Customer Reviews for

The Last Werewolf

Average Rating 3.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ for any myth or lore lover!

I am a huge skeptic when it comes to reading new fiction, especially when it has to do with werewolves and vampires. It seems that nowadays authors enjoy tweaking the lore surrounding these mythical creatures to fit their own agendas. Some of it is alright, but usually ...
I am a huge skeptic when it comes to reading new fiction, especially when it has to do with werewolves and vampires. It seems that nowadays authors enjoy tweaking the lore surrounding these mythical creatures to fit their own agendas. Some of it is alright, but usually the end result is disappointing. So I opened this novel with an open mind but a skeptics outlook. I have to say I absolutely loved it! It was a book that kept me thoroughly intrigued and the choice of a narrative journalistic style writing was interesting. I have since had three of my friends read it, as well as my boyfriend (who isn't much of a fiction reader), and they all loved it. It is a novel that does an alright job as a stand alone book, there weren't a ton of loose ends, and I was content with the ending of the book. However, if Duncan chooses to write a sequel The Last Werewolf left enough room that the sequel should be a great read as well. Two thumbs up from this reader!

posted by Myth-and-Lore-Lover on August 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Wouldn't recommend

I didn't care for they way the writer jumps around.Hard to tell if these are his thoughts now, in the past, or is someone else giving a opinion.Not my kind of book.I don't believe I will buy from this author again

posted by MPS3Mom on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not a literary work of art

    This book is a graphic horror novel. I didn't find it that new or clever. However, it's not just a formula, spit out by anyone. The writer has his own voice, certainly, and that is appreciated and kept me entertained.

    Most of the novel is written from a male point of view. It is really violent and graphic and very male. I didn't feel the author could then shift to a female perspective. The female characters were all heavily imbued with male traits, so much so it did not ring true. Either that or they were caricatured and one dimensional add ons. This was disappointing and made it feel flat and one note.

    I would say reading it was like riding a roller coaster that had some really thrilling drops, but too many teeth clacking turns and head banging loops. When it ends, you don't want to get back on.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Interesting but...

    The book was interesting enough to read in its entirety. However after a few too many references in the non-existence of God, I couldn't wait for the end. I have to admit the presumed origin of lycanthropy was interesting (despite being simply wrong on many levels) but the way the author went about it, it would have been better if he didn't dismiss that or leave it without end. Not a total waste of money or time but if you have any inking of doubt, then don't get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    The last werewolf is tired of being a werewolf and all that it e

    The last werewolf is tired of being a werewolf and all that it entails. He is being followed and has to be alert against his enemies. In his human form his life is good. In werewolf form not so good. I struggled with some of the violent scenes, although presumably typical werewolf behaviour. There were some clever and unexpected twists, particularly at the end.

    I received a free copy from NetGalley in return for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    If you want to sleep

    It was real hard to get into alot of discription, not enough action

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Enjoyable but gory

    I enjoyed this story but found some of the scenes a little on the gory side. I had almost decided to stop reading when Lula appeared as a new character. I found the differences between the two characters interesting which carried me through scenes like the california full moon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Starts out a bit slow....

    But once you're in, you wont be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Well-written but too macabre for me

    I don't usually read this kind of lit but was seduced by the voice of the main character when I read the sample. Unfortunately, his existential musings do get a little old and the whole werewolf sex and blood thing got a little too gross...think vampires but much more degenerate. I'd read another book by this author just because I think he can turn a phrase but not another werewolf book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    The Mythology Is Great, The Rest? Ehh....

    The story was fantastic. It really was. Duncan's version of the old werewolf myth is by far one of my favorites. I'd tell you more about it all but that's what the description above is for.

    Duncan is a talented writer. He just needs to fix a few things. Now, I'm not a prude. Sex is natural. It's going to happen in books and movies. However, when something important is being described, I don't want a description of a woman's genitals happening at the same time. It's un-neccessary and quite frankly, boring.

    Especially when it seems that all our hero ever does is have sex. The whole "I'm going to be shocking, guys! Look look look, sexy time!" thing gets played out very very quickly.

    Another complaint, Duncan wanted this novel to be a journal of his main character which would be fine....if he wrote it like a journal. It was only mentioned a few times that it was a journal but came across as just a novel written from a werewolf's point of view.

    If you're into werewolves and vampires, you should read this. It may or may not be easy depending on what does or does not offend you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2