Customer Reviews for

Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles 30th Anniversary Edition

Average Rating 5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    What a story to tell!

    Julie Andrews truely has talent both on the screen and on paper! Her story of the Potter children's adventure into Whangadoodle land was quite the adventure! Kids may look at it and go Oh My gosh! Its so big! But it is worth every word and page. You wouldnt be able to skip one word nor one page. Its that good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    THE BEST

    BEST book my class has ever read. We have been reading this book for years and past students still say it is their all time favorite !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    Great adventure

    In The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles Ben, Lindy, and Tom (3 children) are at the zoo and meet a strange guy. They go home and Lindy gets dared to knock on the house that everybody thinks is haunted. On Halloween, Lindy takes the dare and the strange man (from the zoo) comes to the door. The man's name is Professor Samuel Savant. The kids and Mr. Savant become friends and travel to a new world in search of a whangdoodle. But they have to get through dangers that could kill them. Will they stay alive? If they do, will they meet the Whangdoodle? Find out in The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles. I recommend this book to 3rd through 6th graders as long as they believe in the impossible. I like this book because it's exiting and it takes you into the impossible world of imagination. ~ Anna

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    A true adventure

    This book opens up your mind to a whole new overlook of imaginary figures. While reading this adventure, it takes the children effort in using their imaginations to create a whole new world. With discriptive writing and wonderful new creations, this book pulls you in. follow the adventure with mystery and new tricks along the way..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    the greatest book

    This book was awesome. It was a quick read but yet outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    It's Julie!!!

    I loved the book. In my mind I could hear Julie with her grandchildren debating over what should happen. Over all, it's a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    Wonderful Imagination Book

    This was an outstanding book! I could not put it down. There was so much thought and creativity put into it. There was a lot of imagination, which it takes you into a new world. I totally recommend this book for all ages. Overall, this book was OUTSTANDING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Imagination is amazing!!!

    I first read this book when I was eight years old and now that im over 20 it is still one of my very favorite books I always give it as a gift to my young adult cousins and freinds. I definatly reccomend this book ages 8 on UP!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    ugh.

    yuck this book was like Edward Eager's. I mean, seriously, with all the animal cruelty we have today(especially at zoos, ahem), why would these children be happy about seeing them caged up behind bars? Sorry for all the comma splices but I care more about animal rights than typing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    One of the best books ever!

    I absolutley loved this book! I loved it so much that I did a book report on it and I made a board game based on this book! I reccomend you reading it,even if you don't like reading long chapter books...it's one of those must reads!!!!!!!!! If I could give this book 100 stars I would,and in a second!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    Inspiring

    This book is one of my favorite books of all time. It will bring out your imagination and it's truly magical. Anyone who doesn't like this book has no child within them or they carry no imagination. I would recommend this to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    So creative!

    This book was so creative and fun to read! I got it as a birthday present in May of last year and I am still reading it over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    AWESOME!!!!!

    this book was awesome...its my favorite book and i recommend it to anyone...if i could choose one book to read i would choose the last of the really great whangdoodles!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    Favorite Children's Book

    I read this book when I was growing up and it quickly became my favorite book. I have since revisisted this book almost every year just to remind myself about the power of immagination. I would recomend this book to anyone from 8-108! I LOVED IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    This Book Is The BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The First time I read this book was when my best friend let me borrow all three of her Julie Andrews books:Mandy, Dragon, & Whangdoodles, and personaly Whangdoodles was the best!! It shows you how sometimes things can be right underneath your nose and you don't know it. My favorite charecter was Lilly (I forgot her name) because she can believe annything, just like me. Once I found myself daydreaming about being a mermaid, and it was SO real!! Ms. Edwards RULES!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2005

    I love this book

    This was the best book ever! I did it for my bookreport and now my teacher wants to read it to the class!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2005

    I love this book!!!

    This book is WONDERFUL!! I was introduced to this book in third grade. My wonderful teacher read it to the class. When we were finished reading it as a class, she offered it to me to read by myself. After that, I looked everywhere for a copy, but couldn't find one. Finally, 6 years later I got it as a gift from my parents. I am now a junior in high school and I still enjoy reading this amazing book. Thank you Mrs. Thrall!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    Brilliant Book!

    This book is one of the best I have ever read! The characters and the ideas are so creative. You could never have this much fun reading another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    A very imagnative book

    The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles was a really great book. Julie Andrews Edwards was a really great author, as well as a good actor. The characters were well thought out, and the setting was fabulous. Good work, Julie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2004

    Drop Everything and Read This Book!

    This book is outstanding. It explains a ton of adventures, and I think it should win the Nobel Prize! It also should win the Newbury Award and a Gold Medal! This is the best book, really! If you haven't read this book yet, give yourself a spanking! I wish I could say more but my babysitter is getting tired of typing. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4