Customer Reviews for

The Law of Nines

Average Rating 4
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Terry Goodkind Breaks Free from Tradition in Spectacularly Successful Fashion

I didn't know what to expect upon my first read-through of Terry Goodkind's new book, which promised to be a break from his long-standing fantasy genre and epic 'Sword of Truth' series. Simply put, I was astounded. Goodkind's first mainstream work is a great thrill, r...
I didn't know what to expect upon my first read-through of Terry Goodkind's new book, which promised to be a break from his long-standing fantasy genre and epic 'Sword of Truth' series. Simply put, I was astounded. Goodkind's first mainstream work is a great thrill, rife with captivating characters, sinister antagonists, a well-executed plot, and the same enchanting writing I had grown to love this author for, from his 'Sword of Truth' masterpieces.

Fans of "the good" Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and other modern thrillers will not want to miss this book. It's a great read and a refreshing take on an under-served mainstream segment. I hope to read much more of this "evolved" Goodkind for many years to come.

posted by Richtor on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Terry Goodkind disappoints with Law of Nines

First, let me say that TG is my favorite author and I have been a fan for a very long time. Also, I'm not the type of reader who can only read one genre to be happy. I was really looking forward to this book. I was excited to see TG attempt to go "mainstream". Unfor...
First, let me say that TG is my favorite author and I have been a fan for a very long time. Also, I'm not the type of reader who can only read one genre to be happy. I was really looking forward to this book. I was excited to see TG attempt to go "mainstream". Unfortunately, I was beyond disappointed with this book.

I thought that Law of Nines was a dumbed down, pathetic copycat, Reader's Digest version of the story of Richard and Khalan. When I finished that book, my first thought was, "What a waste of my time and money." I was shocked that a man known for such rich characters and captivating stories had written such drivel. If this is an example of his "mainstream" writing, then I hope when he's finished with the 3 books he's contractually obligated to write he has the good sense to go back to what he's good at....because this book was not good. I tried very hard to like it. I really did, but it was an awful book, with one dimensional characters and a plot that was a rip off of his better books. I don't know, maybe he thought he had to write a cheap rip off of WFR in order to keep his readers, or maybe some moron at Putnam this story would be the best way to start out in either case, the book was an insult.

posted by aDemonicChiMill on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Terry Goodkind Breaks Free from Tradition in Spectacularly Successful Fashion

    I didn't know what to expect upon my first read-through of Terry Goodkind's new book, which promised to be a break from his long-standing fantasy genre and epic 'Sword of Truth' series. Simply put, I was astounded. Goodkind's first mainstream work is a great thrill, rife with captivating characters, sinister antagonists, a well-executed plot, and the same enchanting writing I had grown to love this author for, from his 'Sword of Truth' masterpieces.

    Fans of "the good" Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and other modern thrillers will not want to miss this book. It's a great read and a refreshing take on an under-served mainstream segment. I hope to read much more of this "evolved" Goodkind for many years to come.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    Great read for first in genre - Highly recommended

    Like the previous reviewer (Richtor), I was not sure what to expect from 'The Law of Nines'. It is clear from the success of the 'Sword of Truth' series that Goodkind is a very talented author, but initially I was unsure if his gift for fantasy would lend to an easy transition to more mainstream thrillers. 'The Law or Nines' is a fantastic first showing for mainstream Goodkind. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. This action packed story has a well developed plot and a riveting cast of characters. Look out Stephen King and Dean Koontz! If you enjoy the works of these authors you should definitely give it a read. I will certainly add Terry Goodkind to my list of go-to authors for a satisfying thrill ride!

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    Terry Goodkind disappoints with Law of Nines

    First, let me say that TG is my favorite author and I have been a fan for a very long time. Also, I'm not the type of reader who can only read one genre to be happy. I was really looking forward to this book. I was excited to see TG attempt to go "mainstream". Unfortunately, I was beyond disappointed with this book.

