Customer Reviews for

Lawn Boy (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

LAWN BOY provides some quick entertainment. It's a very manageable read at less than 90 pages. Readers are treated to quite a few laughs and a little business education.

The main character is a 12-year-old boy. His grandmother gives him a riding lawn mower for...
LAWN BOY provides some quick entertainment. It's a very manageable read at less than 90 pages. Readers are treated to quite a few laughs and a little business education.

The main character is a 12-year-old boy. His grandmother gives him a riding lawn mower for his birthday. She says it was his late grandfather's mower. Miracle of all miracles, the thing actually works, and he sets about mowing their pitiful excuse for a yard.

When he finishes the yard, a neighbor wonders if he can get his own lawn mowed. Soon he's mowing for the whole neighborhood. In a few short days, he has over three hundred dollars stuffed in his pockets.

Arnold, a stay-at-home stockbroker, would like his lawn mowed; but he admits to being short on cash. He offers a deal - mow his lawn and he'll invest the cost of the mowing in the stock market and hopefully increase the investment. Boy, does he!

Before he knows it, he has a growing business and more money than he can even imagine. He has a stock portfolio that would be the envy of any businessperson. And just think, his only dream at the start of the summer was to have enough to afford a new inner tube for his bike tire.

The problem now is how do you break it to your parents that in five short weeks you have tons of money? Will they believe you?

Gary Paulsen has done it yet again. His die-hard fans will like the story, and reluctant readers will find it a quick and satisfying read. It's also a terrific read-aloud that will have them laughing and teach them a little about capitalism in the bargain.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Scrubseason

I absolutely hated this book! The chapter names were so advanced and perplexing and then the actual text was BORING! I read it in an hour, deciding to suffer through it all at once so I could spare myself the rest of the summer! The book didn't even include Lawn boy'...
I absolutely hated this book! The chapter names were so advanced and perplexing and then the actual text was BORING! I read it in an hour, deciding to suffer through it all at once so I could spare myself the rest of the summer! The book didn't even include Lawn boy's first name, or last name. Since it was a summer read book, it was required, but still most people decided to blow it off after reading the first chapter. Plus whenever we refered to the main character in our essays, we had to write lawn boy or the protagonist. Our teachers didn't like that. I apologize to the author and readers who enjoyed this book. This is my opinion and I respect the book fully.

posted by Anonymous on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    LAWN BOY provides some quick entertainment. It's a very manageable read at less than 90 pages. Readers are treated to quite a few laughs and a little business education. <BR/><BR/>The main character is a 12-year-old boy. His grandmother gives him a riding lawn mower for his birthday. She says it was his late grandfather's mower. Miracle of all miracles, the thing actually works, and he sets about mowing their pitiful excuse for a yard. <BR/><BR/>When he finishes the yard, a neighbor wonders if he can get his own lawn mowed. Soon he's mowing for the whole neighborhood. In a few short days, he has over three hundred dollars stuffed in his pockets. <BR/><BR/>Arnold, a stay-at-home stockbroker, would like his lawn mowed; but he admits to being short on cash. He offers a deal - mow his lawn and he'll invest the cost of the mowing in the stock market and hopefully increase the investment. Boy, does he! <BR/><BR/>Before he knows it, he has a growing business and more money than he can even imagine. He has a stock portfolio that would be the envy of any businessperson. And just think, his only dream at the start of the summer was to have enough to afford a new inner tube for his bike tire. <BR/><BR/>The problem now is how do you break it to your parents that in five short weeks you have tons of money? Will they believe you? <BR/><BR/>Gary Paulsen has done it yet again. His die-hard fans will like the story, and reluctant readers will find it a quick and satisfying read. It's also a terrific read-aloud that will have them laughing and teach them a little about capitalism in the bargain.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Scrubseason

    I absolutely hated this book! The chapter names were so advanced and perplexing and then the actual text was BORING! I read it in an hour, deciding to suffer through it all at once so I could spare myself the rest of the summer! The book didn't even include Lawn boy's first name, or last name. Since it was a summer read book, it was required, but still most people decided to blow it off after reading the first chapter. Plus whenever we refered to the main character in our essays, we had to write lawn boy or the protagonist. Our teachers didn't like that. I apologize to the author and readers who enjoyed this book. This is my opinion and I respect the book fully.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    The best book ever!

    The book, Lawn Boy, by Gary Paulsen begins when a boy gets a lawn mower for his 12th birthday. One lawn leads to another and before he knew it he had his own lawn business. He teams up with others to expand his business. He even enlists a stock broker named Arnold who helps him find new riches other than mowing lawns. Before he knows it he is sponsoring a prize fighter who will bring more riches to the boy and his family. This boy really knows how to turn piles of grass into a mound of cash. He learns the real value of his grandfathers words: "take care of your tools and they will take care of you".
    A great book with great lessons. I recommend this book to any kid who has ever dreamed of starting their own business.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2009

    BN Lawn Boy (Paperback) & ITunes Lawn Boy Audiobook-MP3 by Gary Paulsen

    Economics is theme topic for this book. Excellent idea to promote savings & investments w/children. Outstanding money-management story for children and adults.

    On recent road trip, used both BN Lawn Boy (Paperback) w/Lawn Boy I-Tunes Audiobook-MP3 for 7th grade female student passenger.

    Although initially resistant priding herself on ability to read alone, she became quickly absorbed with audio/visual following along w/BN (Paperback) while listening to Audiobook on IPod w/car stereo speakers. As driver, I was able to listen to Audiobook while driving.

