BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Last Town on Earth

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    Very good book

    I really liked this book. The whole premise is so interesting...a reverse quarantine on a whole town. I am interested in what the readers feel about the ending... I am still on the fence as to whether it does the book the justice it deserves. GREAT book club reading...there are so many debatable issues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    I just completed reading this book and found it compelling, espe

    I just completed reading this book and found it compelling, especially now with the Ebola scare in our country. As friends, family, and I talk about our feelings and fears concerning Ebola, I am reminded of the feelings and fears of characters in this story. It is not hard to imagine their desperate desire to protect their loved ones, even at the cost of others. This is a timely read, indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Awesome story

    This book is so good!!!! It is definately one that is extremely hard to put down. Absolutely love it!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Makes you think!

    Although there is enough action to keep the reader interested, this book is mainly a psychological account of how people's attitudes and actions can change when they are confronted with an extraordinary circumstance. It will be most interesting to readers who have some prior knowledge of the 1918 flu epidemic and American society during World War I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    sad subject but....

    well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Last Town on Earth is an interesting story about trust, right and wrong and what people are willing to do when lives are on the line.

    The story is about Commonwealth, a small town in the Pacific Northwest that gets hit with the flu during the 1918 epidemic that swept through the nation. In an effort to protect the town, the town folk decide to enact a quarantine. This means that the residents must stay within the town, and no one from outside of the town can come in.

    At first, this works fine. The town is self-sufficient to a degree. There is plenty of food and other supplies and most of the folks feel that the quarantine is a necessary precaution. But as the flu ravages other towns and there is talk of war spies, the people of Commonwealth realize that they may have to protect their town from more than just the flu.

    While on guard duty, Philip & Graham encounter a soldier looking for shelter and food. Graham's handling of the situation disturbs Philip and causes him to replay the incident over and over again in his mind. The encounter affects him so deeply, that when he is faced with a similar situation, he makes a decision that puts the entire town at risk.

    The story was a bit slow for me. It took a good 200 pages for me to get into it but there was something about the writing that kept me going. The depiction of the town itself was spot on. I could easily picture the setting in my mind and the main characters and the situations they faced were well-developed. I had some issues with the development of some of the other characters though. Their demeanor did not match their age, but in a frontier town in the early 1900's, that is to be expected. Young people held more responsibility in those days.

    Although this story deals with a pandemic it's not like any of the other novels I've read that deal with the same topic. The flu itself takes a backseat to the other themes within the novel which include, fierce loyalty, the will to survive, trust and honor. Not a page-turner but I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Worth a Second Read

    I re-read this in anticipation of Mullen's new book, Many Deaths of the Firefly Brothers. It was as gripping as the first time I read it. Still very thought-provoking. I'm surprised it hasn't been made into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Thought provoking

    Inspired by reports of remote towns who attempted to escape the Spanish flu during the pandemic of 1918 by sealing themselves off, Mullen has created and peopled a mill town in the Cascade mountains. The tale is highly believable, and reveals some of the tensions and moral dilemmas raised by pandemics-a recurring challenge to the human race. It's also an interesting read, told from the viewpoint of a sensitive boy coming of age.
    An excellent companion book to this is Geraldine Brooks's "Year of Wonders," about an earlier pandemic: the great plague (bubonic) of 1666. Also inspired by history, it depicts a small English town that also sealed itself off-but in its case, to contain the plague already within its borders, so as to avoid spreading it to others.
    The two books thus represent moral opposites.
    I would high recommend either or both for book club reading and discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Last Town on Earth

    Take a minor event in American history, add the flu epidemic 0f 1918, WWI, a new mll town in the northwest and you have the makings of a great story. Thomas Mullan has done just that in "The Last Town on Earth". With the flu epidemic wiping out towns across America, the newly formed mill town of Commonwealth has decided to quarantine the town to keep people out so that their residents do not catch the flu. Then a soldier appears at the blockade and is killed. What happens next as Commonwealth struggles with being locked inside its own borders? Mullan has written a fascinating and touching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    Good!

    Very different from books I usually read - but it was quite good. So many different characters and situations - very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    Surprised

    I was pleasantly surprised by this novel. When I first picked it up, I didn't know quite what to expect, but I found myself quickly embedded in a town and I found the characters to be believable and enjoyable. The ending, however, I felt came too quick and I felt like it abruptly ended, but besides that, I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone, especially those who enjoy reading about life during the war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Astounding

    What is particularly amazing is how he ties so many themes together with little effort. A spectacular achievement that deserves the utmost praise. This book has the power to addict you in an inhumane way. Yet, I cannot get over the sad ending. Not recommended for happily ever after carvers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Clich├ęd.

    The author does not seem connected to his characters and as a result they seem two-dimensional. I found the writing unimaginative and contrived.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    What a great premise for a movie

    If I were a rich movie producer, I'd grab the rights to this novel. It would make a really good movie. It has all the right elements, well though out characters (Toby Mcguire as Philip Worthy), suspense, villians, heros, a moral story. Gripping, couln't wait to finish it but still wanted to read on and actually felt sad to have finished it so quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    keeps you interested

    I thought this book was great and am very much looking forward to his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2