Customer Reviews for

The Last Werewolf

Average Rating 3.5
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ for any myth or lore lover!

I am a huge skeptic when it comes to reading new fiction, especially when it has to do with werewolves and vampires. It seems that nowadays authors enjoy tweaking the lore surrounding these mythical creatures to fit their own agendas. Some of it is alright, but usually ...
I am a huge skeptic when it comes to reading new fiction, especially when it has to do with werewolves and vampires. It seems that nowadays authors enjoy tweaking the lore surrounding these mythical creatures to fit their own agendas. Some of it is alright, but usually the end result is disappointing. So I opened this novel with an open mind but a skeptics outlook. I have to say I absolutely loved it! It was a book that kept me thoroughly intrigued and the choice of a narrative journalistic style writing was interesting. I have since had three of my friends read it, as well as my boyfriend (who isn't much of a fiction reader), and they all loved it. It is a novel that does an alright job as a stand alone book, there weren't a ton of loose ends, and I was content with the ending of the book. However, if Duncan chooses to write a sequel The Last Werewolf left enough room that the sequel should be a great read as well. Two thumbs up from this reader!

posted by Myth-and-Lore-Lover on August 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Wouldn't recommend

I didn't care for they way the writer jumps around.Hard to tell if these are his thoughts now, in the past, or is someone else giving a opinion.Not my kind of book.I don't believe I will buy from this author again

posted by MPS3Mom on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST READ for any myth or lore lover!

    I am a huge skeptic when it comes to reading new fiction, especially when it has to do with werewolves and vampires. It seems that nowadays authors enjoy tweaking the lore surrounding these mythical creatures to fit their own agendas. Some of it is alright, but usually the end result is disappointing. So I opened this novel with an open mind but a skeptics outlook. I have to say I absolutely loved it! It was a book that kept me thoroughly intrigued and the choice of a narrative journalistic style writing was interesting. I have since had three of my friends read it, as well as my boyfriend (who isn't much of a fiction reader), and they all loved it. It is a novel that does an alright job as a stand alone book, there weren't a ton of loose ends, and I was content with the ending of the book. However, if Duncan chooses to write a sequel The Last Werewolf left enough room that the sequel should be a great read as well. Two thumbs up from this reader!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Wouldn't recommend

    I didn't care for they way the writer jumps around.Hard to tell if these are his thoughts now, in the past, or is someone else giving a opinion.Not my kind of book.I don't believe I will buy from this author again

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A winner

    Two centuries old Jake Marlowe is depressed in spite of the fact his physical health is good, he gets all the sex he craves and his high red meat diet is perfect for his metabolism as human fresh flesh is a delight. His despondency is caused by learning from his only friend Harley, who hacked into the World Organization for the Control of Occult Phenomena (WOCOP) database that the other remaining werewolf was just killed.

    Jake considers suicide though that would make his species extinct. Meanwhile the vampires hunt him for a purpose that only a bloodsucker would comprehend; while a high ranking WOCOP official stalks him seeking vengeance for Jake dining on his father. Being hunted is not new to The Last Werewolf, but when backed to a cage wall the predator takes over as Jake hunts the hunters.

    Jake is a fantastic intelligent and witty protagonist obsessed with the duo needs of sex and eat as he rarely psychologically moves above the Physiological lowest level of Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs; except when his life is at stake he climbs to the next level of personal Safety. The biographical fiction story line is driven by the title character who turns beastly when he hungers for sex or food; preferably together.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not a literary work of art

    This book is a graphic horror novel. I didn't find it that new or clever. However, it's not just a formula, spit out by anyone. The writer has his own voice, certainly, and that is appreciated and kept me entertained.

    Most of the novel is written from a male point of view. It is really violent and graphic and very male. I didn't feel the author could then shift to a female perspective. The female characters were all heavily imbued with male traits, so much so it did not ring true. Either that or they were caricatured and one dimensional add ons. This was disappointing and made it feel flat and one note.

    I would say reading it was like riding a roller coaster that had some really thrilling drops, but too many teeth clacking turns and head banging loops. When it ends, you don't want to get back on.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    In the end, disappointing

    This was ultimately a disappointing read.

    I'm not a prude by any means, but the author's use of profanity and sexual descriptions bordered on the obscene. It felt like he was using the terminology he chose simply for shock value.

    In a similar vein was his vocabulary. Occasionally, in a non-fiction book, I'll have to look something up (great feature in Nook, btw). In this novel, the philosophical and existential werewolf narrator seems to enjoy regaling the reader, since this is purportedly his journal we are reading, with obscure terminology and references.