    A tribute to Lawn Boy was capturing our interest w/characters and story. Although we didn't finish the book together on trip, 7th grade student stuffed the paperback in her new Hollister tote bag and finished reading the book alone at grandma's house. I finished listening to the Audiobook on IPod.

    Recommendations: BN Lawn Boy (Paperback) & Lawn Boy Audiobook-MP3

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    Great Fast Read

    Fast-paced, easy read, full of voice with great characterization. This would be a neat book to read with a class when teaching about economics or just for fun - maybe on those last few days of school before summer break.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    The best book i ever read

    The best book i have ever read is because of winn-dixie

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    Good book for young readers.

    This is a good book for young readers.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    Interesting Read

    One day a twelve year old boy gets a lawn mower from his grandmother for his birthday. It belonged to his grandfather who said ¿take care of your tools and they will take care of you.¿ Little did he know what that would entail. He begins mowing lawns within his neighborhood and then before he realizes it, his business has expanded. He meets Arnold, a stockbroker, who then becomes not only his business investor, but a friend as well. In the end, not only does he sponsor a prize-fighter, have a stockbroker, employed several people in his ever expanding business, have close to five-hundred thousand dollars, and the summer isn¿t over! Gary Paulsen¿s story has many entrepreneurship lessons to be learned in this suspenseful and entertaining book. I highly recommend this for kids ages 9-13.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    A good book

    A summer job is something that is getting you 50 dollars or less but not for this kid. Gary Paulsen¿s heartwarming and hilarious new book Lawn Boy is about a determined, hard working kid who lives in a poor family without much money. When he gets his grandfather¿s old lawn mower on his 12th birthday, he starts a summer job to make some money. Suddenly he is getting much more money than he thought would, and starts a business with a neighbor. When people resort to violence to stop the business it looks like it is the last of it, or is it¿ This book is a great for realistic fiction book lovers people that like funny books, and fans of Gray Paulsen¿s books. This book is definitely another well-written book from the award-winning author Gary Paulsen.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    a great book for 12 year old lawn mowers

    The Lawn Boy is a great book about how a 12 year old boy, who mows a few lawns for the summer, and turns into a multi-millionaire. With the help of a stockbroker named Arnold, the Lawn Boy builds a huge lawn mowing business. He gets workers and even sponsors a pro boxer. I would recommend this 188 page book for students from ages of 9 to 14. I give this hilarious book, two thumbs up. So if you¿re between the ages of 9 and 14, or even a little older or younger, you should get this book By jacob

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    LAWN BOY provides some quick entertainment. It¿s a very manageable read at less than 90 pages. Readers are treated to quite a few laughs and a little business education. The main character is a 12-year-old boy. His grandmother gives him a riding lawn mower for his birthday. She says it was his late grandfather¿s mower. Miracle of all miracles, the thing actually works, and he sets about mowing their pitiful excuse for a yard. When he finishes the yard, a neighbor wonders if he can get his own lawn mowed. Soon he¿s mowing for the whole neighborhood. In a few short days, he has over three hundred dollars stuffed in his pockets. Arnold, a stay-at-home stockbroker, would like his lawn mowed but he admits to being short on cash. He offers a deal - mow his lawn and he'll invest the cost of the mowing in the stock market and hopefully increase the investment. Boy, does he! Before he knows it, he has a growing business and more money than he can even imagine. He has a stock portfolio that would be the envy of any businessperson. And just think, his only dream at the start of the summer was to have enough to afford a new inner tube for his bike tire. The problem now is how do you break it to your parents that in five short weeks you have tons of money? Will they believe you? Gary Paulsen has done it yet again. His die-hard fans will like the story, and reluctant readers will find it a quick and satisfying read. It's also a terrific read-aloud that will have them laughing and teach them a little about capitalism in the bargain. **Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka 'Readingjunky'

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Excellent book

    I overall thought that this was a great book! I read this book for school this year, and it reads well. It is easy to do book reports on, and the plot is simple, but the main character has some unexpected twists as he tries to earn money. One this I noticed was that the characters did not have very much depth. The only character that I could imagine meeting was Joseph Powdermilk. Even the main character did not show much emotion. Also, the climax of the story (the internal/external change) was not clear. I think that the author could have expanded more on the connection between the boy and the lawnmower. I think a good thing while reading this book is to have a dictionary or something next to you because some paragraphs can get a little... confusing. WARNING: very short book. Do not buy if a) you are a fast reader, b) you enjoy complex, long books, c) if you like to be able to connect with these characters, or d) all of the above. If you have checked off any of these, do not buy this book, as you will be dissapointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Great but shprt

    This was a very good book. It is great for introducing econimics to teens. Hoowever i felt it was too short for five dollars. If lawn boy 2 was included, then maybe it would be worth it. Despite this, it was a great book. Maybe it was just that i read it too fast-in a half hour or so!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Amazing

    It can be a bit confusing if you dont understand stock and gross income (that is me!) But that adds to the plot because lawn boy is 12 and has no clue about these things either!!!!! other then that......AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Short, quick and funny, my boy loved it!

    Paulsen's books are great! My sons are dyslexic, these books have been such motivation encouragement my youngest has gone from the lower 5% to the upper 97% in reading in just 1 semester, Thanks Gary!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    How is this book?

    Frenchwoman on Frozen result 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    The lawnboy

    It is a good book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    The worst book ever

    Terrible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Would rather die than read this

    Worst book in the world yeah he gets rich but for no reason

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Eh

    This book wasn't that good. It is not good for grades 2 and below because they would not understand the stocks and market stuff. It is too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9