BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Last of Her Kind

Average Rating 4
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Great

    Nunez's depiction of adolescence is so poignant and accurate. She creates such intimacy with her her characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Brilliant, insightful

    This is a beautiful, raw, startlingly honest book. Feels like time travel to a much romanticized time- but looked at through clear- but never jaded, appreciative- but never idealizing, eyes- This book deserves more attention than it seems to have received.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Unremarkable read.

    read a few months ago and only remember I was not that impressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    BEAUTIFUL!!!

    I thought this book was absolutely stunning - the prose was beautiful, the characters were complex, and the 'great love' of George was heartwrenching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    Hard to follow

    This book was incredibly difficult to follow. I found myself reading and re-reading sections. I also felt like a connection with the characters was never really made. Overall,this book was not as good as the reviews made it out to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    Highly overrated

    There are many problems with this book. For one, the author jumps around a lot, dropping characters and plot lines as she goes. More important was that I never really felt that I knew George: what was important to her? how did the important events in her life play out? As for Ann, she seemed wooden and her sentiments sounded like platitudes. I knew all about her ideology but I never felt that the author made her a 3-dimensional character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    Complicated characters,who make you keep reading

    Ms.Nunez captured the historical,social fabric of the sixties,she developed characters who were complicated, people who could not be easily loved, but who I wanted to know more, and understand. I felt the last part of the book fell apart ,and felt the author took us on too long of a journey with the prison scenes..became annoyed at the attempt to be so clever. Overall, it was a good book, not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    Great characters

    The depth of character writing in this novel is what propelled me to keep reading. Weren't we all a little nervous about going to college and discovering who the roommate would be? I admired the two central characters for different reasons. Each has nuances that are familiar, fascinating and fabulous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    What nostalgia, what memories!

    This is a wonderfully written book that brings anyone who lived in the unbelievable 60's right back into that time. The lives of Ann and George, so opposite, are yet so compelling. I felt it was like a historical novel of the times and made me laugh, cry, and reminisce about my own college friends, campus life and dreams attained and lost. I would recommend this book for everyone but expecially those who lived in the wonderfully idealistic decade of the 60's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2006

    A Voyage Through Quite a Life

    The story here is deep and full of richness. It follows two women during the time of the unrest of the 60's and how their lives unfold. You see innocence, greed, envy, pain, and growth. While it is diluted in some parts, it is moving and takes you into the mind of women and how they feel about their lives and those around them. While it is said we should always listen to our 'inner voice' this is a journey where that is clearly not the credo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1