Customer Reviews for

A Lasting Impression (Belmont Mansion Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Great story

    Tamera Alexander writes excellent stories. They are all full of humbling experiences with timeless threads of history,discovery, romance, and faith. I have enjoyed all her stories so far and look forward towards more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A True Christian Historical-Fiction Novel

    With extremely realistic characters, gorgeous settings, and a shiny ribbon of history woven in, A Lasting Impression was carefully created to showcase a truly wonderful story. Tamera Alexander swirled just the right ingredients into this Belmont Mansion Novel.. A girl afraid of the surfacing of her past, a man with regrets from his own past and hopes for his future, a wealthy-beyond-imaginition woman with a curt hospitality, and even a touch of mystery... An innocent romance swells and deepens by the end of the book, giving the romantic-at-hearts something else to love about this novel.

    From Sutton Monroe's blunt honesty to Claire Laurent's shy uncertainty, the characters were very thoroughly developed. I could vividly envision each one's actions and followed the story very well because of the author's enthusiasm for describing. And when Adelicia Acklen directly--and very intensely--met Claire's eyes, I could almost feel the humility, embarrassment, or incompetence resulting from such an intimidating stare!

    The author's writing style is unique, though odd for me at times, but all in all, it worked nicely with the storyline. I felt that the middle was a little long and maybe too drawn out. In the end, though, the novel came together artfully and completely. I could clearly see that the author thought out the details and characters of her story prior to writing it.

    As I mentioned previously, even though there is an underlying love story within the book, I would not consider A Lasting Impression to be a romance novel. It is more of a historical and a story of redemption.


    I have learned that Tamera Alexander truly desires for everyone to take a step closer to God as they read her novels, and I feel as though I have. After reading A Lasting Impression, I found it to be one that has left me contemplating Ephesians 2:10. I thank God for the blessing of a talented writer who is faithfully devoted to creating as if it was "only for Him."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    I've read all of Tamera Alexander's books and really loved the w

    I've read all of Tamera Alexander's books and really loved the western settings. It's a totally different world that Tamera is painting in this book, but her writing is excellent, as always!

    It's short after the Civil War.
    Claire Laurent used to forge paintings for her father and `uncle'. Determined to start a new life she leaves the place that her `uncle' has send her to. She gets a job at the Belmont Mansion and starts working for Adelicia Acklen as her personal liaison. Claire and Mrs. Acklen both enjoy art. Claire doesn't tell about the forgery and soon it becomes a burden for her.
    In her position as liaison she can use her talents to paint kids toys and gift boxes for guestst. But Claire biggest desire is to paint real paintings and make a name for herself.

    Sutton Monroe works as a lawyer and is manager of Belmont. His father was killed in the war and the government threatens to take his family property. If that happens Sutton will loose everything.
    He's working on a big case for a client who bought a forged painting with documents. They try to get after the person who's behind the forgeries. If he can win this case he'll get a lot of money and his future is secure.

    Claire and Sutton both live at Belmont and share the meals with Mrs. Acklen and her children. They fall in love, but there are some obstacles that needs to be cleared away before there might be a future for them together.
    What will happen with their love if Sutton finds out about Claire's past?

    I really liked Claire's character. She was sweet, lovely and humble. Sutton was the real gentleman.
    Mrs. Acklen was a great character too. I loved to see how she and Claire bonded.
    The servents -exept for Mrs. Routh- were very nice too! I loved them all!

    I really enjoyed this book and also looked a lot at the cover and tried to imagine myself in such a beautiful dress!
    Personally I prefer the settings of Tamera's previous books, but as I already said - the writing in this book is excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great Southern historical fiction