    I thought that Law of Nines was a dumbed down, pathetic copycat, Reader's Digest version of the story of Richard and Khalan. When I finished that book, my first thought was, "What a waste of my time and money." I was shocked that a man known for such rich characters and captivating stories had written such drivel. If this is an example of his "mainstream" writing, then I hope when he's finished with the 3 books he's contractually obligated to write he has the good sense to go back to what he's good at....because this book was not good. I tried very hard to like it. I really did, but it was an awful book, with one dimensional characters and a plot that was a rip off of his better books. I don't know, maybe he thought he had to write a cheap rip off of WFR in order to keep his readers, or maybe some moron at Putnam this story would be the best way to start out in either case, the book was an insult.

    14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    Surprise Thriller

    I've never read Terry Goodkind but this book landed in my lap for review last week and I was just blown away. The level of detail in which Goodkind writes is just astounding. He is very passionate about his characters and it shows. Alex is a wonderful character of surprising depth and Alex is one bad-ass chica.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this light read and I'll certainly consider stepping into Goodkind's earlier works as a result. I was at first a bit worried knowing the author hails from a dominately fantasy background, but all preconceptions were thrown aside by the conclusion of the first chapter. This is a vibrant, colorful, exciting story with wonderfully grounded elements wrapped around a fantasy/horror element that is carefully woven into an undoubtedly real world.

    A+. I would recommend this book to any thriller fans and agree with the earlier review that suggested Stephen King and Koontz. Very much in the same spectrum but better! More detail and a faster-paced story than the traditional arcs of the aforementioned.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The next Stephen King?

    Received this book as a buyer for Minnie's Books in California last week. The editor's review suggested Terry Goodkind's first step into the mains tream thriller segment would please Stephen King fans and boy did this book ever! I have been a long time SK fan beginning with Dead Zone and Law of Nines brought me back to that wonderful period. Fastly writ, wonderfully engrossing, and highly entertaining this story is a must read for fans of thrillers. Stay sharp Goodkind, I will keep reading for more.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    OMG

    In this book, Goodkind is at his worst. The plot is not only a ripoff of his earlier works but the author dosen't even attempt to have it make sense. People from his old universe invade our world hundreds if not thousands of years after the victory of Richard Rahl. Amazingly, they speak english perfectly (and write it!!) The Rahl line still exists unchanged after hundreds years (they even have the exact same name!!).The bad guy's are not only ridiculously brutal but amazingly stupid (and trust me the "good" guys aren't much better!!). Then we are supposed to admire a man who cares more about a woman he just met than his own mother!! As if this were not enough, we are continuously boombarded with Goodkind's conservative/humanist agenda. Frankly, for someones who's characters are always ranting about man's ability to reason, I found none in this novel.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best read of the summer so far

    Great read, quick book, easy page turner with lots of great plot twists. Definitely the best read of my summer so far. Falls right into my top recommended list for 2009.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Mediocre

    I've always been a huge fan of goodkinds writing, the sot series is probably still my favorite. That said, this book fell pretty short of the mark. It seemed almost hurried in some parts and slower in other. It also seemed almost like a contemporary rehashing of the SOT series and left some things lacking such as the deal with the mirrors, and any number of other things, alex not being able to go to her world made no sense given the pillars of creation... anyway it wasnt a bad book, it just didnt hold up compared to the SOT series and some parts were very good and some were even funny. In brief, it definately isnt the SOT series, but it is a reasonable book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    Jax rocks! A+

    I'm a rep for B&N Upper Darby and received this book as an advanced reading employee copy. Its the first thriller type book Ive read in months and I LOVED-LOVED-LOVED it! Jax is a super cool riotfemme and I loved the story of her and Alex. There were lots of great twists and a few fun surprises. It's my first Terry Goodkind book and I liked it A LOT. A+ recommended!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    It pains me to give 3 stars and that may be a stretch

    If you haven't read Wizard's First Rule...... stop now. This book i feel will ONLY be appreciated by people who have connnected to the characters of the Sword Of Truth series... and it wont make much too much sense overall unless you were able to keep up with the chainfire/orden story arc at the end of the series. I've read the entire SOT saga multiple times, including Debt of Bones, and this was stilll almost a painful read (partly cause I had such high hopes). Felt like Terry was just grasping at straws. The world he created in his epic lives on but this book does not do it justice. Start at the beginning with First Rule and I almost guarantee you will buy the next 6 books.... Pillars of Creation was a bit of a drag but a least added a lot to the story. Things get complicated after Naked Empire. And richard gets way too long winded. However, there are elements of a good story here but I don't know which book left me with more questions or confusion: this or Omen Machine.

