Customer Reviews for

Leadership

Average Rating 4.5
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    This book deserves 50 stars

    An excellent example of what comes from caring parents and hard work. His methods for running an organization are clearly superb. His feelings and love for his Country, his beloved New York City and fellow human beings are above superb. I'm proud to say I own three copies of this book. My daughter bought me an autographed copy, my wife and I purchased the second to read, then when I learned that all the proceeds from the leather bound edition were going to the Twin Tower's fund, I bought the third. It is not just how to run a business but more importantly how to be an American. I'm very pleased we both are.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    "Leadership" Advice Applies to Teaching as Well as Politics and Business

    Although I can't afford the leatherbound edition, I truly enjoyed reading Leadership, because what Giuliani says about leadership in politics and business applies as well to teaching. A strong leader/teacher can make or break a class, and most of us in the profession have learned that we are not the sages with all the answers; rather, we are the guides who have the capacity to inspire and direct. Like the leader in politics or business, the teacher makes it a point to know his "team," to capitalize on their strengths, support their weaknesses, and encourage them always to do their personal best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    Exceptional

    'After September 11th, my belief that leadership matters-that who is chosen to lead and how he or she does so truly makes a difference-only deepened.' With those words, Rudy Giuliani concludes this marvelously written sparkler that entertains, guides and informs from beginning to end. When I read a book I love, I am often saddened when I finish it, because it means I have to say goodbye to the world I have entered. That is the case with 'Leadership' as it takes you inside Giuliani's governing style, and impresses you with its common sense logic, such as getting everything in writing when dealing with someone you're not sure if you can trust. Giuliani and Ken Kurson make you feel like you're sitting by the fire with Rudy drinking coffee as he relates story after story in such an effective way that you can actually hear Giuliani's voice as if he is speaking aloud. As he tells you how he reduced the crime rate in NY with CompStat, his years in the U.S. Justice Department, the lessons he learned from Ronald Reagan, his love of the NY Yankees, his formation of the Administration for Children's Services, his fight against organized crime, his management structure, his battle with prostate cancer which was a true education for me, and finally the way he handled the horror and tragedy of 9/11, it is clear what a great President of the United States he would be. Those who would like to know what kind of President Giuliani would be, should pick up this book and get inside the head of a man who knows how to transform a governing culture. Full of great management advice for anyone in politics and any area of business, Giuliani offers what I feel are the three main philosophies that any great leader has to have. 1) You have to mean what you say and say what you mean. You can't say one thing and do another. Any leader is only as good as their word. 2) The advantage of doing it the right way instead of the expedient way also happens to be the only way to get the desired results. 3) People sometimes dismiss corruption as inevitable, but their cynicism is frequently a response to the weakness among leaders to challenge corruption. I can't recommend 'Leadership' and Rudy Giuliani highly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    Rudy, not just a great Mayor/Leader, but a Great Person and a Great Writer

    I started reading this book from a Library and then fell in love so much that am buying this book. This book is just good for everyone and no doubt esp for persons who are involved in Govt works. And this book also shows why NY is NY, esp after Rudy's successful years of Mayorship. I wish him all the best in his life. I recommend this book to be read by all and yes also by all the budding Politicians/Administrators of all the cities of this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    Giuliani is well worth hearing from

    You can't underestimate Giuliani's achievements and this audiobook does a great job of documenting them. You can see from early on that Giuliani had what it takes to be a hero. What's particularly interesting are the number of times he did things that would obviously make enemies for him and would not always be looked at kindly. He has the courage of his convictions though and that's that great lesson from this book. Stick to your guns. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that he doesn't share any wisdom that is out of the ordinary. You'll find most of his suggestions in other books. The difference is in seeing that they are winning strategies though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2002

    A great read for anyone wanting to improve themselves personally and professionally

    Mayor Giuliani's book is great! His leadership both pre and post September 11th has always been exemplary. Although the book was written from a business standpoint, I think anyone with a desire to improve themselves personally and or professionally will benifit from the Mayor's insight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1