BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Law of the Garbage Truck: How to Respond to People Who Dump on You, and How to Stop Dumping on Others

Average Rating 3.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You are not a garbage truck!!

    If you're like me, you probably let the rude remarks of insensitive people ruin your day--I take it in, let it fester and by the time the day is out, I'm not even capable of having a civil conversation. In short, I let that one rude person effect my happiness as well as the happiness of those closest to me. I've had the great fortune to see an early copy of this book. It's a must read for anyone who read my little anecdote above and nodded along in agreement. The Law offers a clear and really powerful message--If you don't let other people dump their "garbage" (negativity, anger, resentment)on you, and you refrain from dumping your garbage on other people, you will lead a happier life. It's about putting your own happiness first and watching as your positive attitude touches everyone around you. Bottom Line: Your happiness is a choice and a little kindness can go a long way.

    I would also recommend The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin and the film, Pay it Forward.

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    The Law of the Garbage Truck..a law I will now follow.

    I received an advanced copy of this groundbreaking book from a dear friend who knew that I was going through a difficult period in my life. I was bogged down with personal negative emotions and had started heading towards a self destructive and rage filled path. The load I was carrying emotionally was seriously threatening my health and well being.

    I began reading "The Law of the Garbage Truck" on a Thursday night, and continued reading well past my "school night" bed time. Armed with a pencil, I made sure to fill out every question phrased in the book carefully, associating it with the lesson that had just been laid out for me in the previous chapter. I arose the next day and headed to work, a source of stress for the 3 years I had worked there, and looked at my co-workers and myself in a much different light.

    The concept of the book is that, in life, we all dump on others and they dump on us. Pollay uses his personal experiences as well as psychological studies within these pages to highlight this idea, encouraging the reader to let other "garbage trucks" pass them by. It also gives ways for the reader to stop being a garbage truck themselves. Empowerment is the name of Pollay's game, and his desire is to change the world, one positive person at a time.

    I reached an epiphany at the end of the book. I realized that what I had for years called "being honest" and "wearing my heart on my sleeve" had really been a way for me to unload and vent my problems to others, allowing them to pick up the load for me so I could have the momentary relief until the next negative moment in my life occurred, and the cycle would begin again. I stopped getting upset when the driver behind me sped around me and cut me off. I realized that forgiveness and acceptance were far better tools than anger and vengeance.

    David J. Pollay is a fantastic writer, who uses wit and just plain talk to get across this potent message. I recommend that everyone read this book...for the betterment of themselves, and our society/world as a whole. We've been waiting for this voice for years...it's time we listened.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is a gift to everyone

    I just finished a must read: The Law of the Garbage Truck. I was able to read a media review copy of the book, and I loved it. In a clear, concise, and powerful message, David J. Pollay shows us how to live a more peaceful, contented, and positively engaged life. He tells us that there is much in everyday life that we cannot control: especially, other people's bad behavior.

    Many people are unhappy, stalled and unproductive in their work, and live in a climate of negativity at home. There are unresolved issues in their life, and they tend to take their frustrations out on other people: dumping their garbage, and spreading it all around like a garbage truck, making everybody feel miserable, downhearted, or just plain angry. He will show you how to overcome the accepting of garbage from others, and also, how to stop dumping on others.

    This book is based on research which I feel is essential. His philosophy and life's work seem to embody the timeless wisdom of the sages, and he envisions a world in which we can all make a difference starting with our own personal lives. He has written in the timely and easily understood vernacular of today: It flows smoothly with stories we can all relate to. Stories of fun, everyday events, and others about the depth of struggles we may have to face in life. It has insightful quizzes to determine how much garbage you dump and how much garbage you accept, action guides, and The No Garbage Truck Pledge which I remind myself to take every day. When I feel myself getting into a garbage truck mode, I stop, and say: I am not a garbage truck. I will not spread garbage, and I will not accept garbage.

    This book is a gift that will enrich your life. Tell everyone!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    David Pollay's Law of the Garbage Truck is amazing! This funny and accessible philosophy helps in every aspect of life: office politics, raising children, relationships, and the entire community!

    I began reading The Law of the Garbage Truck out of curiosity for how a garbage truck could possibly be of any help besides as a garbage truck. Within a few pages, I was engaged, deeply interested and smiling because it is very clear that David Pollay knows how to negotiate relationships in a way that teaches me to be a better person. This is a fantastc book, a breakthrough philosophy, and should be in every office and home library.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    Must Read

    The Law of the Garbage Truck is a must read. The best part of this book is that once I internalized the message I started recognizing garbage trucks everywhere. I felt like I was looking at each day with a new set of eyes. I never realized how the many little negative interactions I had with the world were impacting me. My days are more enjoyable now for having read this book.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    POWERFUL BOOK TEACHES A BETTER, KINDER WAY TO LIVE, BE, AND DO

