Customer Reviews for

The Lathe of Heaven

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    A True Classic of SciFi

    This novella is truly one of the original greats of the SciFi genre. The story is about human averice and power and the need for and lack of control thereof. It is also about doctor patient relationships though in a lesser way. It is also about one individual's struggle to control his life and in this case his dreams as they are what have the most profound impact on his daily existence.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    Editor's nightmare

    Lathe of Heaven starts fine, but goes downhill quickly with the introduction of aliens. This edition is full of typos and ridiculous editing errors: 'eye to I' ; 'geeting' for 'getting' ; 'double' for doubt' and on and on.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorites

    One of the great novels in Sci-Fi history along with her Dispossessed and Left Hand of Darkness.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2014

    This book is an old friend I'm picking up in e format.  I read i

    This book is an old friend I'm picking up in e format.  I read it for the first time as a teenager & was priveleged to see the adaptation Ms. Le Guin did for PBS in the 1970s.  George Orr lives in a horrible world.  Overpopulation, war & damage to the Earth's ecosystem by an uncaring society has left  a society that is regimented to the extreme aas the only means of survival.  But George has a different problem; a terrible secret.  His dreams can change reality.lwhen he is caught using illegal drugs tto control his sleep, George, a quiet, modest Every an, is remaned to the care of Psychologist Dr. William Haber.  Haber initially sees George as delusional but cchanges his mind when he forces George to dream a chaned reality.  George is careful with his gift, but the egotistical & power-hungry Haber is a different story.  He attempts to control Geoge's dreams, leading to a power struggle between the two men for nothing less than control of reality itself.  But George knows something Haber doesn't.  There is a reason the dreams need to be used cautiously, & if Haber isn't careful, he will find  the too terrible reality behind George's dreams.

    Ursula LeGuin gives us a true Sci Fi/Horror story with characters you can relate to & for whom you feel sympathy.  Even Haber is no a villan, but just a man given a great power he can't handle.  The story is full of twists & turns, a tale mostly revolving around the characters of the two men, but with enough happening to satisfy devotees of more action oriented fiction.  Her prose style is clean & relatable, as always, & her universe, as seen through George's eyes, is realistic & sensible.  This is a unique novel written by an author who frequently thinks "outside the box", & I'm grateful to have a copy for my Nook.  Now, if they'd only publish "The Left Hand of Darkness" for e-reader ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    My favorite has always been the Left Hand Of Darkness but the La

    My favorite has always been the Left Hand Of Darkness but the Lathe of Heaven still haunts me twenty five or thirty years after I first read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    One of the most thought-provoking works I've ever read. What if

    One of the most thought-provoking works I've ever read. What if when you had a certain kind of super-intense
    dream, what you dreamed came true? Only with that weird, twisted way dreams have of shifting reality, like
    dreaming that someone who annoyed you was killed in an accident. Then you woke up, and she was dead,
    had been dead, for years, and no one remembered the alternate reality. What if the person you went to for help
    decided to use that ability to reshape the world for the better?

    It's a short book, but rich, like a literary truffle. Something I reread on a regular basis, and think about more
    often than that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Really intriguing...

    Very good story and very intriguing ideas of how the world/society can be....Definitely leaves you wanting more...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    The Lathe of Hell

    This book was terrible! I would be more interested in pulling out my nails with pliers than to read this book again, forever or ever. Anyone who wants to read this book, hit yourself on the head first. Kids, don't do this at home!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1