Customer Reviews for

Last Writes (Jaine Austen Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rip-Roaring

    Tissues. Got 'em. Eye drops. Yup. Chocolate... make that chocolates!!!

    Laura Levine's sophomore effort proves her debut, This Pen for Hire, was not a fluke.



    Wisecracking, lovable, zany Jaine Austen is back in this comical mystery.



    Told from Jaine's perspective this whimsical book is a must for readers who like their mysteries fast paced, entertaining... OK, sidesplitting w/ an abundance of humor.



    Laura Levine delivers the one-liners effortlessly. This talented scribe definitely knows how to write comedy.


    For readers who love their television, Laura Levine gives us a glimpse inside the fickle world of the actors & the erratic writing process.



    Laura Levine saturates Last Writes w/ a freshness that is not always easy to pull off in the ever growing world of the mystery series.



    Laura Levine's writing is crisp, down~to~earth, & plain 'ole fun!!!


    Jaine is back w/ her campy, kooky, delightful friends ~ be prepared for plenty of laughs.



    Kandi, Lance & Prozac are priceless!!!



    All of the characters peppered in Last Writes are fascinating.

    I adore the uproarious e-mail exchanges between Jaine & her parents.



    Despite the fact that the dead body doesn't show up until almost half way into this campy read, the mystery is first~class.

    Laura Levine does an excellent job setting up the foundation. She doesn't drop the ball.


    While Last Writes is book # 2 in the Jaine Austen Mystery it stands alone just fine.



    Warning! There are some scenes that are immensely rip-roaring that will make you laugh until you cry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    Good mystery

    This book was a light funny read. I would recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    Murder on a Low Budget Comedy

    Jaine Austen runs a writing service out of her apartment, in Los Angeles, called This Pen for Hire. She writes resumes, letters, brochures and personal ads ¿ lots of personal ads. She shares her apartment with her cat Prozac. Now her friend Kandi Tobolowski has gotten her a job as ¿guest writer¿ with a script assignment on the comedy called Muffy `n Me. Jaine wrote a segment called ¿Cinderella Muffy.¿ The head writers Stan and Audrey Miller had liked it. So, here she was. Miracle Studios wasn¿t one of the more glamorous studios and the office she shared with Kandi was a closet-sized room. The window overlooked the transvestites on Santa Monica Boulevard. The star of Muffy `n Me is Vanessa Dennis. She is a lovely teenager, but Jaine soon found out that her personality was not so lovely. One day on the set they accidentally walk in on actor Quinn Kirkland and Vanessa Duffy ¿boffing like crazed rabbits.¿ Later when Quinn dies, Kandi is considered to be the police¿s top suspect because she handed the donuts to him that were poisoned. No one else seemed to have had access to the donuts to put the poison on them. Jaine begins to investigate because she believes her friend is innocent. In her investigation she discovers that there weren¿t many people on the set that wouldn¿t have wished Quinn dead, even Kandi. Jaine is also getting emails from her parents. Her dad thinks her mom is having an affair. Jaine tries to help them figure thing out, but it is difficult. This does distract her from her investigation at times. Before Jaine can prove who killed Quinn, she makes some enemies and puts herself in danger. I think this is a fabulous book and series. The characters were so much fun. Having them all work on a low-level comedy helped keep the characters together and easier for Jaine to investigate. I highly recommend this book. I don¿t think you¿ll be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Merry has a question

    1. So only one story or chapters? <br> 2. Can we use the same names as the warriors in the books? (Sometimes creative names are hard) <p> thank u for making this contest! :) Merry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    ℳist

    Questions, concens, or anything else

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Question (:

    Approximately how long should our stories be?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    MIRRORED prologe

    PROLOGE: The rain poured down in sheets. The wind howled and lashed angrily against anything that came within its reach. Dark clouds covered the moon and stars, leaving the night dark and menacing. Every few seconds there was a pounding boom of lughtning, followed by a bright flash, so fast that it may not have been there at all. Puddles formed on the ground, surprising those who had ventured out on a night like this. A young girl was one of these unfortunate characters who had half a mind of someone who was insane enough to walk, or run in her case, out into the storm. The girl ran like something terrible was chasing her, but if one were to look he would find nothing, except perhaps a broken branch or a sodden toy. Perhaps the girl thought she heard something, or maybe not. If one listened there may have been an angry shout following the girl, but the again it may have been the wind. Neverless of something chasing her (or not) the girl ran as fast as her drenched feet could carry her. Her black and turquoise sneakers squelched angrily in the mud with every step, weighing her down and making her steps slower then they should have been. It seemed that she ran onward tirelessly but it was more then likely to have been adreneline or something of the sort. Of course, no one can run forever not even the girl, and at some point she would have to stop. Now, I won't be here when she does but I can promise you something; she won't stop because se is cold, or wet, or tired. No. She will stop because she sees something. I can't tell you what it is because that, my reader, will ruin what it is. Or maybe the fact is, is that I don't completely know myself. <p> THANKS FOR READING! Chapter 1 will be in the next result. -Robin

