ended.

    I still enjoyed the book and would recommend it to others.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh! That dreaded 40th Class Reunion! To go or not to go....

    40th Class reunion.UGH! This is the last reunion which motivates many class members to attend that may not have otherwise. There is a wide cast of characters, typically, the jocks, the nerds, the "in-crowd", the "out-crowd. The faulty but lovable characters share their life stories briefly showing human vulnerabilities, successes and most of all seeing if they can be accepted for the great, new people they've turned into. It celebrates the joy of spending time with those who knew you "back when". The story is told from the points of view of five different characters and different perspectives on the same situation or occasion. A fun read, for sure!

    Other favorites of mine are: PERFECT, EXPLOSION IN PARIS and RAINWATER.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Over 50? A "must" read!

    High school reunions are always painful reminders of youth's most contentious times to me. Elizabeth Berg's descriptions of the feelings, remembrances, anguish and joy of those days is spot on. What is so intriguing, though, is that I've been to my 40th reunion and can equate her characters to so many of the people from my own class! It's remarkable how easy it is to fall back so many years - to become not an adult of 58 whose life has taken so many twists and turns, but that 18 year old teenager - unsure, insecure and always hoping for the "popular kids" to take notice! Her alumni have cancer, successful businesses but failed personal lives, unrealized dreams, ideas of recapturing the "glory days" - and in the end, some come to know and, finally, accept themselves. I've read many of Ms. Berg's books - have never been disappointed and once again, she's got it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Not good

    The Last Time I Saw You is a huge disappointment. It is shallow with poorly developed characters and situations. Where is the Elizabeth Berg who wrote so eloquently about women and their problems and feelings? Read her earlier works, but do not bother with this one. Commercial success has taken the subtly and love out of Berg's writing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun over 50 book

    I really enjoyed this book. A lot of the characters were so likable and those that weren't became more aware of what they needed to be as they went along. The ending felt abrupt, I wanted to spend more time learning what happened and it was all dealt with in a couple sentences as if the writer had run out of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    Very enjoyable!

    Elizabeth Berg is a phenomenal writer, and she remains true to her form in this novel. I have read her entire body of works, and I have yet to be disappointed by any of her writing. She has a writing style and voice in her books with which any ordinary person can relate.

    The book was definitely enjoyable....everyone can picture their reunion and everyone imagines someone from the past and who they might be now. The characters at times infuriate you and make you laugh at the same time. Berg does well with delineating each personality in her characters. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has attended high school!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Im 12 yrs old and i enjoyed it

    I thought it was really interestin, although it is not entirely 12 yr old appropriate, i thought it was well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Yhdsswwsdfgbi

    ?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Excellent - couldn't put the book down!

    I absolutely enjoyed the characters in the book. I think everyone can relate to one or all of them in some way. The book solidify's that nothing stays the same in life and change is almost inevitable.
    Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Another Great Book

    I love everything Elizabeth Berg has written and this is one another hit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Nice easy read for a lazy weekend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    Boring and whiny

    I usually like Elizabeth Berg's books, but this one was really boring, unfortunately. There are only 2-3 characters you'd care about, and the rest are whiny people griping about getting old. I'm 44, so maybe I can't understand the mindset of being almost 60, but if this is what heading into retirement age is, I don't think I want to get older! I was waiting for some great plot twist at the end: who ends up with who, etc., but it didn't come. The two characters who do wind up together was very predictable. Read her other stuff, it's very good, just not this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    skip it

    slow slow slow and boring dont waste ur time. love berg just not this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Predictable...

    It was a little difficult to keep track of the many different characters in this book. My biggest concern is that the story line was predictable and just didn't have enough substance to make me really care about anyone in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't miss this high school reunion

    Being only a year away from my own 40th reunion, I immediately recognized this likable, familiar cast of seemingly stereotypical characters--the star football player, the head cheerleader, the nerdy guy with thick glasses, the clique of smokers in the girls room, the dorky girl who was never included. Berg has been called a writer of "rose-tinted" tales, and indeed, in this novel, she creates an optimistic and humorous look at the wisdom and personal insights each character attending this 40th reunion has gained through age and experience. Berg keeps the tone light, and I laughed often. Although each character's story does not have the "typical" happy ending, the book ends happily. I enjoyed every minute of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    Worth reading a second time

    I brought this book from home while on a road trip and read it in 2 nights at the hotel. I don't know when I have enjoyed reading a book more. I immediately liked the characters and was looking forward to the reunion as much as anyone! I actually got this book from the library, but will be buying one for myself to keep and enjoy reading a second time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    Predictable...

    This one you can skip. Moderately amusing and an easy read but not worth going out of your way unless you're stuck in an airport and need to be entertained.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5