Customer Reviews for

The Last Will of Moira Leahy

Average Rating 5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BREATHTAKING!

    Therese Walsh's brilliant writing and vivid details bring this story to life. You can visualize the scenes she describes, feel the emotions that her characters are going experiencing, and get swept away into such a unique story.

    When I am reading THE LAST WILL OF MOIRA LEAHY, the rest of the world disappears. I absolutely love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Great read!

    Interesting plot and a bit of a surprise too. Worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    I love this thrilling novel its was worth ever penny

    I love this book its now one of my favorits :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Because I've come to know Therese through her incredible generos

    Because I've come to know Therese through her incredible generosity to other writers on her Writer Unboxed site and FaceBook group, I wanted to love her book, but was afraid I wouldn't.

    Fear was unnecessary. This was a beautiful, emotionally moving novel, and I would have loved it even if the writer wasn't Therese. Still, I'm stumped as to where to mentally shelve it. There's twins Moira and Maeve, growing up together in Maine - is it a YA? Not really. There's a romance, even sex, so is it a romance? Not really (though my cover notes it was a RITA® finalist in 2010). There's a Javanese dagger called a keris, which seems to have magical powers, is it perchance a paranormal? Noooo... There's mystery, there's a journey to Rome, there's danger, there's complicated family dynamics, and above all, there's lovely, lovely writing. And a surprise twist at the end which I am not giving away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    The Last Will of Moira Leahy is a wonderful debut novel. I enjoy

    The Last Will of Moira Leahy is a wonderful debut novel. I enjoyed following the journey of identical twin Maeve Leahy through her search for self, spurred by her discovery of a relic that reminds her of her twin. As Meave begins to heal from her past, the story unfolds as to what really had happened between she and her twin, Moira, years ago. What emerges throughout is a page-turning story of romance, adventure, and self-discovery, all leading to a satisfying ending and redemption. Highly recommended for fans of commerical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Totally recommended!

    The Last Will of Moira Leahy for me is quite a difficult read, in a good way. I was easily immersed in the story, intrigued and the whole summary really got me intrigued. It started quite slow though, with Maeve keep herself so tight and avoiding to tell us what's going on with her. She's mysterious, which made me don't understand her but it kind of weird when I think she's so connected with me as the story goes on. Walsh deserves credit for writing a character whose personality leaps off the page. There were so many times in this novel that I thought I knew exactly what action Maeve was going to make, and eventually twisting the book's journey. I got surprised a lot by Maeve, which always turned me down when I was wrong.

    So when she got the keris, everything went back to her and she wants to discover the truth behind it. I don't think I ever read something like this before; a mix of mystical and mysteries in a contemporary fiction. I was fascinated by the keris itself, because I myself has Javanese blood (even my fiancee is Javanese). Keris for real has mystical power which holds thousands mysteries to the owner of one. As that being said, I kind of truly understand the connection of the keris and Maeve's past. If you don't know this, when you read the book, there will be the part where you will learn the truth of the keris function in the story. You maybe think it's nothing but I got the chill on my spine. So this book got me an impact.

    There's some flash backs of Moira and Maeve that told us how close they were and how they became apart. It tells a lot even though it's less than two pages each time. The bond of twins fascinated me, which I truly adored their relationship, mostly when they can read or block their mind on each other. However, because of some tragedy, Maeve became the Maeve we know right now in the book; well-kept, mysterious, hurt, and pessimistic. I wish she could enjoy her life because she really deserves it. Not to waste it for nearly a decade after her sister's death.

    And I love Noel! (thank God there's some romance in it!). I thought the book would be a heavy and depressing read after all. Noel is tender, gentle and a great guy. He waited for Maeve for as long as he knows her. And funny too. In this, I was glad for Maeve, Noel is someone who will complete her. Teenage Moira was the best. I don't know why, but I think I love her wittiness and how she wants to do what she wants despite of being so different from Maeve like their mother wants. I dislike her mother for separating their likeness into something so-called identities just because she can't tell which is which between the twin.