    This is the second historical novel I read from Tamera Alexander and I liked it even better than the first one I read. Maybe because it was set in the South just after the Civil War and it also dealt with the world of art. Claire Elise Laurent, A French artist who immigrated to the United States as a child, is taught by her parents to forge famous paintings so that her father can sell them. After her mother dies and her father is attacked and killed, she runs and ends up working at Belmont Mansion as a personal liaison to Adelicia Acklen, one of the wealthiest women in the US in the 1860s. Claire longs to paint her own creations and learns to become self-confident even as she hides her past. She meets Sutton Monroe, an attorney, who is attracted to her but is suspicious of her past, and is also investigating the art fraud case. To say this book is well researched is an understatement. The author brings history to life, especially among the elite Nashville society. Belmont Mansion actually exists and so did Adelicia Acklen. The characters are vivid, along with the setting that I easily pictured the story in my mind. I especially liked how the author brought Adelicia to life, along with her household. Claire's character grows as she is given responsibilities that feed her self-worth. The plot unfolds well and at a good pace. I was hoping for more action regarding the art fraud case and thought that it was handled a little too quickly toward the end, especially since this was what the whole story was leading to'how Claire redeems herself and how she would get off having forged famous paintings! However, this is minor and did not take away my enjoyment of a good ending to a good story. I highly recommend this one to all lovers of good Christian historical fiction. It will not disappoint! Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars Disclaimer: This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. I was not told how to rate or review this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    A Post Civil War Romance

    A Lasting Impression, another strong romance by Tamera Alexander, takes the reader from her Western settings to the war-torn state of Tennessee a year after the Civil War.
    Plenty of conflict abounds in this absorbing novel, from the young lawyer who has lost everything from fighting on the wrong side to the young heroine who dreams of painting masterpieces, but who must hide her sordid past of painting forgeries once she begins a new life.
    Claire Laurent, the heroine is saved from penury and worse when she gets the job of personal assistant to the wealthy owner of Belmont, where she seems to be given a new chance at life.
    Sutton Munroe, the hero, fighting to regain his family's lands and his father's good name,
    cannot begin rebuilding his life as long as he carries around the guilt of having prevented his father from signing the Oath of Allegiance (to the Union). He is haunted by the knowledge that he caused his father's death and sentence of treason.
    As the two hide their growing attraction, Claire knows time is against her. The past finally catches up with her and it is only by coming to the knowledge that God is on her side and cares for her that she is able to own up to it and face the consequences. The spiritual thread is deftly woven into the love story.
    I would have enjoyed seeing Claire come clean sooner and read about the developing relationship between Sutton and Claire once he knew the truth than have a relationship built on her hiding so much of her past from him. That said, Alexander writes a powerful story about a young woman whose self-esteem has been badly destroyed by her father and who gradually comes to the knowledge of the Savior's love for her and that her talent is God-given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    Excellent Read

    I recently finished another great historical fiction book, A Lasting Impression, by Christian author, Tamera Alexander. The vibrant detailed setting of the Belmont mansion was breathtaking. Tensions from the recent Civil war are apparent and the currents of conflict are plausible as they interplay within the characters. I was left with a desire to know more about the mansion and the real life characters that inspired her work. I also found a new favorite author and am looking forward to getting my hands on another of her masterpieces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Excellent

    I received a copy of A LASTING IMPRESSION by Tamera Alexander, from Bethany House. It is the first book in the Belmont Mansion series. I had never heard of Belmont Mansion in Nashville before. After reading this novel, though, I have added the mansion to my list of vacation destinations. The atmosphere sounds amazing, and I want to walk the ground just like the characters. I looked up the house online while I read, so I could picture some of the rooms. It brought the story even more to life.

    The story involves Claire Laurent, an aspiring painter in New Orleans. Her father, owner of an art gallery, forces her to make forgeries for him to sell. When the art studio is broken into, one of his friends sends her to Nashville where they'll start a new business. When she gets there, the man she's supposed to stay with threatens her, and she learns her father is dead. Through the help of a reverend, she is hired as a liaison to Adelicia Acklen, one of the richest women in America. The fact that she is a real woman, and that author used some of her own letters to create dialogue for the character, cemented my love for the book. I felt as if I was traveling back in time, to a grand mansion inhabited by wonderful people.

    Through twists and romance, A LASTING IMPRESSION kept me on the edge of my seat, eager to discover more. I even took the novel with me to work to read during my break and lunch. I look forward to reading the next installments in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1