    The story is essentially the tale of 201 year old Jake Marlowe, the last surviving werewolf (or not) who is being hunted both by vampires who are in a mutually despising relationship with the werewolves, and WOCOP, an agency whose funding is not made clear that to control occult phenomena. By control, they mean eliminate, at least as far as werewolves go. It seemed vampires got a pass on their attention.

    Along the way, he meets Tullula, another werewolf, thus making him no longer the last werewolf, with suggestions there may be yet more werewolves unknown to wither WOCOP, the vampires or Jake Marlowe.

    The denouement came as both a bit of a surprise but with what amounts to a lead in for a continuation of the story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    I wanted so much more.

    This felt more like a first draft than a completed novel. There is stuff to like here, but you have to wade through a ton of navel-gazing to get to the story, and once you are there it thrills, stalls, stops, starts back up but finally disappoints.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Werewolves. They are stinky, vulgar and probably the most under-

    Werewolves. They are stinky, vulgar and probably the most under-celebrated monster of the horror world. Our poor perception of these mythical beasts tends to ride in tandem with our unadulterated love for their sexier, glamorized, undead foes. Well, Glen Duncan is here to change all that. Meet Jake Marlowe—he’s the hero (and I say that in the loosest sense of the word) at the center of Duncan’s novel, The Last Werewolf. Jake is a 200 year old werewolf with a voracious libido. He loves good scotch, chain-smoking and philosophical musings. He’s also the last of his kind. When a secret paranormal organization seeks to exterminate him, he struggles to figure out his place in the world. Does he continue on with this violent, lonely existence or attempt to find some peace by giving up his life? Written in journal-format, we’re given an insider’s peek at Jake’s moral dilemmas, random musings and darkest secrets.

    The Last Werewolf is not what you’d expect for a book about werewolves. Just take a look at the author and I think it becomes clearly evident we’ve exited the realm of the ordinary. No, seriously. Take a look at his photo on the back of the book.Now you see why this story has so much potential. And yes, I'm saying that I do judge a book by its cover, so to speak. But I digress. Duncan’s crafted an interesting dichotomy where the fiction sits somewhere in between horror and idealism. Make no mistake, folks, cultured as he is, our protagonist Jake isn’t a very nice guy. He has rampant sex with hookers and murders people in the most gruesome of ways. That is where the “horror” comes in to play. I mean, sure—a werewolf’s gotta do what a werewolf’s gotta do—but Jake’s so much more than that. We’re taken inside the mind of a man who’s at the end of his rope. It’s a story about the internal struggle to come to terms with the monster inside and make sense of how to keep on living when everything and everyone he loves is stripped away. It puts ethics to the test by asking, how does the human deal with moral accountability when the wolf comes out to play? In other words, it delves into some serious psychological stuff.

    My first initial impressions of this book weren’t all that great, if I’m being honest. I found the writing to be a bit tedious and wordy. But once I got past the blatant “oh-woe-is-me” monotony of the first few chapters, it transformed (much like Jake, himself) into something much more poignant and exciting, something not unlike a James Bond film, actually. It gets gritty, dark and in places, kind of campy. There are secret organizations, beautiful women, guns, cars and cliffhangers galore. But that’s also what keeps it from being too bogged down with intensity. That and amusing quips like “Reader, I ate him.” You can’t help but root for a guy like that, even if he is a "bad one." Character development isn’t Duncan’s only strength though. He holds our suspension of disbelief and brings the magic of transformation to life in his detailed descriptions of Jake’s physical and mental change. This is a real-world example of the old writer’s adage “show, don’t tell,” one that I’ve really come to appreciate. We’re given a clear sense of Jake’s world, both pre and post infection. Yep. There's even a bit of sci-fi sprinkled in there. Duncan flips the script on what we know about vampires, werewolves and the supernatural world and I have to say, it’s a refreshing change for the horror genre.

