Customer Reviews for

Last Train to Paradise: Henry Flagler and the Spectacular Rise and Fall of the Railroad That Crossed an Ocean

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    Amazing, Compelling, and Inspirational

    I could not put this book down. It read like a novel, but was completely non-fictional. The writer thoroughly researched all the information, and provides readers w/ an historical account that makes you never want to put the book down. Not only does the book provide you with the visionary insight and accomplishments of Henry M. Flager, but it addtionally provides you with historical accounts of what people used to go through during the past hurricane seasons. It is amazing to learn how limited forecasting was, how huricanes were never named until the 50's, and what amazing feats hurricane survivors achieved to live and tell their stories. Last Train to Paradise will not disappoint you. I promise. I NEVER READ BOOKS, and this book was so AMAZING that I plan to read it twice!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    A fascinating, true, unbelievable story.

    I was truly absorbed in this book. For anyone interested in the Engineering field, it is truly an amazing feat that Henry Flagler did. I would suggest this book to teenagers as a motivation as to what they can do if they have the drive to do things that may seem impossible. Even though I am not an avid reader, this book kept my full attention and I read every word! What an amazing person Henry Flagler was and if we ever travel again to Florida I will most certainly visit the museum of his work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    Good Story, so-so telling

    I love stories of large engineering projects and the people who plan them. This one, though, was curiously weak. Perhaps teh story itself lost drama after the construction began, or after the first hurricane hit the RR in the making. Flagler comes out properly whitewashed (compared to John D. Rockefeller), and the story itself is tragic, but it sagged tremendously in the middle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    Disappointed

    The book started out with a bang, and I was really excitd to read all about this engineering marvel, but not even midway through the book I got bored. It just bogged down -- too many details dragged out. I'm glad I read it for the information I gleaned, but I would be cautious as to whom I would recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2002

    Nonfiction that reads like a novel!!!

    ¿Last Train to Paradise¿ is a nonfiction account of the construction of the railroad connecting Key West to the Florida mainland, a project headed by Henry Flagler. It is a well-researched and documented history of an exciting time in the exploration and development of Florida that reads like a novel. Building a railroad over 150 miles of water under the harshest of conditions was the vision of one man, Henry Flagler. Mr. Flagler used his personal fortune to make this dream come true. When he first arrived in Florida he was the second wealthiest man in the country. His fortune was made in partnership with John Rockefeller and the creation of Standard Oil. The ingenuity necessary to accomplish this task is absolutely incredible. The obstacles overcome included the brutal weather (heat and hurricanes), having to import every item from drinking water to food to nails. As I read the story I found the task more impossible with each accomplishment along the way. The closer they got to their objective, the more unattainable I thought the goal was. They truly did the impossible. That Mr. Flagler and his crew succeeded is a testament to the pioneer spirit of America. Dr. Standiford has written a fast paced book. He is a wonderful story teller. It is where truth and fact is so improbable, that one could not make up a superior fictional account. The photographs are a wonderful addition. With all the scandals in business today, it is enlightening to read the story of a man who put his reputation and own money on the line for what he believed in. As Dr. Standiford said: ¿Henry Flagler evolved from acquisitive robber baron to creator.¿ Henry Flagler may not have discovered Florida, but he saw all the state¿s possibilities and created the framework and infrastructure that made Florida livable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    highly recommended

    great read, exciting to follow Flagler through Florida. have recommended it to my florida friends and anyone else. Although I knew some information about how our east coast of florida was built up, most of this was new to me. If you read this and The Land Remembered you will get a great picture of central and east coast Florida

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Fascinating Tale from Floridas Past

    Being from the west coast, local history east of Nevada is hard to come by. This story is fascinating, and well told. I read the book start to finish over two days, using all spare time. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    Riveting Reading

    Having just visited St. Augustine, Florida, I was well aware of Henry Flager's ability to make dreams reality. The hotels and churches he built there are testament to that. But "Last Train to Paradise" lays claim to Flager's even grander dreams, dreams that put Ft. Lauderdale and Miami on the map as well as a coastal railroad to Key West. Impossible to imagine in this day and age due to understandable environmental concerns, Lee Standiford's riveting book explains how a determined, aged Flager made the impossible possible, even in light of personal tragedy and natural disasters. Standiford's coverage of the 1935 hurricane that put a final end to Flagler's dream rivals Erik Larson's "Isaac's Storm" in intensity. Standiford does justice to this amazing story. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1