Customer Reviews for

Lavender Morning (Edilean Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A fabulous family drama

In Williamsburg, Virginia, the parents of Jocelyn ¿Joce¿ Minton come from different sides of the track. Her mom was the upper class elite debutante while her dad was a working class handyman. When Joce was five years old, her mom died. Her father remarried someone fr...
In Williamsburg, Virginia, the parents of Jocelyn ¿Joce¿ Minton come from different sides of the track. Her mom was the upper class elite debutante while her dad was a working class handyman. When Joce was five years old, her mom died. Her father remarried someone from his side of the tracks. Joce¿s maternal relatives cut her and her dad off due to his new family, which also include twin brats.

Joce fails to fit in with her new step-family, but finds her elderly neighbor Miss Edi Harcourt as an angel watching over her. When Miss Edi dies, Joce inherits her estate including an ancestral house in Edilean, Virginia. However, it is the 1941 letter that she finds that intrigues Joce. Though a bit hurt that her ¿grandma¿ Miss Edi hid her past, Joce arrives in town to investigate what happened to her beloved guardian angel during WWII. There she meets two hunks who are interested in her.

LAVENDER MORNING is a fabulous family drama filled with twists especially in involving Joce. The story line effortlessly rotates between WWII and modern times. Although too much coincidence occurs that move the inquiry too easily forward, fans will enjoy the optimistic contemporary romantic trip to Edilean and the bittersweet tragic events of the 1940s.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on February 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Terribly written

This book felt like it was cranked out because it was time for Ms. Deveraux to publish a book, so she wrote an outline and flopped it onto the page. The dialogue was disjointed, the characters (although they had promise) were unengaging and plot development non-existent...
This book felt like it was cranked out because it was time for Ms. Deveraux to publish a book, so she wrote an outline and flopped it onto the page. The dialogue was disjointed, the characters (although they had promise) were unengaging and plot development non-existent (the far-fetched plot was moved forward by a series of bald statements). I have enjoyed her books in the past, but this book was so poorly written that the only emotion it evoked was annoyance. Where was her editor?

posted by 763078 on December 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fabulous family drama

    In Williamsburg, Virginia, the parents of Jocelyn ¿Joce¿ Minton come from different sides of the track. Her mom was the upper class elite debutante while her dad was a working class handyman. When Joce was five years old, her mom died. Her father remarried someone from his side of the tracks. Joce¿s maternal relatives cut her and her dad off due to his new family, which also include twin brats.<BR/><BR/>Joce fails to fit in with her new step-family, but finds her elderly neighbor Miss Edi Harcourt as an angel watching over her. When Miss Edi dies, Joce inherits her estate including an ancestral house in Edilean, Virginia. However, it is the 1941 letter that she finds that intrigues Joce. Though a bit hurt that her ¿grandma¿ Miss Edi hid her past, Joce arrives in town to investigate what happened to her beloved guardian angel during WWII. There she meets two hunks who are interested in her.<BR/><BR/>LAVENDER MORNING is a fabulous family drama filled with twists especially in involving Joce. The story line effortlessly rotates between WWII and modern times. Although too much coincidence occurs that move the inquiry too easily forward, fans will enjoy the optimistic contemporary romantic trip to Edilean and the bittersweet tragic events of the 1940s.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book. I've only read a few of Jude Deveraux books and this one really touched me. I found myself wanting to share it with other people. It is a very good book. The "second" story line great.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Could Not Put it Down!

    This is only the second book by this auther for me, but I'm in love! What great stories. I was so excited to see this book out and that it's going to be a series. Great story, great everything. Another hit by Deveraux. I will definitely buy the rest of her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    AMAZING!

    Lately, I haven't been too impressed with Jude's more recent books but this one was amazing! I read it in one day! I simply could not put it down. You'll laugh, cry, and celebrate with the characters. Edilean and David's love story will stick with me forever. You'll not regret reading/buying this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    INCREDIBLE! WOW, is all I can say!