    Bottom line: if you randomly found this book; stop and go get Wizard's First Rule. If you're already a true fan, you're going to read this anyway just like you probably read Omen Machine

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    A Super Sequel!

    Alex finds his world turned upside down when he shoves a woman to safety out of the path of a rampaging truck. The near hit wasn't an accident, and soon they're both fleeing for their lives. Jax explains how Alex is a target because he's the prophesied savior according to the Law of Nines. She's here to protect him. Alex scoffs at her story at first. He's an artist, and even though his grandfather taught him how to defend himself, he refuses to believe her story, until men materialize right before his eyes and try to kill him. He accepts his destiny and joins Jax's quest to save both their worlds. From their last names, I am wondering if this is a sequel thousands of years into the future of when Terry Goodkind's Sword of Truth finishes. I'm only on book five of that series so I won't know for a while, but it certainly seems as though this brings the action to present day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Add Me To The List

    Read the reviewer's copy this week and I was impressed. Well written, genuinely great thriller. I'd recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Don't waste your time

    The worst book I have ever read! The author kept repeating himself as if writing for a bunch of idiots, which I guess I am for wasting my time reading this stupid book! Ugh

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    In 1 word. Boo

    In 1 word. Boo

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    Spoiler alert - terrible -

    Yeah, this was pretty terrible. Some authors create a world for their characters to inhabit with a bit of suggestion, a nod to something recognizable in the real world, and then just the right amount of a fantasy element to flavor everything over the course of a plot that draws you in despite your disbelief.

    Then there are authors who repeat the same four things over and over like an autistic temper tantrum. "Don't look in mirrors! The bad guys have knives! The-good-guy-has-a-gun (a gun). If-a-bad-guy-shows-up-you-shoot-them (with-your-gun) [they have Knives!]

    The first chapter was ok, setting up an interesting guy and hinting that spooky stuff was about to happen. From there it was "Bad guy appears, he has a knife. Wait it's the mirrors! I-have-a-gun-shoot-the-bad-man. Damsel in distress. Repeat."

    Also in the several references to some other series this author wrote you could hear the "©T® Buy my other book$!©T®" in the background.

    I felt less intelligent after reading this book. I wasn't expecting a great work of literature or anything but the intelectual tone was aimed very low. Yeah I actually feel dumber now. Although I've learned that if bad guys were to appear With A Knife! From The Mirror! All I need is a handgun and I will be completely invinsible and also will get to have awkwardly described sex with magical mirror ladies in their late thirties/early forties.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Up to Brooks' Best

    I liked the first six books or so of Goodkind's Sword of Truth fantasy series, which connects up with this book. At first I found the characters and the world-building great. But while some authors simply get better with successive books, others get bloated, self-indulgent, get tired blood. In Goodkind's case his at first appealing hero became the worst Marty Stu I have read in professional fiction, and his world-building, narrative and dialogue got more and more bogged down by Ayn Rand polemic. (He makes no bones about being a devotee if you look on his website.)

    I'm not going to sneer. Ayn Rand was an early influence, and if these days I don't swear by her by chapter and verse, neither am I someone to think she didn't have some valuable ideas to offer. But especially because I went through my fangirl days, I can see the Randian influence in this book--and it's not to the good. This book is being billed as a thriller, and starts out as a present-day story, but the fantasy element is hinted at in the early chapters, and eventually it ties into his popular fantasy Sword of Truth series.

