Customer Reviews for

The Late, Lamented Molly Marx

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Chick Lit Mystery

"The Late, Lamented Molly Marx" (I love the alliteral title) was a fairly quick read, and I'd categorize it under "Chick Lit Mystery." There were no scary scenes, no gory parts. Molly Marx has recently died in a tragic biking accident. Who was responsible? Was it a ...
"The Late, Lamented Molly Marx" (I love the alliteral title) was a fairly quick read, and I'd categorize it under "Chick Lit Mystery." There were no scary scenes, no gory parts. Molly Marx has recently died in a tragic biking accident. Who was responsible? Was it a suicide? Was it murder? If so, was it the wealthy cheating husband? One of his mistresses? Her snooty mother-in-law? Her fling? Her sister? Her best friend?

The chapters toggle between Molly's life leading up to the accident and her life in the hereafter. Like Alice Sebold's "The Lovely Bones," the main character floats around as a ghost in the land of the living. She can see what's going on with those close to her and even hear their thoughts. She's determined to find out and remember what happened that resulted in her death.

Even in death, though, Molly finds humor: "I will, forever, be only six exits away from IKEA."

The characters and situations weren't very complex, but it was easy to remember who was who and what was going on. When I first started reading the novel, I enjoyed just following Molly along her path, but as the story went on, I became more and more intrigued by the mystery of "what happened." I was a little disappointed in the "Big Reveal" (and had to reread it twice), but still enjoyed the story nonetheless.

posted by eak321 on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

ok,but not great

I thought this would be a really good read just because of the concept and that was partly right. It was good just not really good.

posted by bitrsweety on August 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Chick Lit Mystery

    "The Late, Lamented Molly Marx" (I love the alliteral title) was a fairly quick read, and I'd categorize it under "Chick Lit Mystery." There were no scary scenes, no gory parts. Molly Marx has recently died in a tragic biking accident. Who was responsible? Was it a suicide? Was it murder? If so, was it the wealthy cheating husband? One of his mistresses? Her snooty mother-in-law? Her fling? Her sister? Her best friend?

    The chapters toggle between Molly's life leading up to the accident and her life in the hereafter. Like Alice Sebold's "The Lovely Bones," the main character floats around as a ghost in the land of the living. She can see what's going on with those close to her and even hear their thoughts. She's determined to find out and remember what happened that resulted in her death.

    Even in death, though, Molly finds humor: "I will, forever, be only six exits away from IKEA."

    The characters and situations weren't very complex, but it was easy to remember who was who and what was going on. When I first started reading the novel, I enjoyed just following Molly along her path, but as the story went on, I became more and more intrigued by the mystery of "what happened." I was a little disappointed in the "Big Reveal" (and had to reread it twice), but still enjoyed the story nonetheless.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Good read!

    I read this book for a book club and thought that the setting would be more along the line of messages from the 'other side'. I was pleasantly surprised that it didn't have that feeling. It was an interesting way to view life after death. Although Molly's death is a mystery the majority of the story is a reflection on her life not her attempt to solve her murder from the grave.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Keeps you guessing

    This book will keep you guessing to the end. How did Molly die? Was it suicide, accident or murder? One of my favorite characters was Bob, Molly's guide angel. I loved that it took place in New York City, the greatest city in the world! I would classify this book as chick-lit mystery. I liked the cover art and the title-very eye catching. It was a light hearted quick read. I read this for my book club and we all enjoyed it. Nothing too deep, a great escape with a little bit of humor thrown in. I would definately recommend this book. I will look for more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The choices we make

    Molly Marx dies at the young age of 35. Proceeding her death, she finds herself in the Duration. While here, she helplessly watches her family and friends mourn her passing. The Duration allows her to hear their inner most thoughts (some she wishes she knew while still alive). It's here where Molly is truly able to make amends with herself, her marriage and the events leading to her death.

    Molly is not perfect, by any means. In fact, it's her flaws that make her seem so real, so honest. She's married to Barry, mother to Annabel and twin sister to Lucy. Molly attempts to be all to everyone and tries to please them, so much so that she loses herself in the process.

    The Late, Lamented Molly Marx, to me, isn't a book about death. It's about the choices we make and the consequences that occur from those choices. As Molly watches the police piece together the events that led to her death, the reader hears Molly's story from her perspective and is able to understand the conflicted life she lead. One cannot help but to empathize with Molly and hopes she will find peace within herself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Frustrating end

    Enjoyed the book tremendously........until the very end. I like my mysteries to have a resolution.....this one did not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Very enjoyable book.

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were very real with their own various human faults and opinions. I recommend this fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    A good read. Keeps you guessing and wanting to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. I wouldn't say it's the best thing I

    I really enjoyed this book. I wouldn't say it's the best thing I've ever read, but the writing was well done and I enjoyed the perspective of the narrator.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cute!

    Never read anything by this author but the title of this books caught my eye. Fast-paced, kind of a who-dunnit chick lit book. Entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    Good book

    This book was overall good. I thought the ending could have been better but the rest of the book I loved. I had a hard time putting it down and I would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good golly, Miss Molly!

    The Late, Lamented Molly Marx was as charming as its cover implied with a smart and bubbly humor. I had fun with shadowing Molly as she relived memories and watched people in her life move forward. The "mystery" behind her death stayed more in the background - it was present, but it was hardly the major hook. Yes, I did wonder who killed her, but I was more curious about Molly herself. She proved to be an amusing narrator, and her life was anything but boring and run-of-the-mill. The Late, Lamented Molly Marx was far from being serious, although there are some interesting food for thought. Simply put, I just enjoyed being along for the ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2