Customer Reviews for

The Laughing Corpse (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(650)

4 Star

(283)

3 Star

(129)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

VERY GOOD

I read this book first in the series, I was hooked, I knew when I went to the bookstore the next day and got two more in the series. Though heavy on the gore, which really didn't bother me, it's got a good storyline and plot. One of the boys are in this, Jean-Claude onl...
I read this book first in the series, I was hooked, I knew when I went to the bookstore the next day and got two more in the series. Though heavy on the gore, which really didn't bother me, it's got a good storyline and plot. One of the boys are in this, Jean-Claude only makes a couple apprearences, at the end saying Anita scares him a little. So if you like reading supernatural vampire stuff or werewolf stuff, go get it!

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I was excited to read this series because it had it all-action, romance and the supernatural. While the story lines are interesting, I stopped after book 3 because the "romance" was leading in too many directions. First, the character loved this guy; then, she fell fo...
I was excited to read this series because it had it all-action, romance and the supernatural. While the story lines are interesting, I stopped after book 3 because the "romance" was leading in too many directions. First, the character loved this guy; then, she fell for this guy and now let's add another male to the mix. I am a one-guy woman with a little side sexual tension thrown in.. Anita Blake seems wishy-washy and that doesn't make for a strong heroine. I became frustrated with Stephanie Plum and Sookie Stackhouse novels because no one can commit, similar attitudes here. You CAN have steamy sex and good writing in a supernatural novel, just ask Karen Marie Moning and Christina Dodd and Christina Feehan.

posted by 1571945 on July 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 56
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Disappointed

    I was excited to read this series because it had it all-action, romance and the supernatural. While the story lines are interesting, I stopped after book 3 because the "romance" was leading in too many directions. First, the character loved this guy; then, she fell for this guy and now let's add another male to the mix. I am a one-guy woman with a little side sexual tension thrown in.. Anita Blake seems wishy-washy and that doesn't make for a strong heroine. I became frustrated with Stephanie Plum and Sookie Stackhouse novels because no one can commit, similar attitudes here. You CAN have steamy sex and good writing in a supernatural novel, just ask Karen Marie Moning and Christina Dodd and Christina Feehan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it

    I actually liked this one. After reading the first I got to say I was up in the air about continuing. I feel like I've gotten to know a little more about our main character Anita Blake. The character development is really what I feel was lacking in the first book and I'm glad I got a better understanding of her. Do I think it can be elaborated more? Yes, especially her relationship with Jean Claude. I think her descriptions of the murder scenes are fantastic I really could envision all the gore. I read another review that stated that her character shouldn't have done what she did in the end and I have to full disagree. Given the circumstances I feel it was the lesser of two evils and a necessary act of power for both the people plotting against her and the bystander watching. I would borrow not buy this one if possible.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    VERY GOOD

    I read this book first in the series, I was hooked, I knew when I went to the bookstore the next day and got two more in the series. Though heavy on the gore, which really didn't bother me, it's got a good storyline and plot. One of the boys are in this, Jean-Claude only makes a couple apprearences, at the end saying Anita scares him a little. So if you like reading supernatural vampire stuff or werewolf stuff, go get it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Still loving it

    This author has no pproblem keping me interested. I can't wait to read more about Anita!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Awesome

    As all anita blake books its awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    I love the anita blake series, you learn more about the characte

    I love the anita blake series, you learn more about the characters in every book as they continue to grow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Progressing.. Lot of action!

    This series is slowly progressing as readers move through each book. While I wasn't a huge fan of the first book, I decided to try again because the series has had rave reviews. The second book progresses more. We learn more about the characters and the action is jam packed throughout the novel. Looking forward to book #3. Hoping it keeps getting better and better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2014

    The first novel I have managed to read in tis series. But it wil

    The first novel I have managed to read in tis series. But it will not be be my last!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Great read

    I have been reading AB books for almost 12 years now. My sister started reqding them in highschool and i would steal them from her when she was through with them. It always frustrated me that the books didnt have a listing of the order of the titles. I hage figured out the story line and had to piece things together along the way, but each book is impossible to put down! I am going back now and reqding them in order since i have found a title listing. This is one title i do not recall reading and it has made some of the puzzle pieces click for me.

    Reading the series out of order is doable, but i highly suggest saving yourself the headache, and reading them in order!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Tyler

    Dont leave. And im not trying to change the subject..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Kennedy

    Walkd in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Loved it!

    Quick interesting read! I will definitely read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Leaders den

    Leaders den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Good 2nd part of series

    I like how the story is progressing so far. Looking forward to 3rd book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Random person

    Boobs

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Love these!

    Love these!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    These books are great

    Read most of the series before. Not a fan of her books after number aix though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Love this series!

    A can't put it down book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    I love the way this author writes. It's very relateable and make

    I love the way this author writes. It's very relateable and makes you laughs out loud while reading. She blends a very strong female character but also captures the inner sensitive parts as well. This particular story had a really good villan that you just love to hate. Anita Blake is turning into one of my more favorite series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Anita Blake is a vampire hunter and animator. Anita and her boss

    Anita Blake is a vampire hunter and animator. Anita and her boss Bert Vaughn are asked to do a job by Harold Gaynor. Anita finds that it's a job she will not do human sacrifice. Harold Gaynor thinks offering more money will change Anita's mind but he didn't know Anita very well. Anita is helping the police's RPIP Dolph Storr. Some preternatural creature is murdering small families in their homes and it's up to Anita to solve this mystery. Dolph asks for a list of people who could raise the dead and Anita frowns at this request. Anita also learns that the Master of the City wants to speak with her and Anita hopes that Jean~Claude would forget about her but no such luck. Anita needs more information that only Irving Griswald, a reporter of St. Louis Dispatcher, can give her. Dead David hopes that Anita will do the wise thing and meet with the Master but Anita never said she was either wise or smart. Anita meets with Dominga Salvador, a powerful vaudan prietess, with Manny. Anita wants nothing to do with Dominga Salvador or her crazy schemes. Domigna warned Anita that she would be sorry. Jean~Claude wants Anita to play human servant to secure his power based yet he would allow Anita her freedom as much as he could. What is Harold Gaynor and Dominga Salvador hiding? Will Anita solve this case? Will She play Jean~Claude's games? Who wants to harm Anita? Your answers await you in The Laughing Corpse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 56