BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Last Wool and Testament (Haunted Yarn Shop Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A well-spun tale I'm a weaver and a knitter, but even if I were

A well-spun tale

I'm a weaver and a knitter, but even if I weren't I'd enjoy Molly MacRae's latest adventure in the mountains of East Tennessee. Kath Rutledge's troubles after she returns to Blue Plum, Tennessee, for her grandmother's funeral might have sent a weaker ...
A well-spun tale

I'm a weaver and a knitter, but even if I weren't I'd enjoy Molly MacRae's latest adventure in the mountains of East Tennessee. Kath Rutledge's troubles after she returns to Blue Plum, Tennessee, for her grandmother's funeral might have sent a weaker woman running back to Illinois, but with the help of the T.G.I.F. (Thank Goodness It's Fiber) ladies and one very depressed ghost, Kath weaves her way through the mystery. I love a well-spun tale as much as a finely-spun thread, and Molly MacRae delivers both with humor and intelligence.

posted by Cam1 on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I believe I made a valient effort to even finish this book, but

I believe I made a valient effort to even finish this book, but alas only made it to Chapter 21 before I got fed up with the idiot characters - the attorney, Homer, who kept telling Kath "remember slander" so even she could not name possible suspects in the ho...
I believe I made a valient effort to even finish this book, but alas only made it to Chapter 21 before I got fed up with the idiot characters - the attorney, Homer, who kept telling Kath "remember slander" so even she could not name possible suspects in the house break ins, yet the Spievey twins and everyone esle could slander Kath. And Kath, comes off as a total idiot. No, this is one book that I wasted my money on. Besides no one, not even the Deputy is too concerned in finding Emmet Cobb's killer. This book is a big dud.

posted by 8153696 on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    A well-spun tale I'm a weaver and a knitter, but even if I were

    A well-spun tale

    I'm a weaver and a knitter, but even if I weren't I'd enjoy Molly MacRae's latest adventure in the mountains of East Tennessee. Kath Rutledge's troubles after she returns to Blue Plum, Tennessee, for her grandmother's funeral might have sent a weaker woman running back to Illinois, but with the help of the T.G.I.F. (Thank Goodness It's Fiber) ladies and one very depressed ghost, Kath weaves her way through the mystery. I love a well-spun tale as much as a finely-spun thread, and Molly MacRae delivers both with humor and intelligence.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Bet you can't read just one!

    Last Wool and Testament is a fun, scary, humorous, and entertaining cozy murder mystery with appealing, quirky, and, yes, annoying characters. Kath is racing to be on time to her Grandmother's funeral when Deputy Dunbar stops her to give her a ticket for speeding. To add insult to injury, he implies that Ivy had been a murder suspect before she died of a heart attack. Kath expects to inherit her Grandmother's house as well as The Weaver's Cat, her fabric and fiber store, but it seems that Ivy had sold the house to the murdered man, Emmett. Unraveling the mystery surrounding Em's death and Ivy's secrets is complicated by Geneva, a ghost who haunts the cottage Where Em was killed and where Kath temporarily calls home. The plot is an exciting adventure with twists and turns in this well written novel. In fact, like me, I bet you won't be able to read just one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    This is a fun first book in a very promising series. I wanted to

    This is a fun first book in a very promising series. I wanted to make this book last but it was too engaging to put down for long. If you like your cozy mysteries in the vein of Joan Hess' Maggody series, you will love this book. Kath is a distant relative to Arly Hanks in that she finds herself back home again under less than ideal circumstances.
    Woven throughout the different surprises that await Kath, is an edutainment experience of various fiber crafts. I have no prior knowledge of knitting or weaving or dyeing and yet, reading about the folks at Weaver's Cat makes me tempted to take up a new hobby.
    Kath is blessed with a variety of sidekick wannabes but no one can be as cool under pressure as the depressed and TV obsessed ghost she finds. The characters are richly defined and multi-dimensional and the small town of Blue Plum weaves an intriguing tapestry landscape with charm found around every bend.
    I, for one, am eagerly awaiting to see what LOOMS ahead in Blue Plum.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    While I haven't finished the book yet, I can tell you that it is

    While I haven't finished the book yet, I can tell you that it is a wonderful first book in a new series. I'm sure it will become one of my many favorite series. The detail Molly puts in her book are actual. I can say that with all truth because it's written about the area I was raised in. I normally don't write reviews before I finish a book, but I couldn't wait to write this one. You won't be sorry if you read it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    I'm a weaver and a knitter, but even if I weren't I'd enjoy Moll

    I'm a weaver and a knitter, but even if I weren't I'd enjoy Molly MacRae's latest adventure in the mountains of East Tennessee. Kath Rutledge's troubles after she returns to Blue Plum, Tennessee, for her grandmother's funeral might have sent a weaker woman running back to Illinois, but with the help of the T.G.I.F. (Thank Goodness It's Fiber) ladies and one very depressed ghost, Kath weaves her way through the mystery. I love a well-spun tale as much as a finely-spun thread, and Molly MacRae delivers both with humor and intelligence. I question whether the authors of the two previous reviews shown here really read this book, or if they are just trying to make trouble. Check the reviews for the Nook edition, which for some reason are not showing up here, but should.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Loved it! Will read the whole series

    Very fun writer with a good sense of irony, sarcasm, and humor. She left many possibilities for suspects. I really enjoyed this one. Adding her to my favorite writers list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Cute book!

    This was a very good book. Have sent it to my parents to read as well. Will continue to follow this story when she writes the next book in hopefully, a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Enjoyed very much

    I have already ordered the next book in the series. I enjoyed this book, kept me interested the whole way through. Surprise ending, did no see it coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    As a knitter, I loved this mystery story and all the quirks and

    As a knitter, I loved this mystery story and all the quirks and tangled corners that were woven into this mystery. Our main character, Kath Rutledge has come to Blue Plum, Tennessee for her grandmother's funeral. Blue Plum has so many funny, quirky characters...including Grandma's cat, the Ivy spinster twins, and a cop that is annoying. While Kath plans on staying in her grandmother's house, she finds it has been sold. Kath has as much gumption as her grandmother if not more in unraveling all the clues her grandmother has left and help from her The Weavers Cat's T.G.I.F group. Love this mystery as it unraveled and can't wait for the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    I just finished the book.  I couldn't put it down!   Can hardly

    I just finished the book.  I couldn't put it down!   Can hardly wait to read the next in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1