    That being said, I like the book so much. Walsh really did an excellent job bringing the mysteries of keris and a woman's past that we keep pondering until Walsh ties the two threads together beautifully at the end of the book. There's a bit of suspense elements, but it kind of worked okay to me. But I cried when I learned the truth and how she and Moira let go the worst past in their life and forgave the person who come between them. This book was ultimately about healing from grief, siblings relationships, and about remembering past and yet letting it go forever. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliantly Portrayed

    I read this book in hardback last year, and I cannot forget it. Maeve Leahy still mourns the loss of her twin, Moira, and embarks on a journey of self-discovery that leads her travel, explore, reach out and connect with loved ones. It's a wonderful story of coming back to life after hiding in the shadows for far too long. I wept like child, but I felt so good at the end of the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    RWA First Novel Nominee

    Picked up this book because of it's nomination with RWA. I enjoyed the story and I think I saw why it was chosen. The characters could have been better developed individually but I think they weren't intentionally to keep the reader off track. Wasn't sure exactly where the story was going until it wound down at the end. It is a story about a woman who suffers nightmares because of something that happened in her past that involved the loss of her twin sister. Her life has been put on hold and she's given up things that she loved but we don't find out until towards the end of the book what is really happening. It jumps back and forth between the past as told by her twin and the present told by the protagonist. It has that little bit of woo-woo in the story similar to Sarah Addison Allen and Alice Hoffman. That edgy part of the story kept me guessing and it felt more like a mystery than a romance. It definitely didn't fit the normal romance of everyone living happily ever after. I did choose to believe that is how it would eventually end though. I can't honestly say that I would have stayed up late to finish it but I was interested enough to finish it within a week. I felt the end tied up all the story lines and explained why she had to have this adventure. Didn't really get the part of her sister's connection with the dagger or sword or whatever it was. That part got just a little too complicated for me. I would read the next book by this author just to see her growth between the two books. I did love the cover and felt it was a good choice for marketing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Could Not Put it Down!!!

    This book was awesome. I could not put it down and that is a tough feat for a working mom with three children and a demanding job. This read was full of suspense, action, comedy, drama, and it even had me crying at the end. Thank you to the Author for the ride.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    great book to give to wife or friend for Christmas

    Although it is woman's fiction I found myself guessing at the ending and when I had about 60 pages to go I didn't want to put it down. Had to stay up late one night just to finish it. It is well written and I think I would would classify it as very good literature.
    A friend of mine who have read it also thought it was wonderful and "can't wait for the second book".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    Beautifully written story.

    This a beautiful story of family and relationships. Suspense with some mystic elements. It travels between the present life of Maeve Leahy, a professor of languages and her childhood in Castine, Maine where she grew up with her twin sister Moira. A tragedy when she was sixteen causes immense pain to Maeve. The story is her journey as she becomes the woman she would have been but for the tragedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Predictability

    Usually when I read a book, I CAN predict what is going to happen next and how the book will end. This was NOT the case with The Last Will of Moira Leahy. I was surprised several times with the twists and turns of the plot. I loved getting to know the twins and the relationship between them which continued to grow even though they were not physically close or able to communicate in the traditional ways. An awesome read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging and haunting

    I am hooked on this book! It pulls you in from page one and doesnt fall short at any point. The entire book is wrapped in mystery that unfolds like a beautiful tapestry. The layers are intricate and leave you wanting more. The characters are ripe for the disecting and are relatable on many levels. This new author has a huge fan in me for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    this book is spectacularly amazing.

    this book has so much that you can relate to and it takes you there. you feel like you are with Meave as she travels her path. this is a must read!!!!!!!!!!!!!! =) =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Courtesy of Mother Daughter Book Club.com

    Twenty-five-year-old Maeve Leahy likes her life orderly with limited surprises. But she's feeling restless one November night as she thinks about her twin, Moira, whom she lost to a night in November nine years before. As a distraction, she attends an antiques auction where she places the winning bid on a special dagger, a Javanese keris, very much like one she accidentally dropped into a bay years ago while playing a pirate queen with Moira.

    Soon mysterious things begin to happen. A book on weaponry is nailed to the door of her office at the small college in New York State where she teaches. She feels she's being watched. Then she receives a note asking her to travel to Rome where she can learn more about her knife from a man who uses an age-old tradition to make blades just like it.

    In Rome she's joined by Noel, the only man Maeve has let into her inner world while still keeping him at a distance. Noel has been in Europe searching for answers from his own past and escaping from the uncertainties of his relationship with Maeve. Together they start to unravel their feelings for each other, the mystery of the keris, the man behind the blade, and the voices in Maeve's mind that refuse to go away. Maeve also finally confronts her own feelings for her twin and the shocking event that separated them as teenagers.

