Customer Reviews for

The Law of Nines

Average Rating 4
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Terry Goodkind Breaks Free from Tradition in Spectacularly Successful Fashion

I didn't know what to expect upon my first read-through of Terry Goodkind's new book, which promised to be a break from his long-standing fantasy genre and epic 'Sword of Truth' series. Simply put, I was astounded. Goodkind's first mainstream work is a great thrill, r...
I didn't know what to expect upon my first read-through of Terry Goodkind's new book, which promised to be a break from his long-standing fantasy genre and epic 'Sword of Truth' series. Simply put, I was astounded. Goodkind's first mainstream work is a great thrill, rife with captivating characters, sinister antagonists, a well-executed plot, and the same enchanting writing I had grown to love this author for, from his 'Sword of Truth' masterpieces.

Fans of "the good" Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and other modern thrillers will not want to miss this book. It's a great read and a refreshing take on an under-served mainstream segment. I hope to read much more of this "evolved" Goodkind for many years to come.

posted by Richtor on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Terry Goodkind disappoints with Law of Nines

First, let me say that TG is my favorite author and I have been a fan for a very long time. Also, I'm not the type of reader who can only read one genre to be happy. I was really looking forward to this book. I was excited to see TG attempt to go "mainstream". Unfor...
First, let me say that TG is my favorite author and I have been a fan for a very long time. Also, I'm not the type of reader who can only read one genre to be happy. I was really looking forward to this book. I was excited to see TG attempt to go "mainstream". Unfortunately, I was beyond disappointed with this book.

I thought that Law of Nines was a dumbed down, pathetic copycat, Reader's Digest version of the story of Richard and Khalan. When I finished that book, my first thought was, "What a waste of my time and money." I was shocked that a man known for such rich characters and captivating stories had written such drivel. If this is an example of his "mainstream" writing, then I hope when he's finished with the 3 books he's contractually obligated to write he has the good sense to go back to what he's good at....because this book was not good. I tried very hard to like it. I really did, but it was an awful book, with one dimensional characters and a plot that was a rip off of his better books. I don't know, maybe he thought he had to write a cheap rip off of WFR in order to keep his readers, or maybe some moron at Putnam this story would be the best way to start out in either case, the book was an insult.

posted by aDemonicChiMill on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Law of Nines

    I am loving this book. I have not read his other books but I plan on doing that sometime. I love the premise of the book. To think that there are other worlds out there besides our own is an idea we should think about. For who knows but God if there are other people out there.

    It is a great read for escaping. I hope more people will read this book and give it a chance and not judge it against his other work.

    It should be judged for itself.

    I recommend this book. It is a great read and very intriguing.

    Patti

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2009

    SOT rip off

    I did like this book, it was a quick captivating read. However, when they said Goodkind's thriller I was thinking like Stephen King thriller. So I read it because I am an avid fan of the Sword of Truth series. I was surprised by how much Goodkind's SOT books and Law of Nines related. I felt this book lacks originality. I was able to figure out the entire plot based on the fact that I had read the SOT books.
    Goodkind would've been better off sticking to the story of Richard and Kahlan, this is just a convoluted form of their story with vague refers to the House of Rahl, and the Mother Confessor. Overall acceptable attempt, good read, but I was expecting more...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    Law of Nines

    I had been awaiting the release of this book because I am a huge fan of the Sword of Truth series.

    I actually put Law of Nines on reserve at my local library and they called me on 8/14 to say that it was available... a full 4 days before it's general release!

    I have read all of the Sword of Truth books and just re-read Wizard's First Rule, so Terry Goodkind's writing style was fresh in my mind. I must say that it almost seems that a different author wrote Law of Nines.

    The book was enjoyable, but I didn't think the writing was as good as his other works. The ties to Sword of Truth were interesting, but I had it figured out pretty early on.

    I will continue to read Goodkind, but in general this book was a bit of a dissapointment because of how much I had come to expect from his novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    I picked up this book as soon as the store opened the day it came out (yesterday) and read as much as I could to finish it by tonight. I must say that it was a GREAT book and I couldnt put it down. I am a little miffed about a few things people are saying about the book that apparently I just dont understand. I do see how the book could be considered a "Thriller" with all the suspense and action taking place, but there are very strong fantasy threads holding it in line with the sword of truth series. Actually, this is nothing more than an extension of the same world in the sword of truth.