    I know it sounds like there’s a lot going on and there is, but it's good stuff if you can just push through it. If you’re looking for “light reading” then this definitely isn’t the book for you, but for those enjoy a great piece of literature full of substance, you've found a sure winner. Duncan has done a superb job of creating an interesting albeit morally ambiguous protagonist. Jake Marlowe is someone I’d love chat with over a fancy dinner; ya know, provided there’s not a full moon that night. He’s cultured, wry, morose and deeply jaded, and despite all his tragic set-backs, we come to see that he’s still a man underneath all that monster. So I leave you with this, dear Reader: “In the meantime there’s the Curse to get through. Tonight’s the full moon, and the Hunger doesn’t care what you’ve been through or what your fears are or where you’ll be next week. There’s a comfort in it, the purity of its demand, its imperviousness to reason or remorse. The hunger, in its vicious simplicity, teaches you how to be a werewolf.” And wouldn't you know--that's something I've always wanted to know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    One of the most interesting and well written fictions I've read.

    One of the most interesting and well written fictions I've read. Duncan has an unique style and amazing ability to tell a story. I can't say enough good things about the plot or his style. I never would have heard of this book if I hadn't been stuck in rush hour Chicago traffic channel surfing over the radio and found an NPR interview with Duncan about this book. Read this book!

    I strongly disagree with the points made by many people rating this lower than a 3. I started writing counter arguements until I realized this is not the forum for that. I think there are a lot of nuiances they missed or didn't understand. If you enjoy a good story, read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2015

    great fun

    this is the way to do a werewolf story. Just a great and thrilling story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The werewolf novel we have been waiting for! This beautifully wr

    The werewolf novel we have been waiting for! This beautifully written novel brings the reader in to Jake,the last werewolf on year's world. Jake has been around for 200 years when he told that he is the last werewolf. By this point he is tired of leaving and wants to just the organization WOCOP kill him. But i had to feel sorry for Jake when WOCOP kills Harley his friend and insider to the organization. Jake is all ready for the last hurrah of transformation, when while in the airport he meets Talulla and everything changes.


    Overall I really enjoyed this book and would highly suggest to anon who loves werewolves. I felt like this book redefined the werewolf genre, and I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Good read

    The best book i have read in a long time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Interesting but...

    The book was interesting enough to read in its entirety. However after a few too many references in the non-existence of God, I couldn't wait for the end. I have to admit the presumed origin of lycanthropy was interesting (despite being simply wrong on many levels) but the way the author went about it, it would have been better if he didn't dismiss that or leave it without end. Not a total waste of money or time but if you have any inking of doubt, then don't get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2014

    A great story with great characters. story development and insig

    A great story with great characters. story development and insightful ideas about the life of an immortal. Recommend reading all three novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2014

    One of those books you have to finish to the end, sexy, comical,

    One of those books you have to finish to the end, sexy, comical, viciously insightful, brilliant and Gothic springs to mind to describe
    this novel. The writer is very perceptive in his brutal use of language yet is able to detach himself from mortality and humanity, a
    rarity amongst writer. I like the way the writer depicts himself as the werewolf and is able to put forward in his writing how the werewolf feels as both
    man and animal. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    The last werewolf is tired of being a werewolf and all that it e

    The last werewolf is tired of being a werewolf and all that it entails. He is being followed and has to be alert against his enemies. In his human form his life is good. In werewolf form not so good. I struggled with some of the violent scenes, although presumably typical werewolf behaviour. There were some clever and unexpected twists, particularly at the end.

    I received a free copy from NetGalley in return for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Not for everyone

    Found it a little hard to follow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Rules

    1. You must act as a pack, work together, talk to everyone, no one should be ignored. 2. If you wish to have a mate it must be approved by both Alphas. 3. If you wish to be Alpha or Beta you must wait till they have not been on for at least 3 days (unless they have said they will be gone in advance for vacation or a camp, etc) 4. No fighting unless there is a threat to the pack (no fighting with each other) you will be kicked out if you are caught (you may train though) 5. You must be active you may be kicked out if you are absent for awhile (the amount of time depends on your rank, the higher your rank the more you need to be on) 6. Must follow the rules (duh) you will be kicked out if you break them, you will get one warning. That is all for now. ~Arya

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    The writing style itself was smooth and well done, but I felt so

    The writing style itself was smooth and well done, but I felt sorely disappointed about the content of the story overall. The setting was interesting enough, but the main characters fell short. They were poorly developed and disappointingly two-dimensional, and the plot "twists" were predictable and eye-rolling. At the end of the book I put it down feeling cheated, that I had wasted my time on a book with a meandering plot and no point to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Well written

    Well written and flows nicely but fome pearsonally i just did not get into the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Adult horror with intelligence

    I am not a horror reader, but ended up reading this after reading a favorable NY Times Book Review. It has an interesting story told in a literary style; not some Twilight teenage romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7