Customer Reviews for

The Law of Nines

Average Rating 4
( 236 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Terry Goodkind Breaks Free from Tradition in Spectacularly Successful Fashion

I didn't know what to expect upon my first read-through of Terry Goodkind's new book, which promised to be a break from his long-standing fantasy genre and epic 'Sword of Truth' series. Simply put, I was astounded. Goodkind's first mainstream work is a great thrill, r...
I didn't know what to expect upon my first read-through of Terry Goodkind's new book, which promised to be a break from his long-standing fantasy genre and epic 'Sword of Truth' series. Simply put, I was astounded. Goodkind's first mainstream work is a great thrill, rife with captivating characters, sinister antagonists, a well-executed plot, and the same enchanting writing I had grown to love this author for, from his 'Sword of Truth' masterpieces.

Fans of "the good" Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and other modern thrillers will not want to miss this book. It's a great read and a refreshing take on an under-served mainstream segment. I hope to read much more of this "evolved" Goodkind for many years to come.

posted by Richtor on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Terry Goodkind disappoints with Law of Nines

First, let me say that TG is my favorite author and I have been a fan for a very long time. Also, I'm not the type of reader who can only read one genre to be happy. I was really looking forward to this book. I was excited to see TG attempt to go "mainstream". Unfor...
First, let me say that TG is my favorite author and I have been a fan for a very long time. Also, I'm not the type of reader who can only read one genre to be happy. I was really looking forward to this book. I was excited to see TG attempt to go "mainstream". Unfortunately, I was beyond disappointed with this book.

I thought that Law of Nines was a dumbed down, pathetic copycat, Reader's Digest version of the story of Richard and Khalan. When I finished that book, my first thought was, "What a waste of my time and money." I was shocked that a man known for such rich characters and captivating stories had written such drivel. If this is an example of his "mainstream" writing, then I hope when he's finished with the 3 books he's contractually obligated to write he has the good sense to go back to what he's good at....because this book was not good. I tried very hard to like it. I really did, but it was an awful book, with one dimensional characters and a plot that was a rip off of his better books. I don't know, maybe he thought he had to write a cheap rip off of WFR in order to keep his readers, or maybe some moron at Putnam this story would be the best way to start out in either case, the book was an insult.

posted by aDemonicChiMill on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    Terry Goodkind disappoints with Law of Nines

    First, let me say that TG is my favorite author and I have been a fan for a very long time. Also, I'm not the type of reader who can only read one genre to be happy. I was really looking forward to this book. I was excited to see TG attempt to go "mainstream". Unfortunately, I was beyond disappointed with this book.

    I thought that Law of Nines was a dumbed down, pathetic copycat, Reader's Digest version of the story of Richard and Khalan. When I finished that book, my first thought was, "What a waste of my time and money." I was shocked that a man known for such rich characters and captivating stories had written such drivel. If this is an example of his "mainstream" writing, then I hope when he's finished with the 3 books he's contractually obligated to write he has the good sense to go back to what he's good at....because this book was not good. I tried very hard to like it. I really did, but it was an awful book, with one dimensional characters and a plot that was a rip off of his better books. I don't know, maybe he thought he had to write a cheap rip off of WFR in order to keep his readers, or maybe some moron at Putnam this story would be the best way to start out in either case, the book was an insult.

    14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    OMG

    In this book, Goodkind is at his worst. The plot is not only a ripoff of his earlier works but the author dosen't even attempt to have it make sense. People from his old universe invade our world hundreds if not thousands of years after the victory of Richard Rahl. Amazingly, they speak english perfectly (and write it!!) The Rahl line still exists unchanged after hundreds years (they even have the exact same name!!).The bad guy's are not only ridiculously brutal but amazingly stupid (and trust me the "good" guys aren't much better!!). Then we are supposed to admire a man who cares more about a woman he just met than his own mother!! As if this were not enough, we are continuously boombarded with Goodkind's conservative/humanist agenda. Frankly, for someones who's characters are always ranting about man's ability to reason, I found none in this novel.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Don't waste your time

    The worst book I have ever read! The author kept repeating himself as if writing for a bunch of idiots, which I guess I am for wasting my time reading this stupid book! Ugh

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    In 1 word. Boo

    In 1 word. Boo

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    Spoiler alert - terrible -

    Yeah, this was pretty terrible. Some authors create a world for their characters to inhabit with a bit of suggestion, a nod to something recognizable in the real world, and then just the right amount of a fantasy element to flavor everything over the course of a plot that draws you in despite your disbelief.

