Customer Reviews for

Last to Die (Rizzoli and Isles Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Exciting and well written. Didn't take me long to finish. Very e

Exciting and well written. Didn't take me long to finish. Very enjoyable

posted by doggis on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable

I enjoyed reading the book and wondering what was going to happened next. I was anxious to see the next chapter.

posted by sandymi on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting and well written. Didn't take me long to finish. Very e

    Exciting and well written. Didn't take me long to finish. Very enjoyable

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    Ronna's review Aug 16, 12  ·  edit bookshelves: first-reads

    Ronna's review Aug 16, 12  ·  edit bookshelves: first-reads Read
    from August 12 to 15, 2012 To protect a twice orphaned boy from future
    harm, Policewoman Jane Rizzoli transports her charge to a special school
    in Maine.  When his story matches eerily with two other teens at the
    school,  she decides that it's much more than a coincidence.   All
    three teens are the only member of their families to survive from
    accidents--or could they have been murdered.  Murder sounds probable,
    because two years after these events, the teens new families are also
    murdered.  The children apparently survived by being in the wrong place
    at the right time. Strangeness grows when it's discovered that the
    children were all recruited into this remote, very secure private
    school, Evensong.  All of the staff and teachers are also survivors of
    murder, and Maura Isles' young ward, Julian, has also been recruited to
    the school. He's started his own forensic murder discovery club within
    the school.  Perhaps similar horrific backgrounds can help ground and
    bring some peace to these kids. While Jane and Maura are debating and
    possibly becoming comfortable with the idea of this placement, the
    school psychologist jumps to her death in suspicious circumstances.  One
    thing soon becomes clear, these children are still in danger. But who
    and why are these seemingly unrelated kids targeted to become the LAST
    TO DIE in their families?  Is anyone safe in this 'secure school'?  Who
    can be trusted and who are the murderers ? Once again, Tess Garritsen
    has created a thrilling , originally plotted mystery where these two
    working companions and friends must figure at what's happening before
    they too become the next murder victims! Great series gets better and
    better!! flag

    13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great series. Good yet refreshing allows readers to guess!

    Great series. Good yet refreshing allows readers to guess!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Excellent

    As always Tess Gerritsen makes for excellent reading.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    MasonRNC

    As always, a great book from Tess Gerritson. The Rizzoli & Isles series is one of my absolute favorites. Every book is a page turner! Love them all, can't wait for the next one.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Great Read!

    Very well written, of course TG always does an excellent job. This one totally suprised me in the end. Characters as usual were well developed and I loved the way they intertwined within the plots.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    captivating and suspenseful

    Last to Die was pre-ordered for my Nook months ago. I adore this series and was a fan long before TNT made the hit tv series Rizzoli & Isles. While I enjoy the show and being able to share Jane and Maura with my hubby, it cannot hold a candle to the awesomeness that the novels deliver. Each of them can easily be read as a standalone. I read this over two evening and found it to be captivating and suspenseful. Rizzoli and Isles are called to the scene of a horrific home invasion. A young boy named Teddy Clock is the sole survivor when his foster family is brutally murdered. Two years ago his real family was slaughtered and he barely escaped. Rizzoli is asked to interview this traumatized young man and she cannot help but try and protect him. Maura Isles is looking forward to visiting Rat at Evensong; the exclusive boarding school he attends. Once there she makes some startling discoveries. All of the children are survivors/victims of violent crimes and two of these children have stories that are strikingly similar to Clock’s case. Can there be a connection and does someone want these children dead? The tale that unfolds is full of spies, conspiracies and a psycho path that will stop at nothing to complete his mission. The characters in this series are unique, well fleshed out and quirky. Jane Rizzoli is a by the book and driven homicide detective who takes heat because she is a woman. Her partner Frost is loyal and has her back, even if it means sneaking around their commander. Cases get under Jane’s skin and her intuition is usually correct. When her commanding officer considers this a slam dunk case against a perp with priors, Jane wants to purse a link between the children. I love Jane’s attitude and fearlessness. Maura Isles the chief medical examiner is struggling with personal issues, and unsure if she fits in with the Boston crowd. Her friendship with Jane has been strained since she testified against a fellow police officer. The children and staff at Evensong were interesting and well developed for secondary characters. The witnesses and suspects surrounding the violent crimes that took the children’s families was fascinating. An interesting friend of Maura's reappears and I so want to know his story. He is surrounded in mystery and he intrigues me. We learned more about him, but like Maura I was frustrated and want to know more. Throughout the novel chapters are told from the murderer's POV. The world-building was fascinating and I enjoyed watching Rizzoli and Isles piece together the clues. Creepy happening, deaths and dead animals around the school made the tale suspenseful. I found the Evensong Academy interesting and it's ties to a previously mentioned club creepy. The Jackals forensic club and the schools curriculum adding to the chill factor. While I generally like getting inside the mind of the killer, something Gerristen does so well..this time I felt it gave too many clues away. There were still plenty of twists and turns that kept me completely immersed and overall I was satisfied. Gerristen has a medical degree and worked until she went on maternity leave. She then began writing and her background shows.Her attention to forensic detail is chilling. Her researched in police procedures makes her stories feel authentic. Her writing style and arc development is beautiful. From the first page to the last I was enthralled. She had my heart racing as Rizzoli and Isles worked to solve this case. I love the seco

