Customer Reviews for

A Lasting Impression (Belmont Mansion Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    I haven't finished this one, but love all her others.

    I have not completed the book, but I can say this. All her books I have loved 100% so I don't see this one being any different. Praise God Tamera Alexander is using her God given talent to write. I have been blessed by her books. Thanks!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    Must read!

    The question is will your past hold you back from your future? In Tamera Alexander's new novel Claire Laurent has been forced by her father into a life of forgery. Claire has lived her life trying to please her father and perhaps earn his love. When she finally gets away from him she starts to build a new life in Nashville, Tennessee. She becomes employed by an art collector and is surrounded by masterpieces. Her new job also involves contact with her employer's attorney, Sutton Monroe. The chemistry between the two exists from their first meeting. While she works in this art-lovers paradise she is trying to keep her past behind her.

    This is another wonderful novel by Tamera Alexander. While I was first drawn to the wonderful cover, the story is so captivating it was hard to put it down. She is such a talented author and this book is just one more example of that. Thank you Bethany House Publishing for my free copy, I love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    A Post Civil War Romance

    A Lasting Impression, another strong romance by Tamera Alexander, takes the reader from her Western settings to the war-torn state of Tennessee a year after the Civil War.
    Plenty of conflict abounds in this absorbing novel, from the young lawyer who has lost everything from fighting on the wrong side to the young heroine who dreams of painting masterpieces, but who must hide her sordid past of painting forgeries once she begins a new life.
    Claire Laurent, the heroine is saved from penury and worse when she gets the job of personal assistant to the wealthy owner of Belmont, where she seems to be given a new chance at life.
    Sutton Munroe, the hero, fighting to regain his family's lands and his father's good name,
    cannot begin rebuilding his life as long as he carries around the guilt of having prevented his father from signing the Oath of Allegiance (to the Union). He is haunted by the knowledge that he caused his father's death and sentence of treason.
    As the two hide their growing attraction, Claire knows time is against her. The past finally catches up with her and it is only by coming to the knowledge that God is on her side and cares for her that she is able to own up to it and face the consequences. The spiritual thread is deftly woven into the love story.
    I would have enjoyed seeing Claire come clean sooner and read about the developing relationship between Sutton and Claire once he knew the truth than have a relationship built on her hiding so much of her past from him. That said, Alexander writes a powerful story about a young woman whose self-esteem has been badly destroyed by her father and who gradually comes to the knowledge of the Savior's love for her and that her talent is God-given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    A must read for all!!!

    This has to be the best novel yet for Tamara Alexander! Very suspenseful, romantic, with good characters, good plot and all good qualifications for a wonderful book. I almost am done with the first reading. I always dread the endings of her books, because of the impatient wait until another book is
    published. I really do love this author and connect with her very easily.
    Need a good take-me-away adventure? Well, lose your self in one of Tamara's novels, and you can't help but be in book heaven!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    Excellent Read

    I recently finished another great historical fiction book, A Lasting Impression, by Christian author, Tamera Alexander. The vibrant detailed setting of the Belmont mansion was breathtaking. Tensions from the recent Civil war are apparent and the currents of conflict are plausible as they interplay within the characters. I was left with a desire to know more about the mansion and the real life characters that inspired her work. I also found a new favorite author and am looking forward to getting my hands on another of her masterpieces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Lasting Impression - Highly Recommended!

    Claire Laurent flees her past and steps off a train in Nashville, Tennessee into a new life God will provid for her. She crosses paths with Attorney Sutton Monroe which sets off a chain of events. It was as if God had her by the hand leading her to the future he had planned for her all along. She finds herself with a job that was beyond anything she could have dreamed. Yet, she fears it will all be taken away, even Sutton Monroe, if anyone found out about her past. She has impressed all of Nashville Society with her accomplishments. A Lasting Impression has to be one of the best books I have read this year. The author brought the history and characters of Belmont Mansion alive. The way she described the mansion, art and characters was beyond brilliant. She actually used personal letters Adelicia Acklen, owner of the Belmont Mansion, had written to a relative in the book. The words were very inspiring and made me cry. I am anxious to read more about the history of Belmont Mansion. I highly reccommend this book. I give this book a rating of 5+ out of 5. Disclosure: I recieved a copy of this book from the Litfuse/Author for review. I was in no way compensated for my opinion. This review is my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Light Hearted Happy Ending

