Customer Reviews for

Lateralus

Average Rating 5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tool

    Very original

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WoW!

    What else do you say after hearing an album this amazing other than "wow"? That's pretty much all I could say after having first listened through this album. Quite frankly, this has got to be one of the most amazing albums I have ever heard. After having listened to Aenima for quite some time and really enjoying that album as well, I then bought this one a matter of months after it had come out, and I was just totally blown away by it. The first track on the album, Grudge, was good and rocky and just totally amazing...a perfect song to kick the album off with. Following that, Tool goes back and forth between amazing rock riffs and stellar experimental ambient sound, and Myanard James Keenan provides excellent vocals throughout. The albums is quite a trip, and I mean that in a good way of course. The last track on the album will run chills up your spine too. It's pretty crazy. Be sure to check that out too. This is defintely one of my all time favorite albums for many reasons, and I recommend it for anyone looking for a unique musical experience that both rocks and opens your mind. Way to go Tool! You guys are amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    for the initiated

    Tool evolves here to a level of complexity, subtlety, and originality comparable to the great King Crimson, even as dark and mysterious as the best Pink Floyd stuff- even fans of experimental and truly progressive music may have to spin this one several times before all the richness is revealed. Atmosphere, odd time signatures, unusual contrasts keep the music interesting and powerful. The lyrics, especially to The Grudge, Eon Blue Apocalyse and Parabola- are fascinating, meaningful and moving, vocals powerful and emotional. One of the great jazz avant garde heavy metal progressive cds of all time - buy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    simply outstanding.

    Tool is a band you either love or hate. There is no middle ground. That being said, this is an album that you will have to listen to mroe than once to get the whole sort of expirience if you will. The lyrics are dark, as is the norm with Maynard, the playing is outstanding as usual. Every song on here is on you can listen to over and over. A great album all together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Acquired Taste

    Tool is an acquired taste. Some will like their stuff, some will not. That's the kind of band they are. I happen to be part of the former group. They are just about my favorite band. They create dark, eerie soundscapes, and they don't cater to the mainstream. They jam at their will, and it's an empowering, amazing experience. I always thought Aenima was the darkest album I'd heard, until I heard Lateralus. There is not one moment in this entire album that makes you feel comfortable. The riffs are menacing, and Keenan growls like never before, uttering a truly memorable pitch-black scream in 'Ticks and Leeches'. 'Mantra' is one of the most disturbing experimental songs I've heard in my entire life. I can't describe it, but you will most likely be creeped out when you hear it. Tool is one of the best bands to grace their genre, whatever that may be. They continually push the industry forward with everything they do. Rock on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Challenging, intense

    If you dig jazz, especially the really far-out stuff, then you will love this. However, many rock fans may not be able to fully grasp this. Lateralus, and I suppose Tool in general, is by no means heavy metal. It is avant-garde music that will send shivers down your spine and electrical charges to your mind. Open up and challenge yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Worst Album Ever Recorded

    Just kidding. This album is amazing. What you hear may sometimes feel abrasive, or ambient, or fiery, or devestating, or infinitely beautiful. Each an every aspect that each bandmember brings to the table is utterly immaculate, impossibly well executed and a real great joy to listen to. The only way for anyone to get comfortable with it is to listen to the entire thing multiple times. When I say the entire thing I mean the whole entire album from the first second to the last, which will come about 78 minutes later. The songs are long and they will take patience. This isn't 50 Cent or anything. This will require your attention and brain cells in order to understand what makes it so great. And believe you me, it IS GREAT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AHHHH

    in the least amount of words possible, Lateralus is the best song i've ever heard. period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Album

    This is truly a masterpiece. Do yourself a favor and get this album

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Epitomy of Great Music

    First of all, this is by far the best CD I've ever listened to and I'm guessing that 99% of the people who didn't like it were upset because it didn't have the screaming, "scare your parents" feel that Aenima(great CD) had. Too many people use Tool as a statement to say, "Im depressed and different." This CD was made for people who want to think. The melodies are hypnotic, the rhythms complex, and the lyrics are just wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's TOOL....Need I say more?

    Despite being a punk, Tool is my favorite band. Well, this album most certainly expresses why Tool is a Progressive band. Lateralus is just like any other Tool album (not an insult). What I'm trying to say is that, all Tool albums change sounds and feelings. (eg. Opiate was more a angry, heavy metal album as where Undertow had more of a melody. Aenima had more of a emotion sound to it and briged the gap between Alternative and Metal.) Main point: If you want to think and experiment, you should really purchase this album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    PERFECT!

    It is no regular album, but whether you are a classic Tool fan, or a pink floyd (like me) fan you'll love it! It definetly is a revolution for music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The worst but still better than anyone

    This album has more of a mellower feel to it. It's not Aniema and its not undertow but it's still better than anything really out there right now. You never get sick of Maynard's vocals and that fast all over the place bass. I think you really have to be a musician to truley appreciate this album. Still a must buy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Favorite of All Time

    This album is one of the most complex, introspective, and amazingly beautiful pieces of music ever created. Lateralus is not a CD, it is an experience. Simply amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Album!

    This was the first album I had boughten from Tool, and I was not dissapointed! It truely shows how they have grown up as a band, not only musically, but also lyrically! My only question is why does it have the [Explicit Lyrics] warning beside it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lateralus

    This album is the perfect example of what I like to call "art metal." My favorite song is easily "Parabola." It's hard to describe Tool's sound. If I wasn't a musician I don't believe I would like it as much. Oh well, even if you aren't a musician you should give Lateralus a listen. Peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It ain't AEnima

    I think AEnima is one of the best albums around, and I really like the Perfect Circle CD, but this disc I just did not like. I know that's not a popular position, but this disc just lacks the great wicked hooks and action of earlier Tool/APC stuff. It's like Tool started to read and buy into their press clippings; it's contemplative, self-indulgent art rock, almost totally edgeless. Because I liked AEnima so much, my expectations were high and this disc just completely disappointed me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Grunge gone art-rock and more

    Indeed as the title says, this latest tool release is, to sum it up briefly, grunge and art-rock mashed together with an amazing result. I think this is my favorite Tool album, though the others are all very good, because it has such astounding depth where each member of the band has a vital role in every song. From beginning to end this is a masterpiece. Although it may at first seem daunting when the shortest song on the album is a little under six minutes long, each song fits together with the next in an elaborate network of emotion and strange philosophy bound together within rock, so you won't realize how long you've been listening. Hypnotic and raw - well worth the listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WHOA!

    After seeing the amazing video for Schism, I decided to try Tool out. Lateralus was Tool's first purchase for me and I must say....wow! I have NEVER heard anything like this album! Since buying it, I listen to it at work atleast once a day.....and I bought it 6 months ago. It has not gotten old at all, only BETTER....alot better! It is like my ears took ectasy pills when I listen to it. The sonic driven rhythms and utter genius provided lyrically has made Tool by far my favorite band. Thanks Tool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    In a state of complete harmony

    I am not very old but i enjoy listening to all diversities of music, preferably older more 70's-80's rock...Tool has forever captured my attention, Each of their albums is unique and awesome in its own way, Lateralus is great but you need to listen to Tool's other stuff before this, Tool is a very deep and emotional band, they talk about stuff that no one else will, they actually put feeling into their music which is a very hard quality to find these days with all of the wanna be punk bands and pop/rap music...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4