Customer Reviews for

Le Divorce

Average Rating 3
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

i thought it was great

i read it a year ago and when i saw so many negative reviews i had to say something. reading it made me want to go to paris and be that american in paris just trying to blend in. the affair i thought was beautiful and realistic. i dont know how anyone could have found i...
i read it a year ago and when i saw so many negative reviews i had to say something. reading it made me want to go to paris and be that american in paris just trying to blend in. the affair i thought was beautiful and realistic. i dont know how anyone could have found it confusing or horrible or whatever because i thought it completely made the book as wonderful as i thought it was. it was sexy and timid and unsure and just real. all the dillemas between the french and american controversies i thought were really interesting. love in paris. how could anyone say no?

posted by Anonymous on October 4, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Absolument horrible!!!

I can't believe how much I disliked this book. I was prepared to like it, since I'm a huge Francophile, but this was just terrible. Isabel, the narrator, was completely unsympathetic. I couldn't care about her, and the only emotion that she evoked from me was derisio...
I can't believe how much I disliked this book. I was prepared to like it, since I'm a huge Francophile, but this was just terrible. Isabel, the narrator, was completely unsympathetic. I couldn't care about her, and the only emotion that she evoked from me was derision. Her level of intelligence was not at all consistent, and I have a hard time believing that a person who had gotten into as many scrapes as Isabel had in her lifetime would continue to be so relentlessly naive. I couldn't understand anyone's motivation, and pretty much all of the characters seemed rather dull to me. I would recommend this book only if you are determined to punish yourself or somebody else for some large sin and need the proper vehicle for penance. Otherwise, avoid this book at all costs.

posted by Anonymous on November 16, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2003

    Eye catching, but not worth your time

    The novel is interesting with respect to Paris and plot ideas, however, it is a very slow read. Without doubt, Diane Johnson is a great writer but the story could have been told in half the time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    Boring

    I thought this was going to be a great book. I was wrong. It was so slow and the characters were all awful. I barely finished the book. About halfway through I just started skimming pages to see how the book ended. A waste of my time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    disappointed beyond belief

    I picked up this book thinking that if it had been made into a movie then it had to be good. I couldn't stand the thing. The characters seemed selfish and naive. Isabel's affair disgusted me beyond words. I was constantly going back to paragraphs trying to figure out what they said. I'll never recommend this book or this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    Highly disappointed

    I was eager to get this book hoping that the plot line set in Paris would be a fun escape. I was hoping to get a bit of the French atmosphere and have a fun read. While I found the writing to be a bit tedious at times, some parts were okay but overall I never felt involved with any of the characters. And the ending was a major disappointment. It made no sense and seemed to me that the author knew that this was going to be a movie and so threw some wild Hollywood ending in there. Don't bother. If you want something fun, read one of Jane Green's books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2003

    WAS IT WORTH READING?

    I was looking forward to enjoying this book when I saw a teaser for the upcoming Kate Hudson movie. The book doesn't let you get very close to the characters and then proceeds to drag in the middle. I found the whole American in Paris idea interesting but with more character development the plot wouldn't seem to be so rushed at the end to wrap up the family and financial crisis. I felt let down when I could have skipped the middle 100 pages and just read the last 50 to see how everything ended up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    Not worth the read

    I am going to sound like a borken record but I thought this book was going to be wonderful! But I had a hard time even getting past page 100 because I found it boring. I didn't like the Characters and I am very dissapointed that I didn't enjoy the book as much as I thought I would.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    Don't Bother

    I too thought it would be enjoyable to read the book before it reached the theaters. The story line had no rising climax, and the plot seemed to jump around. As the reader, I never could tell what the main focus was. Furthermore, there was so much French in the story line and dialouge that at times it was hard to really grasp what was actually being said. Don't pick up this book unless you've had a crash course in French I, or a French to English dictionary close at hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1