    When the "Law of the Garbage Truck" author hopped into that cab in New York City around twenty years ago, I bet never in his wildest dreams did he imagine the major changes that experience would bring to his life - or that there was suddenly potential to greatly improve the lives of thousands of others around the world.
    I really love the easy to follow format of this book, and that you can, on your own schedule, absorb the meaty contents, one idea at a time.
    What struck me about Pollay's message, and impacted my life most is - I no longer have to buy into negative experiences at all! I can train myself with the principles in this book to not take the bad stuff personally, and have no need to spread it either. This is such a huge relief from former ways of handling ordinary daily life.
    "The Law of the Garbage Truck" has so much original thought, and is useful to anyone willing to take the lessons to heart and apply them.
    I suspect a major wave of goodness around the world can and will result from this project, in print and with the audio version as well.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Created your own happiness

    I would be the first and definitely not the last to say I need this book more then anyone I know. I tend to let others "dump" on me and I very often am the "garbage truck" myself.

    There are 8 commitments to "The Law of the Garbage Truck". Each commitment has a chapter explaining what they mean. But my favorite part were the chapters following each explanation, they are everyday scenarios of how to work through the problems that face us and to recognize when you need to avoid your normal response to the garbage in/coming in your life. At the end of each chapter there is a "call to action", where the author gives you a task to look into your life and make a positive change.

    A common theme I got from this book is- "smile, wave, wish them well, move on and let the garbage trucks PASS YOU BY".

    Two of the eight commitments that I got the most out of
    were-
    1- "Do let your own Garbage Trucks pass you by."
    I always Let past mistakes and hurts haunt me and cause me to loose focus on my own happiness. Mr. Pollay's book has helped me work through this and even though it's only been a week of me applying these "laws" my attitude has been a lot happier. I still have a long way to go but I love where I am going.

    2- "Do avoid becoming someone else's Garbage Truck"
    I tend to think "well if i can't be happy then they don't need to be happy either". This is not fair to others OR myself. By being the source of garbage not only am I hurting others, I am hurting myself as well.
    Thus section has really helped me recognize when I am dumping on others and how to let my reactions change. I have a VERY long way to work on this, but I'm excited for the outcome.

    I think everyone in the world needs this book. If we all could follow "The Law of the Garbage Truck" we would all be a happier people. And with this book translated into over 50 different languages it is becoming possible for others to get into the act.

    Also, if you are a Christian and read this book with the Christian perspective you will see that this is how God wants us to live our lives.
    Eph 4:29 "do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouth but what is helpful for building up others according to their needs."
    James 1:19 "..be quick to hear, slow to speak and slow to anger."

    Once you are done reading this book, I encourage you to take the "No Garbage Truck Pledge"

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    Loved the book!

    I've decided to take the pledge. Each time I react in a positive manner, I'm encouraged to continue because of the good feeling I get. This book helped me change my habit of allowing others to dump on me. This would often provoke a negative response. Now I'm usually able to ignore the Garbage Trucks I encounter on a daily basis.

    The action questions drew me into the process. Two things I always try to remember now are. Venting can help, dumping will hurt. And do live in gratitude.

    Lots of books give you good ideas, but David presents a format that is easy for everyone to understand and implement. He includes the reader in the process by asking questions and providing step by step guidelines. This is a book I will refer to often, share, and treasure.

    As a retired teacher, I suggest the book to all educators. Students of all ages will relate to the stories and embrace the commitments. I was delighted to read the section on anti-bullying, with great applications for teachers and students. How wonderful our schools would be if everyone took the pledge and declare their campus a No Garbage Trucks Zone!

    I will be ordering books for my family and friends.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Highly Recommended- Insightful, quick read!

    The Law of the Garbage Truck is an insightful book that forces you to examine whether or not you are a Garbage Truck. This quick read is hard to put down, and teaches you how to deal with negative people in your life as well as how to become a positive person in society. Pollay shares very relatable examples from his personal life, which show us that we all can have bad days but we should all strive to not accept garbage in our lives and not dumb garbage on others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    To Dump or be Dumped upon, learn how to deal with negative people in your life.

    Translated into nearly 50 languages, people from more than 100 countries have taken David's "No Garbage Trucks! Pledge." All over the world people remember the focusing metaphor of the garbage truck for what can be achieved in life by not staking success and happiness on the behavior of others. Powerful and easily understood, The Law of the Garbage Truck will guide and inspire readers everywhere, every day.

    Easy to understand "How to Respond to People Who Dump on You, and How to Stop Dumping on Others" is the main point in The Law of the Garbage Truck. Read this book, answer the questions after each chapter and apply this simple concept to change how you see negative people in your day to day life and how to respond to them. Feel less stress overall in your day, learn to love your life and even your job again. Learn to stay focused so you can complete your daily tasks and not lose sleep over others negativity. Let the garbage truck pass you by!

    David explains how most disagreements we have with others are petty and we should not let it distract us and ruin our whole day. We need to stay focused on what is important to us and not let others trash redirect that path. Also David explains how we should not use this as an excuse to dump on others which causes them to pass it on. We are all connected in this world and by breaking the cycle and not passing the garbage on to others we make this world a better place for more people than we can ever imagine. Be kind to others especially when they are unkind, it truly is as simple as that.

