Customer Reviews for

Laurell K. Hamilton Box Set (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #1-4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

For Mature Audiences Only

I love these books. Beware, moms- as they progress they borderline on porn and are definitely kinky. I do not recommend these books for anyone who has not already experienced a healthy and normal sex life ie: no kids or inexperienced teens. I read the entire series ...
I love these books. Beware, moms- as they progress they borderline on porn and are definitely kinky. I do not recommend these books for anyone who has not already experienced a healthy and normal sex life ie: no kids or inexperienced teens. I read the entire series and can not wait for Danse Macabre.

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Twilight readers will be sorely disappointed! Vampires, yes...but the comparison ends there.

After reading the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer, my sister-in-law and I began an eager search for another series that would captivate us as Twilight had. When looking for comparable series we came across this Anita Blake series, thinking that vampires were definat...
After reading the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer, my sister-in-law and I began an eager search for another series that would captivate us as Twilight had. When looking for comparable series we came across this Anita Blake series, thinking that vampires were definately a great story thread and that it being an adult book unlike the Twilight teen theme, we would be guarenteed a good steamy sex scene or two. The book obviously made good on the vampire promise, but the writing style is so poor and inept that I cannot read past the second book. The stories are flat out disgusting. No sex mind you, sure some steamy dialogue but no sex as of yet that would at least have made it worth getting through. Also, if you think the description of a were-rat (human that changes into a human-sized rat at night) rubbing himself and threatening rape is a seductive, then be my guest. The descriptions of corpses and murders are very vivid, but the writing style is something well beneath even Nora Roberts. Vivid descriptions of child victims are also another special little treat that Laurel Hamilton feels compelled to delve into in the second book. Too gross for my taste. These books are also so short that by the time the ending action scene happens, it lasts all of three pages. An unbelieveable let down after reading something like Twilight. Can not believe that B&N gives it almost 5 stars and charges seven bucks a book, definately not worth it!

posted by MurphTM on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    Twilight readers will be sorely disappointed! Vampires, yes...but the comparison ends there.

    After reading the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer, my sister-in-law and I began an eager search for another series that would captivate us as Twilight had. When looking for comparable series we came across this Anita Blake series, thinking that vampires were definately a great story thread and that it being an adult book unlike the Twilight teen theme, we would be guarenteed a good steamy sex scene or two. The book obviously made good on the vampire promise, but the writing style is so poor and inept that I cannot read past the second book. The stories are flat out disgusting. No sex mind you, sure some steamy dialogue but no sex as of yet that would at least have made it worth getting through. Also, if you think the description of a were-rat (human that changes into a human-sized rat at night) rubbing himself and threatening rape is a seductive, then be my guest. The descriptions of corpses and murders are very vivid, but the writing style is something well beneath even Nora Roberts. Vivid descriptions of child victims are also another special little treat that Laurel Hamilton feels compelled to delve into in the second book. Too gross for my taste. These books are also so short that by the time the ending action scene happens, it lasts all of three pages. An unbelieveable let down after reading something like Twilight. Can not believe that B&N gives it almost 5 stars and charges seven bucks a book, definately not worth it!

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    For Mature Audiences Only

    I love these books. Beware, moms- as they progress they borderline on porn and are definitely kinky. I do not recommend these books for anyone who has not already experienced a healthy and normal sex life ie: no kids or inexperienced teens. I read the entire series and can not wait for Danse Macabre.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    intelegent paranormal reading

    anta blake is a strong character with paranormal talent. helps police with paranormal crime and is drawn into the paranormal world.
    many "vampire books" are sappy romance this is not one of those. these books are smart, funny and you want to read more and more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    A world worth falling into headfirst..

