Customer Reviews for

A Lasting Impression (Belmont Mansion Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Another solid, interesting historical novel

    Tamera Alexander has once again written an entertaining, solidly researched historical novel, this time focusing on late 19th century Nashville. The main characters and the supporting characters are well developed, and the writing is solid. The plot is well thought out and interesting; nothing feels contrived. Claire Laurent, Sutton Monroe, and Adelicia Acklen, the main characters, have the same doubts, fears, heartaches, and joys that many of us experience, and by the end of the book they feel like friends with whom I’d like to spend more time. The setting at Belmont Mansion provides an interesting historical backdrop, and it was fun to learn more about the social mores and societal expectations of that era. Kudos also to Bethany House for the cover design – the dress and pose described on pages 332-3 are wonderfully depicted on the front cover. I’m looking forward to the next book in this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Great book

    Kept my interest. Great read. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    There is so much about this book to love! Richly drawn characte

    There is so much about this book to love! Richly drawn characters, growing relationships, and fascinating history are in full swing as you spend time at Belmont Mansion with Claire and Sutton. Really love the emphasis on Claire's personal courage, how she grows when given the opportunity to use her God-given gifts, how she is drawn to the One who really loves her and gives her the strength to be honest in all her ways. The villains have their place in the story, but do not overwhelm the reader. I was grateful for that balance and the way the author compares Claire's painfully dysfunctional family with the loving family as led by Adelicia. The timing in the story line is just so perfect. The descriptions of Belmont and Adelicia Acklyn are riveting and inspired me to look for images. So fun to see what was inspiring to Tamera as she wrote this lovely story. Strength, courage, forgiveness, loyalty, compassion, hope, and love of all things beautiful - great or small. Highly recommend this one. Just ordered #2 in the series and cannot wait to read it! You will want to go to Nashville and see Belmont after you read this - a terrific story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2014

    Tamera Alexander certainly made "A Lasting Impression"

    Tamera Alexander certainly made "A Lasting Impression" with this novel! As a reader you can tell that she did a lot of research in preparation for writing this book. The way that she described the Belmont Estate as well as all of the art within, you were able to clearly picture it as if you were there in person. Mrs. Adelicia Acklen was such a wonderful and inspirational woman that had experienced so much in her life. But even with all of the sorrow, she never lost her connection with God. She certainly was a woman born ahead of her time. Adelicia is a great reminder that no matter how hard a task may seem, believe in yourself and give your trust to God and He will guide you in the right direction. 




    Claire and Sutton had a wonderful relationship, they really complemented each other. I loved getting to know them individually as well as watching their feelings for each other bloom into something beautiful. I hope that there will be more books in the Belmont series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    Absolutely loved this book. Fascinating characters, an intricate

    Absolutely loved this book. Fascinating characters, an intricate plot, and a setting full of history that comes alive make for a memorable story. Tamara Alexander has written a beautiful story that touches the heart and lingers in your thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    I Felt As Though I Was There!

    This is the second book I've read by this author and I can't say enough good things about her ability to write, she takes you in from the first page and leaves you wanting more on the last page. This story takes place at Belmont and is so descriptive that you feel as though you are right there in the mansion and exploring its grounds. I just knew I saw the wallpaper on the walls and the furniture in the rooms, personally met all the servants and was involved in every activity taking place there. What a wonderful escape this book provided. I'll be looking for more of Tamera Alexander's books, they are like taking a wonderful vacation without ever leaving home! Without the least hesitation, I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Great story

    Tamera Alexander writes excellent stories. They are all full of humbling experiences with timeless threads of history,discovery, romance, and faith. I have enjoyed all her stories so far and look forward towards more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Leon

    Try emma res 3

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    <>

    <>

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Loved it!

    Loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Bye

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Loved it

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Adeline to emma

    Uh ok wht did i do to u?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Love

    This book is set in the perfect place during an amazing time period of American history. Alexander makes you fall in love with a hard working girl who didn't start off on the best foot when coming to the states. Weaving in actual things from the Bellmont mansion makes this feel like a long lost story misplaced from the history books. I love the romance, drama, and the history portrayed so well in Alexander's best book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Loved it

    I loved this book and all of this author. It really spoke to my heart, knowing whatever we do we leave a lasting impression. Not only to those around you, but aleo those you my not know you are touching, and that whatever we are doing we must live authentic lives of faith that do point others to JESUS. Thank you Tamara for this book, I look forward to your next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    One of the best I've read!

