BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Last Time They Met

Average Rating 3.5
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A beautiful and elegaic novel

This novel of love and loss is beautifully written. The plot device is original and very well done. The ending will haunt you.

posted by 1449488 on June 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

I like this author. I had read "all i ever wanted" in the past and gave this a shot. I like where the book went but i was not too impressed. I will give another one of her books a try though.

posted by Anonymous on January 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Pretty good

    I like this author. I had read "all i ever wanted" in the past and gave this a shot. I like where the book went but i was not too impressed. I will give another one of her books a try though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wistful pleasure

    You must read "The Weight of Water" before reading this fabulous book. Ms. Shreve once again take you beyong your normal surroundings and brings you characters that you'll remember for a long time to come.

    The description of Africa and the political unrest and culture was fantastic. I felt as if I'd gotten to take a trip to a tortured country and yet see the beauty amongest the ugly.

    I'll definitely share this book with family and friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    A beautiful and elegaic novel

    This novel of love and loss is beautifully written. The plot device is original and very well done. The ending will haunt you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    I loved this book! Althought the reader might think that the p

    I loved this book! Althought the reader might think that the plot is similar to many other love stories - the ending is so unique and amazing that it left me dazed and shaking my head; "wow - I didn't see that one coming"! Well done, Anita!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Personally, I liked the book very much. It was a "real lif

    Personally, I liked the book very much. It was a "real life" story - not sugarcoated - and I totally understood how and why the book ended the way it did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Strange Book

    Loved parts of the book, the love letters were very romantic and real. But the end of the book threw me for a loop - completely unexpected and still have no idea what the heck happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Super sluggish read!

    I have been trying to finish this book for two months now. It's confusing as it flashes into the past with no gap so you end up rereading pages just to figure out what is going on. I have read other books by this author and enjoyed them. Disappointing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    An excellent read.

    The chracters were real and presented an intreseting story holding the readers's attendtion even if the book went back and forth in the time. They were raw and vulnerable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    A bit confusing

    Jumps in time frequently. Slow and confusing at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Worth your time to read this book!

    It was a very good read. Ilike this author's style. I have read many of her books.h

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Slow, slow read

    I found this book very hard to get into. I kept waiting for it to get better, more interesting, plot move a little quicker. But it never did. To be honest, I got 1/2 way thru and stopped reading. Something that rarely happens. It just didn't grab and hold my attention enough to want to find out the ending. The lead female character was good, but the lead male character is blah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    I too was taken by surprise at the end, I wondered what I had ju

    I too was taken by surprise at the end, I wondered what I had just read. I went back to the beginning and wasn't sure what I had just read. This is my first book by this author and still weeks later I am still wondering about the ending, I am reading it again because I feel like I missed something. It was a slow read usually it takes me a week reading a couple of hours a nite but this one took about a month. I do plan on getting another book from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    One of my favorites

    The book narrates a story of two lovers, who meets after many years, under unusual circumstances but with overwhelming love for each other. The novel flashes back in time in a very intriguing fashion, recording the chance encounters of the protagonists at the age of fifty-two, twenty-six and seventeen, in the same order…
    The story reveals the undying love between two persons despite the various turn of events in the course of their lives, which are not similar for the two. The novel weaves brilliantly the anticipation and promises on one hand and the pathos, constraints and heartbreak on the other. The last chapter discloses the first meeting of the two and what happened afterwards and relates to the upheavals in the lives of the two people in love..
    Shreve wraps up the whole narration in the last page of the book so masterfully casting a rare magic spell of storytelling, compelling the reader to remain maddened as well as satisfied and with an assured longing to read the story all over again. ..
    The novel gets its hypnotic and suspenseful side thanks to the reasons and chances due to which the lovers meet in wonderful coincidences but could not remain together for life...

    This book will definitely touch the hearts of those who believe in the magic called life.. its miracles and hypnotism...
    Anita Shreve's is definitely going to be the work I would look out for in my next visit to a bookstore or to the public library..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    must read

    favorite book by my favorite author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    Excellent writing - good read!

    This book was a surprise from beginning toend. I had not read Shreve before and her style is compellingly real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    lovely book

    from the woman who read the book to the final words, this book draws you in, you become part of their world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was weird.

    I had a hard time reading this book. But I didn't give up. I finished the book till the end. Even though, I read the paragraphs over and over again. I continued to read this book.I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2009

    Last Time They Met, Very disturbing.

    I'm not sure I would recommend this book to anyone. It took me a long time to read it, a very slow read. I was really surprised by the ending but still not enthused by the overall story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    Interesting and easy ready

    I love the author's writting. She went back in time which kept me intrigued. There is an unexpected ending. It's a great book. I recommend it for a pool-side read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    An Inconsistent Author

    Ms. Shreve writes as a different person from book to book. One who expects the same level of writing from an author will surely be disappointed by this author. The characters in this book need some help though the ones in some of her other pieces stand and shine on their own. It is still a good piece and worth reading but not an easy book to get finished. I seemed to be reading it for weeks instead of hours as in her other works.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9