    A new favorite for me. A magnificent read. Ramantic yet unpredictable. I fell in love with the characters. Jude has a special way of making you love the right characters even when they are unlovable. This is a MUST READ!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A TOUCHING BEAUTIFUL STORY

    To be honest, i wasnt going to read this book because everyone kept on saying this book was a dissapointment or that the book wasnt that good. I read what the book was about, it interested me, so i read it. After i was done reading it i was speechless. This book was amazing. I couldnt put it down. I loved all the characters and this book was packed with romance, humor and mistery. this is a must read. This is the first but not last book i have read from jude deveraux and it wont be the last. take a chance and read the book and you wont regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    Jocelyn and Luke

    I like the story very much becasue its relateable to real life. Jocelyn looking for where she came from and every person needs to know who thier identity is. Luke who is this normal average guy who helps Jocelyn out and ends up falling for her through this journey they shared together. Every book should have a happy ending not a cliffhanger. This I would real again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    CAPTIVATING!

    Love the caught between two worlds idea...choices! Choices! choices!!! I second all the 5 star reviews before me!!! Another fabulous read I recently discovered was EXPLOSION IN PARIS by LINDA MASEMORE PIRRUNG....I plan to read it again, I loved it so much!!! Check out the reviews!! They hooked me big time!!! JUST ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding

    I have read so many of Jude Deveraux's books that I lose count. One thing I can say about her is that her ability take you on a wonderful journey is a gift. I have yet to be disappointed. Lavender Morning was fascinating. The characters were well developed. Although the story took place in a small town, there were more twist and turns than you would think. I loved the charm of it. I like most of her book covers, but this one was my favorite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Lavender Morning

    I've been a fan of the author, Jude Deveraux, when I discovered her first book and followed the stories of that first family line with great pleasure. I got my daughter hooked, too. For both of us, seeing Jude Deveraux's name after the title of a new book was a garuantee of a good book. This new story did not disappoint and I can't wait for the next one in this family story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    Lavender Morning is a very successul book.

    Jude Deveraux wrote Lavender Morning with such thoroughness that each character was fully developed. The characters became so real, it was actually hard to not believe that they were real people. In fact, I have a mental image of each character. I can visualize the 18th Century house from the kitchen to the many rooms. The transition between eras was clearly marked and it was not difficult to move back and forth. I thought the ending came much too fast, and yet, I almost think that was intentional as this is the first book in the Edilean Series. Perhaps, a lead in to Book 2. It was intriguing and delightful. After so much negativity on the news it was a total escape and I could not put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply Lovely

    I love Jude Deveraux books and I was pleasantly surprised by this one. Not her usual format. It's sweet and lovely and heartwarming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    Love this book and can't wait for the next one!

    I fell in love with Miss Edi, Joceyln and Luke!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Loved It!

    Loved the characters, and the story line. I pretty much figured out the story, but loved reading it anyway to make sure I was right. A great book to read on the beach or on a rainy Sunday afternoon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    Engaging.

    From the first paragraph you're drawn in. The characters are real, chances are you know someone just like them. I willing spent my weekend with this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lavender Morning relates to the story content because it engenders images of comfort and a sense of rightness. I enjoyed the contrast between this and the mystery which is the central theme of the plot.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book because it was a combination of a romantic mystery with surprises discovered as well as twists with every turn of the page. I felt like a Sherlock Holmes Junior working a case. The characters in the story are original and diverse, but very believable. They bond well together and lasting relationships grow. The chemistry between the main characters sizzles and you keep your fingers crossed until the very end hoping for a good outcome.
    Portions of the clues are given in story form over a period of time, so patience is required and well worth it.
    I am reluctant to admit that I was unable to figure out the mystery and that made the story even more memorable. It was not easy to solve and the reader is compelled to savor every word and sentence.
    There is a plethora of emotions described, which only enhances the depth of the content.
    I personally liked all the characters and got to think of them as friends of mine during the course of the read.
    I would recommend Lavender Morning as a gift, a collector's keeper, or for relaxation. There is a lot of room for discussion, too, which makes it an excellent reading group choice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Delightful Deveraux!

    I have been a huge fan of Jude Deveraux since my teen years, and this new novel meets standards. Especially when one realizes that this will be a series! Love, Love, LOVE this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    The cover; beautiful.

    I loved this book. The cover alone was beautiful. The story was captivating. I have ALL of her books. She's the only author I truly enjoy reading and I always look forward to each and every book that comes out. In fact, I've keep re-reading her books over and over again. That's how much I like Jude Deveraux's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Love it!

    It was nice not to know the ending until the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    First Jude Deveraux book and loved it

    This was my first experience with Jude Deveraux. Her characters were so very real and the story believable. Now that I have finished it, I find myself ready to read more to find out what happens with the people next. I selected this book because it is the first in a series but I see the second jumps way back in history. But I expect it to be just as fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5