Customer Reviews for

The Law of Nines

Average Rating 4
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Terry Goodkind Breaks Free from Tradition in Spectacularly Successful Fashion

I didn't know what to expect upon my first read-through of Terry Goodkind's new book, which promised to be a break from his long-standing fantasy genre and epic 'Sword of Truth' series. Simply put, I was astounded. Goodkind's first mainstream work is a great thrill, r...
I didn't know what to expect upon my first read-through of Terry Goodkind's new book, which promised to be a break from his long-standing fantasy genre and epic 'Sword of Truth' series. Simply put, I was astounded. Goodkind's first mainstream work is a great thrill, rife with captivating characters, sinister antagonists, a well-executed plot, and the same enchanting writing I had grown to love this author for, from his 'Sword of Truth' masterpieces.

Fans of "the good" Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and other modern thrillers will not want to miss this book. It's a great read and a refreshing take on an under-served mainstream segment. I hope to read much more of this "evolved" Goodkind for many years to come.

posted by Richtor on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Terry Goodkind disappoints with Law of Nines

First, let me say that TG is my favorite author and I have been a fan for a very long time. Also, I'm not the type of reader who can only read one genre to be happy. I was really looking forward to this book. I was excited to see TG attempt to go "mainstream". Unfor...
First, let me say that TG is my favorite author and I have been a fan for a very long time. Also, I'm not the type of reader who can only read one genre to be happy. I was really looking forward to this book. I was excited to see TG attempt to go "mainstream". Unfortunately, I was beyond disappointed with this book.

I thought that Law of Nines was a dumbed down, pathetic copycat, Reader's Digest version of the story of Richard and Khalan. When I finished that book, my first thought was, "What a waste of my time and money." I was shocked that a man known for such rich characters and captivating stories had written such drivel. If this is an example of his "mainstream" writing, then I hope when he's finished with the 3 books he's contractually obligated to write he has the good sense to go back to what he's good at....because this book was not good. I tried very hard to like it. I really did, but it was an awful book, with one dimensional characters and a plot that was a rip off of his better books. I don't know, maybe he thought he had to write a cheap rip off of WFR in order to keep his readers, or maybe some moron at Putnam this story would be the best way to start out in either case, the book was an insult.

posted by aDemonicChiMill on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    LOVED IT

    I loved this continuation of the Sword of Truth series. I talked about so much my mom knows everything about it, and she doesn't even care. I listened to it (I have the audiobook) over and over angain. I loved the characters, and the idea of adding another peice of the Rahl family, so many years later. It was thrilling to read it, and heart-pounding. I love Terry Goodkind writing, and this book added to my love and admiration of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    This book left me speechless.

    I was insanely curious as to what this book would entail. I found that I was pleasantly surprised. It was a continuation of the prophecy found at the end of his book Confessor. I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    a good read

    I picked this book up, and after reading the book jacket, I had NO IDEA where this was gonna go. But after a maybe 75 pages, you start to get the idea. It was a good mixture, I don't wanna ruin it, but I am glad to have had it. I have read all his other books, and it is a good addition to my library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    another home run

    I've read all of Goodkind's works, for his fans, this book is an interesting extension of his previous works. Set more modern day than his other works, a good read, full of action, I couldn't put it down and now I have to await future works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Well written Sicence Fiction thriller.

    I generally am not a big SI-FI reader. Goodkind captured my interest early on, used simple dialogue successfully, and included many thriller episodes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    As always Goodkind has delivered a non stop thrilling page turner!

    As a well read reader in the thriller/horror Genre, I have to tip my hat to Goodkind with his foray into the world of Mainstream. While I have enjoyed his past adventure series (The Sword of Truth), I see The Law of Nines taking it's well earned and rightly deserved place in the contemporary world of main stream thrillers.
    A masterful story teller, Goodkind has given his readers vivid portrayals of true evil, heart wrenching scenes, edge of the seat, fear to turn the page, but you have to because you have to know what happens next, characters that deliver the mix with a romance carefully intertwined that pulls at the heart strings.
    I personally enjoyed the contrast between Goodkinds portrayal of the true nature of evil with the heart warming characters and an unlikely hero. Much like Dean Koontz's style, his characters are rich, well written and carry that zest for life, that spark of life if you will, that we've all come to know and love with in Goodkinds story's.
    With out giving away any spoilers, The Law of Nines offers its readers a fast paced ride into a world where evil has taken a foot hold hell bent on domination by any and all means. No one is safe, no matter who you are or where you live! A villain that has the means to track you from an unseen place, suddenly and with out warning appear, the world becomes a rather scary place. The world takes a tilt when our hero's lives are forever and unalterably changed. Nothing will ever be the same, no place can truly be safe unless the secret is not only revealed but understood by the only person who can control the Gate and save more than one world.

    I give this book 5 stars
    I'd say give this book a try you won't be disapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another winner from Goodkind

    Have been going through Sword of Truth withdrawal so Law of Nines was a great relief.Look forward to continuing the journey with Terry Goodkind, Adam,and Jax.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I think this is one of his best. I couldn't put it down.

    it kept my attention throughout the entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Beginning! (Again!)

    I have been looking forward to this book ever since I heard about it. It really intrigued me how this "modern-day/contemporary" book could be connected to the Sword of Truth series. I had some guesses, but anxiously awaited it's arrival.

    I was not disappointed! I read it in one, long sitting. I could not put it down. I HIGHLY recommend this book to any Terry Goodkind fan - any who are missing the world of Richard and Kahlan. It may not be as gone as you think. I am already looking forward to the next book! (Hopefully!)

    For those who have not read the Sword of Truth series, it is still a great book. However, there are some monumental connections that will have a MUCH bigger impact if you have read the previous series (starting with "Wizard's First Rule")

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Rahl?

    I am gathering that he is continuing his Sword of Truth series (Awesome read by the way!) ? Is Alex Rahl related to Richard Rahl - the Seeker?

    I finished the Sword of Truth series and was very dissappointed it ended -I hope this is a continuation ...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    terrific fantasy thriller

    In Orden, Nebraska, artist Alex Rahl notices the woman in the path of a speeding plumbing truck with a dangling pirate flag. She seems ignorant of the fact that the pirates were bearing down on her. He grabs her arm and yanks her back as the vehicle misses her and then abruptly stops. One of the pirates steps out menacingly, but the police arrive at the scene. Alex apologizes to her for hurting her arm, but mentions the near incident; she mysteriously says it was probably no accident.

    Jax further explains she has come for Alex from another realm. He is there only hope to save her United States from a magical coup d'etat. However, though attracted to this Jax, Alex says he just a downtrodden just turned twenty-seven year old artist whose recent inheritance should make him at least wealthy. She mentions her world's technology is magic based rather than engineering-scientific centric. He doubts her tale as she cannot perform even an illusion let alone change the laws of physics until he soon learns the universal law of Good Samaritans to not get involved when Jax's adversaries cross over with the intention of killing the rebel, her protector, and his loved ones.

    THE LAWS OF NINE is a terrific fantasy thriller that stars off at a fast-pace, settles into an explanatory worlds' settings and incredibly accelerates into an action-packed speed of light tale. Alex is fabulous as a skeptic until he and his love ones are literally assaulted and tries to assist the kick butt heroine he just saved. All the action is on this side of reality so the thriller aspects supersede the fantasy elements that are for the most part implied and established for perhaps a sequel on Jax's world. Terry Goodkind provides fans with a super opening act.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6