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    Again, another fantastic book in the Rizzoli and Isles series!

    Again, another fantastic book in the Rizzoli and Isles series!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Couldn't read fast enough

    This is one of the best books that i have read in a long time. I flew through the lines to find out what was going to happen next! The ending certainly wasn't predictable! I highly recommend this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Awesome

    I loved it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Just ok

    I really looked forward to reading this and was disapointed. In the past I have found Gerritsen's Rizzoli &Isles characters to be extremely entertaining and her writing captivating. In this story I felt like I was reading something that was written for a much younger audience.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    AWESOME!!!

    Could not put this book down! This was the best series I have read in years! I was bummed that this is the last one!! PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! hurry up and write another one Tess!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book!!!!

    Tess Gerritsen's "Last To Die" was a different kind of Rizzoli and Isles tale. Where they usually stay in more of a cosmopolitan atmosphere, in this book they also explore the world of the darkness of Man's soul, the supernatural, and negative human emotion. When I began reading I wasn't sure it was the right book and actually checked it out. Ms Gerritsen outdid herself this time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Must read for mystery lovers!

    In true Gerritsen fashion, Last to Die had me puzzled til. the end. The plot is fast paced, thrilling and intriguing. Fans of Rizzoli and Isles will continue to enjoy the story woven throughout the book. The Rizzoli family as always adds humor to the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Excellent!

    Another winner for Tess Gerristsen. I have read all of her Rizzoli & Isles novels, and this, the 10th, was great. Good action. Interesting. And enjoyable. I highly recommend this and all of the Rizzoli & Isles novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Enjoyable

    I enjoyed reading the book and wondering what was going to happened next. I was anxious to see the next chapter.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Dr. Gerritsen leaves something to be sdesired

    Three families ar murdered all in the same week in three different locations leaving only one child of each alive. Two years later those raising the children are murdered except that all three again survive. The children (13 and 14 years= olds) all end up in a protected environment. Take if rom there to find out all of the ramifications as to who is seeking to kill them.

    As a fellow physician, I felt that this was a rather convuluted story not up to Dr. Derritsen's previous books in this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2014

    I have read both "Last to Die" & "Silent Girl

    I have read both "Last to Die" & "Silent Girl" and enjoyed both books very much. Tess Gerritsen has great imagination and is able to keep a reader interested throughout the entire book. Sometimes it was hard for me to put the book down. I am looking forward to the next Rizzoli & Isles series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Fabulous!

    Loved this book. I've read most of Tess G's books. This had a lot of twists and turns that made it very enjoyable. Would make a great movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Always enthralling

    I love Gerritson's books as well as the tv series Rizzoli and Isles. I found this book kept me on the edge of my seat. The ending was a little too much hea (happily ever after) but the 290 pages before that made for a fun and engrossing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8