    That could have been a chance at a fresh start, but by the third chapter we're right into the heavy-handed Randian polemic on aesthetics--that no abstract art has any value. Mind you, it's not even a view I don't have sympathy with, but the way it is presented through the artist hero and the gallery owner--well, real people don't talk like this. Real enthusiasts of modern art don't talk like the straw man Goodkind creates. And that's a lot of the problem with Goodkind's characters in this book: cardboard. I couldn't make myself read beyond the first ten chapters of the book (although I flipped though some of the rest). Also, Sword of Truth kept me as long as it did because the characters created and developed in the first books: Richard, Kahlan, Zed, Cara among others were characters I liked.

    Alex and Jax of The Law of Nines though couldn't hold me. They seemed watered down version of Richard and Kahlan, and very, very square-jawed romance aisle versions at that. Alex started annoying me just about from the first when he complains about his girlfriend Bethany texting him all the time. He doesn't like her. He doesn't look at the text messages, but apparently he can't get up the nerve to simply say, "Look, I'm just not that into you." (And man, I just met a blonde Hottie and you're so yesterday).

    It's a shame. Goodkind is capable of much better, as the first several books in his series proved.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantasy Clashes with Reality

    Terry Goodkind's "The Law of Nines" takes us from the familiar fantasy world of Richard Cypher and Kahlan Amnell and places us in our modern-day Earth. Though the Midlands are left behind, the fantasy is not so easily dislodged. It wasn't intended to be.

    Think of "The Law of Nines" as "Wizard's First Rule" in the United States, with murkier motivations and no supporting cast. The simple fantasy solutions are disquieting when applied in the more familiar contexts of a hospital or of a hiking trail on a private preserve.

    "The Law of Nines" is not truly trying to escape the fantasy world. In fact, the book informs us that the Earth is actually descended from the Midlands and that villains from that realm have infiltrated our home. As battles are waged with tasers, guns, and pharmaceuticals, things start to feel uncomfortably ridiculous. A Lee Child thriller looks realistic and logical by comparison.

    In the end, "The Law of Nines" feeds off of Goodkind's established universe without delivering anything of its own. Everything about the book is less effective than a Goodkind fan would expect. The characters fail to develop as well. The grandiose schemes of the villain are less defined. The chemistry between the heroic duo does not react.

    The hero's habits and ideas clash with the established behaviors and beliefs of the book's denizens, as expected from Terry Goodkind. This time, however, WE are the denizens and we may not take kindly to the sermon.

    For a loyal fan, this book delivers an additional unwelcome payload. The clear view we had of the Midlands becomes muddied. The promise of a bright future that we were given in "Confessor" gets a nod and is then cast as ancient history, and discarded. The magical world that is, apparently, Earth's twin is now populated with plot holes in place of the peoples we knew.

    While I fully intend to avail myself of Goodkind's next effort, I would happily un-read "The Law of Nines" were I able.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Very very good

    If one was awed by the Sword of Truth series, they may not be as excited at first with the Law on Nines book. But the writer Terry Goodkind that we all love comes through by the time you finish. I am hungry for more and hope he makes this a series. PS if you go to his website and click on the video link (after you get past page 155) there is a really well done video of part of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hope for a revised and edited copy to be made

    I am a huge Terry Goodkind fan and was so excited to see this book on the shelves. So I bought it immediately and set home to read it. As I started reading I was intrigued that he was basing a book here, in our world, until he mentioned the main character's last name. Then I realized where this book was heading.

    As another reviewer noted, it is much the same story line as the Sword of Truth series centralized around a new couple based here in our world with quite a bit of gore. None of this bothered me except, among the pages were multiple things that could have been edited out. Every couple of pages he practically rewrote what he had just written forcing me to skim through a lot of the book (I finished in one day if that is any indication) I personally also feel it wasn't much of a thriller I could guess pretty much where things were headed (especially once the last name was revealed) most of the way and there wasn't much 'mystery' or 'thrill' about it.

    Overall, if you are an avid Sword of Truth fan you will buy this book, or at least rent it from the library (I recommend the latter) as it seems as it will be the first in a new series. However, I hope for your sake he comes out with an edited version that cuts out all the duplications. It would be a much better book if it was more concise.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book.

    My first experience with this author, I was pleasantly surprised. The characters were most realistic and it was so well done that you start to believe the concept of parallel worlds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12