    What a wonderful romantic novel! Tamara Alexander has a special talent for drawing you along the characters' journey that makes the reader become attached emotionally to the story. I couldn't wait to pick this book up at the end of each day (and would have read all day if I could have!)!! I will definitely be buying and reading more of Tamara Alexander!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A True Christian Historical-Fiction Novel

    With extremely realistic characters, gorgeous settings, and a shiny ribbon of history woven in, A Lasting Impression was carefully created to showcase a truly wonderful story. Tamera Alexander swirled just the right ingredients into this Belmont Mansion Novel.. A girl afraid of the surfacing of her past, a man with regrets from his own past and hopes for his future, a wealthy-beyond-imaginition woman with a curt hospitality, and even a touch of mystery... An innocent romance swells and deepens by the end of the book, giving the romantic-at-hearts something else to love about this novel.

    From Sutton Monroe's blunt honesty to Claire Laurent's shy uncertainty, the characters were very thoroughly developed. I could vividly envision each one's actions and followed the story very well because of the author's enthusiasm for describing. And when Adelicia Acklen directly--and very intensely--met Claire's eyes, I could almost feel the humility, embarrassment, or incompetence resulting from such an intimidating stare!

    The author's writing style is unique, though odd for me at times, but all in all, it worked nicely with the storyline. I felt that the middle was a little long and maybe too drawn out. In the end, though, the novel came together artfully and completely. I could clearly see that the author thought out the details and characters of her story prior to writing it.

    As I mentioned previously, even though there is an underlying love story within the book, I would not consider A Lasting Impression to be a romance novel. It is more of a historical and a story of redemption.


    I have learned that Tamera Alexander truly desires for everyone to take a step closer to God as they read her novels, and I feel as though I have. After reading A Lasting Impression, I found it to be one that has left me contemplating Ephesians 2:10. I thank God for the blessing of a talented writer who is faithfully devoted to creating as if it was "only for Him."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    I've read all of Tamera Alexander's books and really loved the w

    I've read all of Tamera Alexander's books and really loved the western settings. It's a totally different world that Tamera is painting in this book, but her writing is excellent, as always!

    It's short after the Civil War.
    Claire Laurent used to forge paintings for her father and `uncle'. Determined to start a new life she leaves the place that her `uncle' has send her to. She gets a job at the Belmont Mansion and starts working for Adelicia Acklen as her personal liaison. Claire and Mrs. Acklen both enjoy art. Claire doesn't tell about the forgery and soon it becomes a burden for her.
    In her position as liaison she can use her talents to paint kids toys and gift boxes for guestst. But Claire biggest desire is to paint real paintings and make a name for herself.

    Sutton Monroe works as a lawyer and is manager of Belmont. His father was killed in the war and the government threatens to take his family property. If that happens Sutton will loose everything.
    He's working on a big case for a client who bought a forged painting with documents. They try to get after the person who's behind the forgeries. If he can win this case he'll get a lot of money and his future is secure.

    Claire and Sutton both live at Belmont and share the meals with Mrs. Acklen and her children. They fall in love, but there are some obstacles that needs to be cleared away before there might be a future for them together.
    What will happen with their love if Sutton finds out about Claire's past?

    I really liked Claire's character. She was sweet, lovely and humble. Sutton was the real gentleman.
    Mrs. Acklen was a great character too. I loved to see how she and Claire bonded.
    The servents -exept for Mrs. Routh- were very nice too! I loved them all!

    I really enjoyed this book and also looked a lot at the cover and tried to imagine myself in such a beautiful dress!
    Personally I prefer the settings of Tamera's previous books, but as I already said - the writing in this book is excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Tina Arbuckle 2012

    This was a very exciting read. So pleased with the ending. Some endings are disappointing. Thanks Tamera for not letting me down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    LOVED this book!!!

    I had been eagerly awaiting the release of A LASTING IMPRESSION, and am happy to say I was not disappointed! Author Tamera Alexander has written a wonderful story that keeps the reader not only entertained, but transported back to another time. The main setting of the story is the gorgeous Belmont Mansion in post-Civil War Nashville. Ms. Alexander's style of writing makes the reader feel as if you're really there--viewing the Mansion (and characters) yourself! ~ I highly recommend this book, and am eager to read the upcoming books in this series. FIVE stars!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3