    Ironically my first test for The Law of the Garbage Truck came just before I sat down to write this book review. It happened right in my own home with my husband. My husband and I rarely have an disagreements and arguments so this was a true test for me. I asked him for a quick favor that would have taken him 2 seconds. Get up off the computer chair and look at something for me that was four feet away. He acted like he was just to busy at the moment to help. However I needed to email someone at that moment about this so it was a true priority for me. What he was working on would have taken at least half an hour. Well I went off on him and told him what I thought about him and also told him not to ask me for any favors again. blah, blah, blah. I then came downstairs ranting and raving. Sat in front of my laptop and looked at the new blog post I was working on which was of course The Law of the Garbage Truck.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    I THINK IT IS A VERY GOOD BOOK FOR PEOPLE THAT ARE REALLY NEGATI

    I THINK IT IS A VERY GOOD BOOK FOR PEOPLE THAT ARE REALLY NEGATIVE. I CAN'T AFFORD TO BUY IT FOR ALL THE PEOPLE I KNOW THAT SHOULD READ IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Great Book!

    We have offered all of our employees to read! Has opened new possibilities for some of our team! Simple, down to earth language and examples really make this real for people!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Just another management-type trying to get the rest of us to smile and work harder no matter the circumstances.

    Let me save you some money. The main advice this book gives is to let the stuff people dump on you just pass you by. In other words we've all heard a thousand times, just let it go. Easy to do if you're making management bucks and aren't on the front lines. Sorry, but this book has no real substance, just cute metaphoric fluff, in my opinion. If life was really that easy to master, we'd all have mastered it by now.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    Awesome- good for any and all relationships at home or work!

    I work with someone who used to sell garbage trucks..... he heard me talking about this book and it "clicked" Now everyone at work wants to get on board! Good advice fr home, work, school, church.... anyone and anywhere

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Is It Trash Day yet?

    I feel a need to get rid of all of the garbage in my life after this one. This book will offer a comprehensive look at how to become happier in your life. I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score," from Author R.A. Clark, which takes more of an intimate look at the power of forgiveness and so much more. Give it a chance to change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    I will not be a garbage truck!!

    I received an advanced copy of this groundbreaking book from a dear friend who knew that I was going through a difficult period in my life. I was bogged down with personal negative emotions and had started heading towards a self destructive and rage filled path. The load I was carrying emotionally was seriously threatening my health and well being. I began reading "The Law of the Garbage Truck" on a Thursday night, and continued reading well past my "school night" bed time. Armed with a pencil, I made sure to fill out every question phrased in the book carefully, associating it with the lesson that had just been laid out for me in the previous chapter. I arose the next day and headed to work, a source of stress for the 3 years I had worked there, and looked at my co-workers and myself in a much different light. The concept of the book is that, in life, we all dump on others and they dump on us. Pollay uses his personal experiences as well as psychological studies within these pages to highlight this idea, encouraging the reader to let other "garbage trucks" pass them by. It also gives ways for the reader to stop being a garbage truck themselves. Empowerment is the name of Pollay's game, and his desire is to change the world, one positive person at a time. I reached an epiphany at the end of the book. I realized that what I had for years called "being honest" and "wearing my heart on my sleeve" had really been a way for me to unload and vent my problems to others, allowing them to pick up the load for me so I could have the momentary relief until the next negative moment in my life occurred, and the cycle would begin again. I stopped getting upset when the driver behind me sped around me and cut me off. I realized that forgiveness and acceptance were far better tools than anger and vengeance. David J. Pollay is a fantastic writer, who uses wit and just plain talk to get across this potent message. I recommend that everyone read this book...for the betterment of themselves, and our society/world as a whole. We've been waiting for this voice for years...it's time we listened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    THIS INSPIRED STORY PACKS A WALLOP

    It's clear to me that when the "Law of the Garbage Truck" author hopped into that cab in New York City around twenty years ago, never in his wildest dreams did he imagine the major changes that experience would bring to his life - or that there was suddenly potential to greatly improve the lives of thousands of others around the world.
    I was so excited to learn the author would be reading the book personally. I have heard him give speeches and seminars, and he's as brilliant at talking to people as he is at writing.
    I really love the easy to follow format of this book, and that you can, on your own schedule, absorb the meaty contents, one idea at a time.
    It's so good to be able to reinforce the message listening while in a car, running, or walking, or relaxing at home.
    What struck me about Pollay's message, and impacted my life most is - I no longer have to buy into negative experiences at all! I can train myself with the principles in this book to not take the bad stuff personally, and have no need to spread it either. This is such a huge relief from former ways to handle ordinary daily life.
    "The Law of the Garbage Truck" has so much original thought, and is useful to anyone willing to take the lessons to heart and apply them.
    I suspect a major wave of goodness around the world can and will result from this project, in print and as an audio tool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4