    The Anita Blake series are thrilling, captivating, and completely addicting. After the first book I was hooked! They keep getting better and better. As the books progress, there are some extremely steamy sex scenes, and the descriptions of crime scenes Anita investigates may be too gritty and gruesome for some. I assume thats why there are a few reviews on here that are anything but complementary. Don't let any bad reviews scare you away from these book! If you love danger, mystery, seduction, action and an all around entertaining novel, read these! Laurell is one of my all time favorite writers. Her writing style is extremely descriptive, you feel as if you are there. I can't wait for the next book! Try these, you will love them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awsome

    Once you start reading you cant put it done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    Best I have read in years

    I haven't had much time to pick up a book between kids and work. After i started reading the series, i was unable to put the books down. I spent my lunch and my bath reading, and kept reading after putting the kids to bed. Laurel is an outstanding writer. I will recomend this series to everyone I can. I am looking forward to reading more from Laurel K. Hamilton.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    anita blake novels

    anita blake novels are the best there is , nothing even comes close to compareing, its mystery, action romance, and everything else you could want in a fiction book, i love the charachters, it kicks twilights ass. all though dont get me wrong those are good books for teenagers, grown ups read anita blake. i got hooked when i read obsidian butterfly first it was given to me by a co worker that had an extra one, i couldnt put it down and ended up purchasing guilty pleasures first than the rest of the collection. and than read them in order, i have read every one of them except flirt and bullet, 3 times in order i love the series and cant wait to read the last 2 in which i had to order flirt because it was sold out. laurel k hamilton should be highly praised .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Great for Gift Giving for a Vampire Lover

    I didn't read the set but gave it as a gift for my teen daughter and she just LOVED it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Bad

    The first three books were the same story retold over and over again. The lead femal character anita comes off as uppity at first but by the time you get into book three you start to understand her better. Book four is the best book out of the first four by far. The characters finally get personalities and new and different things start to happen. I really liked the concept of all the books. I like how the vampires all have different powers and how there are tons of different were animals. I also like how the master vampires arent stronger than some of the Master Were animals. All and all this is a good read and I will read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    Loved it!

    The first book started out slow, but once you started to dig into it, you couldn't put the books down. The twist & turns, the outrangeous characters, & the sense of humor. I was able to visalize each character in my mind with the turn of each page. The constantly keeps you on the edge of your set, so that you can't wait to read the next book to see what crisis Anita is going to get caught up into next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    I loved the series

    I have to say read first book and wasn't to sure about it very different from other vampire books. I read books thinking it was like Twilight. It has your vampire and werewolf but then that's where it changes. Because you also have other wereanimals, zombies, gouls, demons etc. Anita which is a necromancer,vampire executioner, marshal and Jean Claude's human servant.I love the character Anita Blake and how she looks at life in her world. I have read all seventeen books and can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not my taste in vampires

    I purchased this set after hearing very good things about it from a friend who shares my interest in mature vampire stories. I was disappointed in the Anita Blake saga, however, for several reasons. The biggest issue I had with these stories came with the sophomoric dialogue and the lack of convincing character motivation. By the third book the plots seemed to be in re-run, too, as I could predict how the characters would react and where the storyline was headed. The imagery is often distasteful, too, as if the author was going for shock value. The sexual situations were a complete bore to me. Some readers may truly enjoy this series, and more power to them, but for me it was a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Read the series for a fast and fun read

    Richard will drive you crazy but you'll love Jean-Claude.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    Love Laurell K.

    I read Blue Moon and Burnt Offerings after my friend let me barrow her book The Blue Moon Inn which has both and loved them I'm working on the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2006

    A good book.

    I really love these book. they were good i am going to try to get the other books to. I like how it do with vampires and a vampire slayer . and how shes got her self in with a vampire as is servant. I think it is a good book. It is funning. I love it .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    Absolutely outstanding

    LKH has me absolutely hooked. I am now waiting for books 5-12 with baited breath. Each character, from Anita to Jean Claude to Edward, to the Pekingese who lives across the hall, is masterfully written. I LOVE these books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    Great!!!!!!

    Any book by Laurell K. Hamilton will make you love her work. Each and every one of them are great in there own way. Anita Blake is one of the best characters written today, always surprising the reader no matter where the story leads. If you can - start from the beginning of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    I was hooked from the first book.

    My sister told me about Guilty pleasures and I saw it and bought it and have read all of them since. Is there anymore Anita Blake after Incubus Dreams???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    Hook, Line, and Sinker!

    A friend of mine let me borrow Circus of the Damned and it immediately hooked me and dragged me into the world of Anita. Not to long after that I had one of my friends read it and she got hooked. Now her boyfriend is hooked. Anita Blake is so interesting. Laurell K. Hamilton is a wonderful writer and there is never a dull moment in her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2005

    LOVE Laurell!

    Ever since a friend of mine let me borrow laughing corpes I was hooked! Now I can't get enough of Anita Blake!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4