    Then there are authors who repeat the same four things over and over like an autistic temper tantrum. "Don't look in mirrors! The bad guys have knives! The-good-guy-has-a-gun (a gun). If-a-bad-guy-shows-up-you-shoot-them (with-your-gun) [they have Knives!]

    The first chapter was ok, setting up an interesting guy and hinting that spooky stuff was about to happen. From there it was "Bad guy appears, he has a knife. Wait it's the mirrors! I-have-a-gun-shoot-the-bad-man. Damsel in distress. Repeat."

    Also in the several references to some other series this author wrote you could hear the "©T® Buy my other book$!©T®" in the background.

    I felt less intelligent after reading this book. I wasn't expecting a great work of literature or anything but the intelectual tone was aimed very low. Yeah I actually feel dumber now. Although I've learned that if bad guys were to appear With A Knife! From The Mirror! All I need is a handgun and I will be completely invinsible and also will get to have awkwardly described sex with magical mirror ladies in their late thirties/early forties.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    a little disappointed

    After reading TG's Sword of Truth series, I was very excited to hear about this posible new series. After reading this, I was disappointed that TG didn't move onto something new. The plot and characters lacked the depth that I was accustomed to in his previous books. If you are thinking about reading this book separate from the Sword ofTruth series, I would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    Don't Bother

    Let me begin by saying I have never read a Terry Goodkind book; therefore, I went into this book with no preconceived notions or expectations. The first three pages I read while standing in the bookstore were well written and interesting enough to warrant a purchase. The first eight or nine chapters only reinforced my initial impression and kept me turning pages as quickly as possible. However, despite the strong beginning and a plot that could have been something incredible, the tale is bogged down by wooden characters and banal dialogue. Though I'm able to slog through just about anything in the hopes that the author will somehow redeem the story, I have serious doubts about my tenacity when it comes to this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    What a waste!

    I was a huge fan of Goodkind when he wrote the Sword of Truth series. The last 4 books of that series were a huge disappointment after the great start it had and the potential it showed. I was eager to read The Law of Nines when I happened upon the description and realized it seemed a follow up to the Sword of Truth taking place sometime in the future. That is where my interest in this story ends.

    It seems that Goodkind is only capable of rehashing old characters, situations, and plotlines. The Law of Nines is what I would expect to read from a high school student trying to copy a story that they really like. I would think that someone other than Goodkind had written it except for the fact that he so loves to describe gruesome fights with exceptional details. This story was basically Wizards First Rule repackaged.

    If you read and enjoyed the Sword of Truth series then you will notice several references in this story that only those that read the previous series would get. But what I don't understand is why Goodkind would put those into a story for the benefit of his fans when the story is clearly a copycat of a previous work that they would have already read.

    I can honestly say that this will most likely be the last Goodkind novel that I purchase. If you are a fan of the Sword of Truth series and Goodkind's previous novels, then stay away from this one. Save your money and go read Wizard's First Rule again.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Horrible

    A terrible rip off of Goodkind's fantastic 1st book, Wizard's First Rule. Very boring beceause it was so predictable.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    Terry should be ashamed. Making a short story into a novel. He is just stretching the storyline from a "ONE BOOK" story to a boring series.

    Will not buy or read the 2nd, 3rd or 4th since the 1st was so bad.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Who wrote this

    I have been anxiously awaiting this novel since Terry ended his SOT saga. Terry is a very good writer, an imagination that is awsome, and I can't believe for a minute that he wrote this C grade novel. I'm just glad I didn't buy it, and it's one that I know for sure that I wont read again, unlike his other books. Whoever wrote this is an inexperienced writer, with little or no imagination.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not even a good pick to alleviate boredom

    The concept was intriguing, which learned me in, and the first couple pages sounded passable, so it passed my litmus test at a glance. I was desperate to read SOMETHING so I picked this, and it was a mistake. The beginning of the novel held promise, but as it went on character inconsistencies and strange attempts at drama were just met with raised eyebrows. The author needs to stop telling you what's going on, and start showing you what's going on. I've seen better short stories from college students as amateur fiction writers. Such a waste of $20.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2