Customer Reviews for

Law Man (Dream Man Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous and so close to the real world!

    My Rating: Five stars!
    Release Date: December 17, 2013
    Genre: Suspense Erotic Romance

    ABOUT THE BOOK:

    Four years ago, Mitch Lawson moved across the breezeway from Mara Hanover and she fell in love with the tall, good-looking police detective who had an uncanny ability to dress well even though he’s single. It was not a stalker kind of love; she knows she has no hope since Mitch is way out of her league. That doesn’t change the fact that he’s her dream man.

    Then one day Mara’s faucet won’t turn off and she knows nothing about plumbing. Being a good guy, Mitch offers to help then he invites himself over for pizza. Mara gives it a go but finds herself running away from him (literally) on their first date, standing him up their second and then she runs into him (again literally) on her way to save her ne’er do well, criminal cousin’s kids who’d just run away from their ne’er do well, criminal Dad.

    Suddenly, Mara finds she has on her hands the guardianship of two kids and a gorgeous police detective who’s willing to do anything to help out… including giving fabulous foot rubs.

    But Mara knows who she is and where she came from and she knows Detective Mitch Lawson is better than her. Hot law man Mitch disagrees and his challenge is to convince Mara to let go of her past and he sets about building a family at the same time he finds he also needs to protect them all against known and unknown adversaries that would tear them apart.

    MY REVIEW:

    So wow, there are some books that you read and like, then there are some books that you read and love. Then there are books that you read and won’t ever forget. Of course this book sticks in my head as all of the above.

    I loved the story told by Ms. Ashley. A lot of real world is seen in this story, and there are some tough spots to get past, ones that aren’t typically seen in a romance, but I think that is what makes her stories so lovable—because they are so real. This story seems to go beyond that realness for me, because a lot of it I can relate to from my childhood. I have to say, living the life some of these characters did, I can personally vouch that Ms. Ashley has caught the feelings and worries of the characters spot on.

    The love story running along the side with everything else was just as touching. And the love between the two leads, and the two minor characters was just as fulfilling. I won’t lie and say the story won’t cause you anguish, because any reader who can get as deep in the head of someone as Ms. Ashley aims to keep, will find themselves struggling right along with everyone else. But this is a story you won’t soon forget. And it’s one you’ll love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Exceptionally good!

    My review:


    I didn't know anything about Kristen Ashely or her books, so when I was searching what to read next, I saw Law Man in one of the bestseller lists in amazon and decided to give it a try. I am so glad I found not only the series, but also Kristen Ashley.

    Law Man is not only a romance, it gives you a serious story about family relationships, about giving, trusting, letting go, about love. It's well written, it gets to you, it makes you think what's really important in life.

    Plot:

    Mara is a shy woman who has had a crush on one of her neighbours for 4 years. She never reacted upon it due to very low self-esteem and because of her past. Mitch is a detective in police and Mara doesn't want him to know her past.

    They get acquainted when Mara needs help with her faucet and running water. Mitch helps her and after that they keep bumping into each other.

    When Mara needs to rescue her brother's kids, Mitch refuses NOT to help her and follows her to pick up the kids and later to Mara's brother's house. When he sees, how Mara's brother, Bill, lives, he automatically wants to protect Mara from everything.

    What I liked:
    I love that Kristen Ashley's books are about people who are already past and over their first relationships and that they are dealing with the lives of mature adults. There are kids involved.

    I think, the plot was very good, it was not only a romance, but the insight into Mara's life and to the kids' life was fascinating, horrifying and sweet. It was a page turner. The relationship between Mara, Mitch and the kids was amazingly well written.

    This book had also the most beautiful epilogues I have ever read.

    I just had one problem with this book, and that brings me to the characters.

    Characters:

    Even though parts of me really liked Mara and I have to admit, I LOVED Mara on the second part of the book, I really did not connect with her in the beginning. I can understand that some people are shy, but Mara's self esteem was so unattractive to me. I did not get that, not at all. I think it was all too much, without any reason. I did not like Mara's World either where she put people into boxes according to how they look. I hated her system of 1 to 10. It was extremely superficial. Only after around 60% of the book was read and the pace picked up, I grew on Mara. I liked that she finally started to develop as a character.

    Mitch was lovable. He was not always that lovable because of being a jerk once and a while, especially with his words, but his actions were adorably lovable. What Mitch did for Mara and kids and the actions he took to protect them - I loved it! I also loved him for getting Mara out of her stupid shell to finally blossom. I could very easily relate to hi,much more than I could related to Mara.

    Billie and Billy - Bill's kids were amazingly written. I felt for them, especially for Billy. The way he tried to please both Mara and Mitch was heartbreaking! The way he protected his sister Billie was ADORABLE! This is were the beauty of Kristen Ashley's writing lies. She creates characters which are not only believable, but truly REAL. Billie and Billy simply stole my heart.

    I will give it 4 stars and the reason behind it not getting 5 stars from me, is that I had difficulties with relating to Mara. But when you get past that, it's a great book to read! It's definitely worth reading!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Goo Fun storyline

    Enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Kristen Ashley books are the bomb!

    This was the 1st KA book I read, and I need to get them all! Mitch was indeed a 10.5!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    This is one of my favorite books in the series. It features a wo

    This is one of my favorite books in the series. It features a working class heroine--she sells mattresses and is very good at it. She is also shy. She has a huge crush on her cop neighbor. She is rather clueless that he might return her affections.




    Throwing an escalating situations with her drug addicted brother, kids that need her and we have a plot to go with a great romance.




    This one is funny, sweet, sexy as hell, and real.




    I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    I'm totally hooked on KA's books. Although each book in this se

    I'm totally hooked on KA's books. Although each book in this series can stand on it's own, I recommend reading them in order. This book had everything one could want in a good story. Looking forward to starting the Chaos series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Wow

    Better and better. Read them in order. Cant wait to read about Tack.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    I love the chemistry between Mara and Detective Mitch Lawson. OF

    I love the chemistry between Mara and Detective Mitch Lawson. OFF THE CHARTS! I also love how Det. Mitch Lawson steps in to help Mara with her niece and nephew without being asked. Mara has a boat load of issues and Det. Mitch Lawson is just the man to drown those issues to oblivion. There are some flaws in this book however, the good stuff outweighs them. I'll be reading more into this series! 




    WARNING: The book contains explicit references and... you know the rest! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Great!

    Enjoyed the emotional roller coaster :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Amazing

    I love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Loved this Series

    Each one holds you n you can't put it down buy n enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    YardieBookFanatic

    Really loved Mitch's story with Mara. Yes he's all Caveman but sweer.... Still prefer Motorcycle Man..


    LOVETOREAD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Best yet

    Love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Great read

    I really enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more by this author. This book kept my interest and held my attention. I am disappointed to let these characters go but I really enjoyed how the book ended and how she tied all the loose ends up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Get your kleenex ready!

    Loved this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Great author!

    I have enjoyed all of Kristen Ashley's books so far. Great characters. I'll probably end up owning them all. It's good I ave the ebooks so I don't have to lug so many heavy boxes around when I move.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Great book!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    So glad Mitch found his woman.  I liked that Mara had an average

    So glad Mitch found his woman.  I liked that Mara had an average everyday job.  I loved the epilogue. 
    KA is my all time favorite authors! I have read all of her books. Most twice, which I had never done before but her writing is that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Check out this series!!

    I've read the whole series!! Couldn't put the book down every time I started a new one!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    I purchased this book on my nook and nothing came up. So i just wasted $4.27 on nothing. Need to correct this

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8