    Claire's family is gone, her current accommodations are most unsuitable, and she is desperate to leave her past where it belongs: in the past. She enters the novel as a somewhat shy, nineteen year old with secrets and gets a job alongside Sutton Monroe, a lawyer intent on the truth. Sutton and Claire work together in helping their wealthy employer Mrs Acklen and quickly become more-than-friends. Little does Claire know, Sutton has an understanding with a wealthy young woman, Cara Netta with far better means than poor 'lawbreaker' Claire Laurent.

    A Lasting Impression is the first of three Belmont Mansion Novels set in the 1860s in Nashville, Tennessee. I was glad to have found myself intrigued on the very first page and eagerly kept reading. Excited to get to know the characters I was happy to know the more-than-lovable heroine but got disappointed in little-too-perfect hero. While Alexander kept me guessing as to how they'd get there, I found it predictable when it came to the ending. While I believe it was a sweet, well written romance the final chapters seemed rushed and didn't leave me with a satisfying conclusion. Whether this was done purposefully or not I am both curious for the next two Belmont novels and a little leery of spending my time reading them. I would quickly recommend this to friends who like the lighthearted happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Wonderfully descriptive book, please read!

    Forgiveness. That's all Claire Elise Laurent wants. After forging paintings worth thousands of dollars, she simply wishes that her painting skills could be used for paintings of her own, not repeated copies of an obscure artist. When her parents, or, since her mother died, her father's art gallery is robbed, and her father stabbed, she sets off hastily, taking the advice of her "uncle," Antoine. In Nashville, she is at a loss for words. She has no home, no family, and no one who could help her get back up on her feet. That all changes with a church pew, an untimely acquaintance, and a small hope that she will be accepted as something other than a forger.
    A Lasting Impression was phenomenal! With vivid, lively descriptions, the reader can view the luxuriously elegant Belmont Mansion. Using breathtaking details and characters so real the reader feels as if talking to them, Tamara Alexander has written a book that will not be soon forgotten. One would have neither problems nor criticisms of this book, other than minor doctrinal errors, depending on one's beliefs. Any reader can find this book to be one of the most researched, stunningly descriptive, and heart-warming tales of this year.
    Bethany House Publishers gave this book to me for this review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Excellent

    I received a copy of A LASTING IMPRESSION by Tamera Alexander, from Bethany House. It is the first book in the Belmont Mansion series. I had never heard of Belmont Mansion in Nashville before. After reading this novel, though, I have added the mansion to my list of vacation destinations. The atmosphere sounds amazing, and I want to walk the ground just like the characters. I looked up the house online while I read, so I could picture some of the rooms. It brought the story even more to life.

    The story involves Claire Laurent, an aspiring painter in New Orleans. Her father, owner of an art gallery, forces her to make forgeries for him to sell. When the art studio is broken into, one of his friends sends her to Nashville where they'll start a new business. When she gets there, the man she's supposed to stay with threatens her, and she learns her father is dead. Through the help of a reverend, she is hired as a liaison to Adelicia Acklen, one of the richest women in America. The fact that she is a real woman, and that author used some of her own letters to create dialogue for the character, cemented my love for the book. I felt as if I was traveling back in time, to a grand mansion inhabited by wonderful people.

    Through twists and romance, A LASTING IMPRESSION kept me on the edge of my seat, eager to discover more. I even took the novel with me to work to read during my break and lunch. I look forward to reading the next installments in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    A Masterpiece!!

    Once again, Ms. Alexander's exquisite writing has created an experience...A Lasting Impression!! Set at the Belmont Mansion in Nashville, TN; readers are taken on a journey to the Post Civil War era, and introduced to a host of realistic characters! I was moved by their vulnerability and inspired by their depth of Character. I appreciate Ms. Alexander's ability to complete one story line, while creating excitement for what's next! I continue to be grateful for the reminders of Grace and Forgiveness, and relish knowing that God is a giver of Second Chances!! Likewise, I was challenged to consider my own integrity in leaving A Lasting Impression! This enchanting novel left me breathless...Highly Recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3