Customer Reviews for

The Law of Similars

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

great read

It's always nice to read a book about a town and state you're familiar with. My sister went to St. Michael's College near Burlington, VT, so I've been up to Burlington a few times. As the story went along, I would try to match Leland's views of the city with the ones in...
It's always nice to read a book about a town and state you're familiar with. My sister went to St. Michael's College near Burlington, VT, so I've been up to Burlington a few times. As the story went along, I would try to match Leland's views of the city with the ones in my memory, and it helped to place my imagination at the scene.

As with many of Chris's books, I enjoyed this one. He's much like Jodi Picoult in that he takes subjects that are controversial or not very well known and places people in the middle of that type of situation. Who really knows a lot about homeopathy, other than homeopaths? It's very educational to read about the Law of Similars, and what would drive a man allergic to cashews to think that eating one would be a good idea.

From the first page to the last, I was enthralled by the story. Leland is a very flawed, very real character; the loving father of Abby, but still a man who has his own fears and doubts and who makes mistakes. The story is mostly from his point of view, but it includes his thoughts on other characters as well, such as Jennifer's skepticism of the homeopathic remedies her husband takes, and Carissa's concerns about how her patient interprets her words. The skipping around at first may seem random, but it fits with the story like pieces of a puzzle.

This is a great book with which to curl up on the couch with a cat on your lap and a cup of coffee in your free hand. It pulls you in from the very start and you don't want to let go until you turn the last page.

posted by kuhlcat on March 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really a Letdown

I really enjoyed Bohjalian's Midwives, but found The Law of Similars to be a shallow story without much character development.There are no great twists as in Midwives. I will continue to read his other novels in hopes that there will be varying themes

posted by Anonymous on March 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great read

    It's always nice to read a book about a town and state you're familiar with. My sister went to St. Michael's College near Burlington, VT, so I've been up to Burlington a few times. As the story went along, I would try to match Leland's views of the city with the ones in my memory, and it helped to place my imagination at the scene.

    As with many of Chris's books, I enjoyed this one. He's much like Jodi Picoult in that he takes subjects that are controversial or not very well known and places people in the middle of that type of situation. Who really knows a lot about homeopathy, other than homeopaths? It's very educational to read about the Law of Similars, and what would drive a man allergic to cashews to think that eating one would be a good idea.

    From the first page to the last, I was enthralled by the story. Leland is a very flawed, very real character; the loving father of Abby, but still a man who has his own fears and doubts and who makes mistakes. The story is mostly from his point of view, but it includes his thoughts on other characters as well, such as Jennifer's skepticism of the homeopathic remedies her husband takes, and Carissa's concerns about how her patient interprets her words. The skipping around at first may seem random, but it fits with the story like pieces of a puzzle.

    This is a great book with which to curl up on the couch with a cat on your lap and a cup of coffee in your free hand. It pulls you in from the very start and you don't want to let go until you turn the last page.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2000

    Really a Letdown

    I really enjoyed Bohjalian's Midwives, but found The Law of Similars to be a shallow story without much character development.There are no great twists as in Midwives. I will continue to read his other novels in hopes that there will be varying themes

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    another page turner from Chris Bohalian.

    I have read several of his books and I. can not help but marvel at how his mind thinks. I Find his characters to be sad but also kind. Homeophathy is a subject that leaves me with a lot of questions but the story that he weaves around the subject is fascinating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    WHAT'S IN THE BOTTLE? READ AND SEE.

    A vast opening into the world of alternative medicine. It speaks with a researched tongue and poignant feelings. Good stuff in a short story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Could not put it down!

    I have really enjoyed other books by this author but this was definitely my favorite book of his, even better than Midwives. I could not put it down! I just loved the story and his style of writing, how he weaves the stories of the different characters together and gives lots of foreshadowing. That said, I was somewhat disappointed with the ending. I also didn't really care for the main character, Leland. He seemed somewhat pathetic to me, the way he was 'obsessed' with Carissa and her cure. But, overall, it was a great read and I'd recommend it to fans of his or those looking for another great author to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2002

    Great book by a great writer!

    If you haven't read Chris yet, this is a good book to start with. It's a great story. The way it unfolds is perfect. It's a quick read, you can't put it down. I read it in 2 days. I think it was an interesting look at homeopathy. Very easy for someone to understand who doesn't know anything about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2001

    A huge disappointment from an amazing writer

    After reading Midwives, I couldn't wait to read another Chris Bohjalian novel. Unfortunately, I found the story lacking the creativity and fire that Midwives had. I know how amazing a writer Mr. Bohjalian is, and this novel definitely does not display his talents to the utmost degree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2001

    Riveting

    I loved Law of Similars. It was thought provoking in that it portrayed characters that are essentially good natured, but intentionally or not cause bad things to happen. Instinctively we want someone to be held accountable when a tragedy occurs, but somtimes no one can be, or should be. I appreciate the insight into Homeopathy. I've suggested the book to many friends, including homeopathy itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2000

    Bohjalian Is A Master

    For the five or six people left who HAVEN'T read Chris Bohjalian's Oprah pick, 'Midwives', I say give yourself the treat of reading 'The Law of Similars' first. You'll find that Bohjalian is a fearless storyteller with a knack for finding the most interesting way between two plot points. 'The Law of Similars' has a crystal-clear story, that generates profound moral ambiguity. Once you've finished 'Similars,' you can be one of the few to read 'Midwives' next. You'll see they are both page-turners with lots of heart and lots of brain.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2000

    Tough Choices, Good Read

    If you want a good story with interesting people faced with moral dilemmas, this is a book for you. It examines all the conflicts people face these days: career vs. family, self vs. others, and even traditional versus natural medicine. And, it does so in a way which carries you gracefully and realistically through each conflict.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2