Customer Reviews for

The Last Time They Met: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wistful pleasure

You must read "The Weight of Water" before reading this fabulous book. Ms. Shreve once again take you beyong your normal surroundings and brings you characters that you'll remember for a long time to come.

The description of Africa and the political unrest and cultu...
You must read "The Weight of Water" before reading this fabulous book. Ms. Shreve once again take you beyong your normal surroundings and brings you characters that you'll remember for a long time to come.

The description of Africa and the political unrest and culture was fantastic. I felt as if I'd gotten to take a trip to a tortured country and yet see the beauty amongest the ugly.

I'll definitely share this book with family and friends.

posted by Cheshire56 on March 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

I like this author. I had read "all i ever wanted" in the past and gave this a shot. I like where the book went but i was not too impressed. I will give another one of her books a try though.

posted by Anonymous on January 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Super sluggish read!

    I have been trying to finish this book for two months now. It's confusing as it flashes into the past with no gap so you end up rereading pages just to figure out what is going on. I have read other books by this author and enjoyed them. Disappointing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    Totally thrown for a loop!!

    The beginning was slow, but I held on. It did begin to pick up a little before mid way through the book, which is where i finally began to feel for the characters and take on their feelings. I was gripped until that last page, where i thought, totally disgusted, did i miss the signs, the foreshadowing earlier on in the book?? I thought for hours of what I possibly could have missed, but I really think the ending just came out of NOWHERE, and to be honest, I'm not too sure how to feel about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    hard to get through

    I've been trying to read this book for quite a while but I find it to be a slow read. I am in the middle of the book and it just started picking up somewhat. I was disappointed since I just read 2 books I couldn't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    Blah.......

    I was very disappointed with this book. After reading and enjoying the Pilot's Wife I thought that this book would be great as well. It took me almost a month to plod my way through it. I had to practically force myself to sit and read a chapter at a time. Shreve uses way to many parentheses in the beginning to try to explain things, so many in fact that it gets annoying. The story also starts at the end and works back, probably another reason it doesn't hold your interest. I wouldn't recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    this left me distraught

    I havent been a reader for very long, knowing nothing about authors by name or reputation. I only picked this book by title and brief description from the back of the book. I was dreadfully lost in the first pages, and struggled to get beyond it. Once finished with the first section, I went to the last, and didnt even catch the ending, then went to the middle section still not comprehending what and where this was going. Once finished, I racked my mind to find her (Shreve) meaning. I decided to read the reviews in the front cover of the book hoping something there would help, the review from the Minneapolis Star Tribune sent me directly to the last page. In shock of what it said there I found an answer. That explains why all the dialog in the first two parts (52 and 26) isnt in quotes, like in the third part. I couldnt figure that out when reading it for the first time. My words here feel like a rambling mess because that is how this book left me feeling. I think I would have preferred a brainless happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2002

    Very Confusing Book

    I bought this book because I had heard so many great things. Once I began to read it I found it very confusing and not a very easy read. If the book were written in easier verse I think it ould have been very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2002

    Confusing flashbacks

    I found this confusing and difficult to read and cannot remember anything about the story four months after finishing it. That's unusual for me as memories of Shreve's other novels live on in my memory. I've now read all her books and this was the one I liked the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    Still dwelling on the ending.

    I have read Resistance, Fortunes Rock and The Last Time They Met. I was disappointed in the last book. Frankly, I didn't care for the format of going back in time. And the ending well I am not sure of yet. I generally love her style of writing but this left me wondering why.I am looking forward to reading the Pilots Wife and Sea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2002

    WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT!

    I HAVE READ EVERY ANITA SHREVE NOVEL AND THIS WAS HER MOST DISAPPOINTING WORK TO DATE. I STILL HAVE NO CLUE AS TO WHOSE VIEWPOINT THIS STORY IS TOLD FROM IF THESE TWO CHARACTERS REALLY DID NOT HAVE THE RELATIONSHIP THEY HAD. FROM HIS?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2001

    'And then I woke up . . .'

    Her writing is beautiful, haunting. I love her characters and descriptions. But after becoming totally involved with this story and these characters only to be wrenched out of it at the end . . . I don't know. She did just what I tell my students not to do, and I feel cheated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2001

    anita shreve--help!!

    I wanted so much to love the book The Last Time They Met. Purchased the book with much anticipation--loved The Pilot's Wife--hated The Last Time They Met. After wading through three-quarters of the book, I could take no more so I flipped to the end, read the last few pages and though I was surprised, I also found myself bamboozled for having to plow through the book to reach such an unsatisfying ending. Who cares is basically how I would sum up the ending. I'm on to my next book by Anne Tyler. Here's hoping that one is better!! Anita Shreve-- you can do better!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1