    *SPOILER*

    If you read the sword of truth, you would understand that at the end of the series, our world, where The Law of Nines takes place, is the world created by Richard. This is explained more than a few times in the Law of Nines. Some "easter eggs" in the book directly reference the sword of truth. Alex is from Orden, Nebraska, referencing the boxes that were placed into play in the sword of truth. The Rahl bloodline was brought to our world by Richards sister, who was born without the gift, so yes, there is another Rahl. Jax's last name is Amnell, the same as the confessors, Kahlain Amnell, in the original series...many more, try to find them!

    *END OF SPOILER*

    With all of these things linked, and the pretenses of the story plots, I would still consider this a fantasy read and would question why Terry Goodkind is just now being recognized for the same story writing he has given us fans for the last 10 years with the Sword of Truth series. I am very happy to have stumbled upon this great work, giving an extension to a world that I was able to escape to over the last few years. If this is the only Goodkind book you have read because all of a sudden he is "mainstream like Stephen King", then I suggest you go and buy his others because they will not disappoint. They have the same amount of, if not more thrills that The Law of Nines has, and with 11 books finished and available, the story would not end as soon as this one did. I will anxiously await the next volume of this book (hopefully it spurs another series) or any other written by one of the greatest and most descriptive authors of our time, Terry Goodkind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Summer Surprise

    I was invited by a friend to read an early release of this book and carried it around for a few days before finally opening it. I was somewhat reluctant to get into it as I had thought the author was known for science fiction. I read now Goodkind has changed genres and is now writing more mainstream works with reasonable comparisons to King and Brown.

    Simply put, I was blown away. The Law of Nines is a great thriller easily on par with some of Dan Brown's best. Usually better even. This story has a nicely woven plot, good characters, honest intrigue, and a fair amount of chasing that keeps the tension going.

    It was the perfect mid-summer read during my daily commute. Certainly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    If you are familiar with the Sword of Truth series, than you kn

    If you are familiar with the Sword of Truth series, than you know how the story ends. Richard created another world with no magic. I think this is a story about Jenson,s ancestor Alex Rahl. TG is clever to use the world he created in swt to tell a familiar but different story. It's basically SWT in the modern era.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Why did I wait so long to read it?!!!

    Man oh man what a great book! I think the reason why it took me so long to read this book was because it wasn't about Richard and Kahlan and The Sword of Truth. MY FAULT! It was soooo good! It totally tied in with TSOT series! If you loved Wizard's First Rule you'll absolutely love this book! Well done Terry, well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Was not as good as the SOT series. It was more of a gotta pass t

    Was not as good as the SOT series. It was more of a gotta pass the time somehow so i might as well read a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Not bad.

    Its no Wizard's First Rule, but its not a bad read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Love it

    I really enjoyed this book a lot! I like the connection to the sword of truth series. I was expecting a better ending though. Maybe Alex finding out he had the same gift of Richard Rahl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Hmmm

    When will the extra content be added? Halfway through september now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Amazing

    Very good addition to the Sword of Truth universe. Thenks Mr. Goodking!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Amazing!

    There must be a sequel! Blasted through this book and Loved it. Loved how it sort of ties in with the sword of truh series too!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    One of his best

    Told from a different perspective than the Sword of Truth series, this book is one of his best. If you had questions after "Confessor", this book fills in the blanks. If you liked Terry Goodkind's work, you don't want to miss this one! Great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Must read if you know the Sword of Truth story

    If you've read Terry Goodkind's Sword of Truth Series, you will be familiar with the premise of this book. At the end of Confessor, Richard Rahl opens a gateway to another world where those without the spark of magic and those who wish to live in a world without magic can live without the continued corruption of Richard's world. Richard's sister decided to join this new world, thus continuing the Rahl line in the new world.

    In The Law of Nines, we are introduced to Alexander Rahl, an artist. The book's setting is present day Earth, with all the technological advantages we have, without any magic, or so we think. We are thrown into the story when a young, beautiful woman (Jax) "pops" into Alex's life and turns his world, and what he knows of the world, upside down. With Alex's mother locked away in a mental institution, Alex quickly begins to doubt his own sanity. As events unfold and "magic" happens before his eyes, Alex's sanity is no longer questioned and he begins the quest to fulfill the prophecy from another world.

    Just as The Fellowship of the Order in The Sword of Truth series wanted to eradicate all magic, it seems that history is doomed to repeat itself. A new "order" has formed and is threatening magic once more. It is said that the one named in The Law of Nines prophesy shall save their world, but that man is not of their world. Jax must go and find him. Over the course of a millennia, those who with magic have managed to bridge the void and enter the world without magic.

    The Law of Nines is a classic conflict of good versus evil, where The Sword of Truth left off, The Law of Nines brings to light the continual history repeats itself issue. Life is a dichotomy and when there is a happy ending, there will always be a sad beginning. History always seems to repeat.