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Write Stories here

    WRITE STORIES HERE! 1ST PLACE GETS ANYTHING THEY DESIRE! (LIKE A MATE OR A CLAN WHERE THEY ARE LEADER) 2ND PLACE GETS TO HAVE THEIR OWN PRIVATE DEN! 3RD PLACE GETS TO HAVE TWO TWIN GIRL KITS NAMED MOONKIT AND LEAFKIT! STORIES DUE BY: AUGUST 24, 2013

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Shiver

    Please go to 'Red sunshine'

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Entries due july 25th

    Yep

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    I love the Jaine Austen mystery series! Every one has been a hit

    I love the Jaine Austen mystery series! Every one has been a hit! Easy to read and action packed fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Very good

    Funny lively

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Glitched to an Error by ninespikenonprofit

    I feel myself coming to a slight life. Luckily, "he" hasn't popped me up yet. I build one small corner and work away quickly. Build, build, build, I think. I falter between orange blocks, ice, and space walls. My mistake. When I choose ice, the screen says "These are the Slender Women." I look down at my feet sadly. I feel so ashamed of myself for not paying enough attention to what's happening around me. I'm on my own today. No Sky to guide me around today. I'm gonna do it all on my own. Oh no, run. My house is barely built and I have one choice. To run for my life! I run, and run, and run. Slenders feel like they're everywhere. Slenders behind me, in front of me, to the left, to the right. What can I do? I have my building stamp, my dele- my building stamp! I start building a contraption. Slate, toilets, lamps... When I'm done, I can jump on. Work! I jump on it and it starts to fly. It works! It works! Eureka! I fly around super high. The slender women jump, but they don't catch me. I can't beleive it! I've mastered - a glitch!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    The Leaf Legacy; The story of the young clan cat; ch. 1 the beginning

    Leafpaw shivered. If only i had slept more last night... Leafpaw shook away the thought. The moon was shining full power ahead, and the stars were like punched holes to Starclan. She was on her vigil. All she wanted was just to nod off for mabye just a little bit.... she shook her head. It would completely ruin her reputation if she fell asleep. She started scolding herself. "If ...you....fall asleep.... i will... kill you..." Leafpaw cursed herself under her breath. Soon morning came, and Moonflower padded from the warrior's den. "You can go sleep now. I wouldnt be surprised if you slept for a moon!" She joked with a giggle. Leafpaw desperately dashed to her
    ?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Steve and herobrine: best foes forever.

    Stevewa mineing and came across a dungeon with a herobrine and ender dragon spawner. Steve tried to destroy them but it only spawn herobrine and the ender dragon. Steve didnt know what to do but become foes with herobrine and died in misory. The end by anonmys. Try to guess who i am!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Skystar's Past - Chapter 10: Betrayal

    "Skypelt, can you and me go on a hunting patrol, just you and me?" Darkclaw asked the WindClan deputy. Was Darkclaw being nice to me for once? Skypelt thought, puzzled He bullied me ever since I was an apprentice...maybe Cherryheart was right.... Skypelt thought on "Ok" he finally mewed. "I don't mean to offend you, but can I lead? I know the best place for rabbits" Darkclaw mewed. Skypelt nodded, letting Darkclaw take the lead as they went deeper into WindClan's hunting grounds. After what seemed like moons the WindClan deputy and warrior emerged into a muddy clearing. Skypelt sniffed the air, the fur around his neck bristled when he caught no scent apart from his or Darkclaw's. Skypelt glared at Darkclaw "Why have you led me here?! Theres nothing here, not even a trace of rabbit!" he growled. Darkclaw snickered "No one to spy on us...no one to see us..." he mewed menacingly. Skypelt's claws unsheathed "What are you talking about?!" he demanded. "I deserve to be deputy, not an evil monster like you! I've seen that side before...right after your warrior ceremony...I cannot let a monster like you become leader and destroy my Clan!" Darkclaw growled. "I'M not the monster" Skypelt growled "YOU are!". Darkclaw grinned "We'll just see who makes it out alive!" he growled, unsheathing his claws and launching at Skypelt. Skypelt tried to dodge, but the muddy ground slowed him down and Darkclaw ripped Skypelt's ear. Skypelt spun around only to see Darkclaw's claws rake down Skypelt's eye, a milimeter from slicing the vulnerable part. Darkclaw then pressed Skypelt on a tree trunk, his claws an inch from Skypelt's face "Now, do you want to go the quick way...or the extremely painful way?" Darkclaw asked, hissing out the words. "YOU CANNOT DO THIS!!!" Skypelt yowled, struggling in Darkclaw's firm grip. "I will pick for you...the quick way will be MUCH better" Darkclaw mewed "Goodbye, Skypelt, and say hello to StarClan for me, will you?" the sinister tom added menacingly, bringing his claws down on Skypelt's throat. Suddenly there was a pained yowl that cut off and thunder boomed as rain began coming down. (End of Chapter)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    My story

    My story is at 'psp' all results!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    My story is at write res one and two

    My story is at write it res one and two

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    My story

    Is at 'blood wings' all results!!!!!!!!! -Jaysoar

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    WHO WON?????

    WHO WON??????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3