    The Last Will of Moira Leahy by Therese Walsh is a richly conceived tale that weaves mystery, romance, adventure and self-discovery into one beautiful package. Moira's story from years before appears tucked in between Maeve's narrative in the present. The twins' inseparable bond is both a comfort and a burden to them as they learn to find their own talents. Topics to discuss include the special bond that exists between twins, learning to be true to your own personality without taking away from family members, honesty in relationships, deciding to have sex with a boyfriend, learning to deal with family tragedy and more. The Last Will of Moira Leahy is billed as women's fiction, but it is appropriate for book clubs with girls aged 15 and over. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Moira and Maeve are twin sisters. Moira's life is taken in a tragic accident and it seems that a piece of Maeve has died with her. Maeve purchases a dagger that reminds her of the time she spent playing with her beloved sister. Maeve decides that it's time to start anew and moves into a new apartment. The dagger holds more power than Maeve could have ever imagined. She soon learns that there are secrets revolving around her sisters death and it's up to her to find the truth.

    This is an emotional account of the love between sisters. Magically written and beautifully told, this is a timeless story that captivates you, mind, body and soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    Magical Journey

    This book is as wonderful and lovely as the cover. It has suspense, mystery, romance, and magic. Above all, magic.

    Twenty-five-year-old Maeve Leahy is haunted by the tragic accident of her twin sister, Moira, nine years ago. Since then, Maeve, the vibrant twin and saxophone prodigy, has shut down her emotions and shut out the music, leading a lonely and sterile life as a professor of languages in upstate New York. But she can't resist the call of a keris>, a Javanese dagger, that she buys at auction. The keris leads her to Rome, and to danger and romance and a confrontation with the past and the present.

    The chapters alternate between the present in Maeve's voice and the past in Moira's voice. Walsh is an artist with words, using them exquisitely, painting pictures with a few strokes that evoke emotions. Yet the pace is quick, the scenes enchanting.

    This is Walsh's debut book, and I'm already eager to read th the next one. I hope it's soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A HAUNTINGLY BEAUTIFUL TALE OF SISTERS, SECRETS AND SUSPENSE

    When sixteen-year old Maeve Leahy lost her twin sister Moira one wild November night, Maeve's own world might as well have ended, too. Maeve coped by burying her emotions and shutting herself off from everything she held dear, including her family and friends. Years later, when an irrational urge to purchase a Javanese dagger ("keris") at auction proves irresistible, a reluctant Maeve is suddenly thrown into a world of shadows and intrigue. When a series of surprising twists and turns leads her on an unexpected and unwelcome journey to Rome, Maeve eventually meets up with the mysterious Empu and is ultimately forced to confront a past she wished remain forever buried.

    Therese Walsh is a hugely gifted author with a unique voice that will surely appeal to readers of both literary and commercial fiction. THE LAST WILL OF MOIRA LEAHY is a break-out first novel that aches with vulnerability as the reader joins Maeve on a haunting journey which speaks of love and loss; of darkness and destiny; of sisters, shadows, and the secrets shared by twins. For only when Maeve finds the courage to allow herself to embrace the truths revealed by the keris, is she finally able to release her grief and embrace the one secret we must all discover for ourselves. It is love that binds us; it is love that holds us; it is love that will never let us go.

    Bravo, Ms. Walsh, for offering readers such a beautiful story. Surely it will continue to linger in hearts and souls long after the last page is read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well-crafted and unique

    Debut author Therese Walsh has crafted a book that combines Gothic romance, adventure, more than a hint of the paranormal, and unusual settings. It deals with twins, their relationship and the special, very unusual bond that exists between them. Add a Javanese dagger (kiris) that supposedly has magical powers. Mix in romance (including some definitely R-rated scenes, yet handled quite smoothly), and you begin to see a bit of what this author has put together.
    She is a talented wordsmith, painting word pictures and inspiring the reader with such passages as "With a rush of guilt, she tucked the tiny charm into her pocket, where it burned for the rest of the day with all the weight of a stolen sun." Women may enjoy this one more than men, but if you admire a well-crafted, unique story, I recommend this whatever your gender.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2