    And, as with any of Terry Goodkind's books, it is such a slow build up to the action. All of his books I have read seem to start anything really good about midway through the book. This is no different. Another issue I have with this is the name of the heroine of this book (Jax). In the Sword of Truth series, Terry Goodkind embedded the love story of Richard Rahl and Kahlen Amnell. In The Law of Nines, the lineage is kind of odd. I understand that Alexander Rahl is descended from Richard's sister, Jennsen Rahl. But, Jax is supposed to be descended from Kahlen as Jax holds the name Amnell. Unless Kahlen kept the name of Amnell, and thus her children inherited that name...I cannot see how Jax would be descended from Kahlen, more like her father's house...Prince Harold, her half-brother, and thus her Confessor line would be void. But, in The Law of Nines, it is alluded to that Jax is a Confessor, based on the length of her hair and the fact she doesn't let anyone cut it.

    I love the continuation of the storyline. So, I must overlook the problem. Just as I had to overlook the serious plot issue with Nathal Rahl in The Sword of Truth Series. Maybe this point will be explained deeper in Goodkind's new book, The Omen Machine, where he will continue the Richard and Kahlen story. One can only hope.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A bit off, but not bad

    As a follower of TG's work since the beggining, I was excited at the prospect of a new seires, but also a bit skeptical over the fact it would take place in the modern, nonetheless, Goodkind pulled it off well, it was a great read, the only thing that peevd me was the structuring (It's structured sort of like the first three SoT books) and the fact it does incorporate some elements of fantasy that seem off in modern books. Even so, these are only minor flaws, he still pulls off the composition with his usual artistic flair. I highly reccomemd this book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    a little disappointed

    After reading TG's Sword of Truth series, I was very excited to hear about this posible new series. After reading this, I was disappointed that TG didn't move onto something new. The plot and characters lacked the depth that I was accustomed to in his previous books. If you are thinking about reading this book separate from the Sword ofTruth series, I would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    Don't Bother

    Let me begin by saying I have never read a Terry Goodkind book; therefore, I went into this book with no preconceived notions or expectations. The first three pages I read while standing in the bookstore were well written and interesting enough to warrant a purchase. The first eight or nine chapters only reinforced my initial impression and kept me turning pages as quickly as possible. However, despite the strong beginning and a plot that could have been something incredible, the tale is bogged down by wooden characters and banal dialogue. Though I'm able to slog through just about anything in the hopes that the author will somehow redeem the story, I have serious doubts about my tenacity when it comes to this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This Fantasy Thriller Begs for the Quick Publication of a Sequel

    The Law of Nines by Terry Goodkind is an enticing fantasy thriller. To my understanding, it is also the first book of a new series. That is good to know, because the ending leaves you wanting more. The lead character discovers upon reaching a certain age that he and his family are involved in an ancient battle with forces from another world. His one true ally is a beautiful woman from that secret place. The premise is fun, as it suggests that many people assumed to be crazy in our real world, might just have some insight into other realities..It's fun to imagine (and scary). I found it a bit surprising that while the violence (while necessary) could be quite graphic even though the sex has been prudishly censored by some unknown hand. I find myself very much looking forward to the next installment of this worthwhile book, though I wish the end had been a little more satisfying as a standalone volume. Hurry with the next one Mr. Goodkind.
    Michael Travis Jasper, author of the novel, "To Be Chosen"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    What a waste!

    I was a huge fan of Goodkind when he wrote the Sword of Truth series. The last 4 books of that series were a huge disappointment after the great start it had and the potential it showed. I was eager to read The Law of Nines when I happened upon the description and realized it seemed a follow up to the Sword of Truth taking place sometime in the future. That is where my interest in this story ends.

    It seems that Goodkind is only capable of rehashing old characters, situations, and plotlines. The Law of Nines is what I would expect to read from a high school student trying to copy a story that they really like. I would think that someone other than Goodkind had written it except for the fact that he so loves to describe gruesome fights with exceptional details. This story was basically Wizards First Rule repackaged.

    If you read and enjoyed the Sword of Truth series then you will notice several references in this story that only those that read the previous series would get. But what I don't understand is why Goodkind would put those into a story for the benefit of his fans when the story is clearly a copycat of a previous work that they would have already read.

    I can honestly say that this will most likely be the last Goodkind novel that I purchase. If you are a fan of the Sword of Truth series and Goodkind's previous novels, then stay away from this one. Save your money and go read Wizard's First Rule again.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12