Customer Reviews for

Leadership Without Easy Answers

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book paints with broad strokes and illustrates principles o

    This book paints with broad strokes and illustrates principles of leadership with surprising detail. This is an impressive accomplishment.

    I found the author’s analysis of three different types of leadership situations very useful:

    Situation Problem definition Solution and implementation Primary locus of responsibility for the work Kind of work
    Type I         Clear                         Clear                                         Expert                                                                 Technical
    Type II         Clear                         Requires learning                 Expert and individual                                         Technical and adaptive
    Type III         Requires learning Requires learning                 Individual > expert                                         Adaptive

    Dr. Heifetz’s distinction between technical and adaptive leadership behaviors is also extremely insightful:

    Social function          Technical problem                                                  Adaptive problem
    Direction                  Expert provides problem definition and solution  Expert identifies the adaptive challenge, provides diagnosis of condition, and produces questions about problem definitions and solutions
    Protection                  Expert protects from external threat                  Expert discloses external threat
    Role orientation          Expert orients                                                          Expert disorients current roles, or resists pressure to orient people in new roles too quickly
    Controlling conflict  Expert restores order                                                  Expert exposes conflict, or lets it emerge
    Norm maintenance  Expert maintains norms                                          Expert challenges norms, or allows them to be challenged

    The author then suggests the following elements of effective leadership:

    identifying the adaptive challenge
    keeping distress within a productive range
    directing attention to ripening issues and not diversions
    giving the work back to the people
    protecting voices of leadership in the community

    Finally, Dr. Heifetz provides the leader seven steps to handling the burden of leadership:

    get on the balcony
    distinguish self from role
    externalize the conflict
    use partners
    listen, using oneself as data
    find a sanctuary
    preserve a sense of purpose

    It is this final point, leading from a strong sense of the importance of the work, that begins and ends the author’s thesis and analysis.

    Without purpose, it is impossible to judge the value and effectiveness of a leader’s work.

    Although this book was dense and difficult to get through, I highly recommend it. It is deep and wide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    ZWt f uazbyo

    Ur wvmm
    Jlf n,.
    Iorul

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Classic manual about leadership's complexity

    This book provides a discussion of just how complicated leadership is and how challenging it can be to lead in a responsible, ethical fashion. Ronald A. Heifetz analyzes a number of leaders who faced not just crises, but transformational situations. As the book's title promises, Heifetz doesn't take shortcuts; he carefully looks at the complexities that leadership, power and authority involve. His examples range from Mohandas Gandhi and Martin Luther King Jr. to former U.S. president Lyndon B. Johnson to Adolf Hitler. To make his point, he uses metaphors from biology, music and the military and draws lessons from history. getAbstract recommends this thoughtful look at leadership to all serious students of the topic. It will force you to reject the easy, superficial answers that make up so much of leadership literature. In their place, Heifetz offers approaches for observing contexts, balancing various factors and monitoring growth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The definitive text on Leadership

    This is a great book. However, like a H. William Dettmer book, this is anything but easy to read! My brain hurts after reading "Leadership" for just a few minutes.

    Heifetz was talking about the mixed views in society on page 35, when I first noticed his reference to "vantage points". I would suggest that it is more profound in business organizations. Like the Hammer and Nail analogy (when the only tool you own is a hammer, everything looks like a nail!), if you are in Customer Support and the business is losing market share (or worse), your vantage point suggests that paying more attention to the customer and their problems must be the answer to turning the business around.

    Wrong. But it is important.

    Until I could experience the challenges of a broken business from multiple orientations, I was not very effective. Just one example from the book: Heifetz dissected President Johnson's (LBJ) successful leadership on the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and in doing so, alerted me to a phenomenon that had never occurred to me: LBJ authored no vision of his own in this matter.

    This text defines a most thorough framework for leadership. So completely that it has become my defacto standard in this matter. All other books pale in comparison.

    It is that profound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2002

    Tangible Guidance

    We are inclined to attribute our problems to our politicians and executives, as if they were the cause of them. We are scapegoating people in authority for their inability to quickly fix our problem without bothering us or involving us into the solution of our problems. Instead of looking for saviors, we should be calling for leadership that will challenge us to face problems for which there are no simple, painless solutions -- problems that require us to learn new ways. We have many such problems: uncompetitive industry, terrorism, drug abuse, poverty, poor public education, environment hazards, and obstacles to constructive foreign and domestic relations. People in authority cannot quickly resolve such problems as terrorism. They can rather give us a feeling of satisfaction by skillfully applying ready technical means: bombing known terrorists' camps in Afghanistan or applying "sleeping gas" and elite soldiers onto the guerillas in the "Nord Ost" theater in Moscow. But this is only cutting the symptoms, this is not enough to solve the problem with the deep roots. The whole world should be mobilized to work on this issues, and when every child on the world will be born in the atmosphere of happiness and freedom, in a society that encourages intellectual growth and humility rather than fanatism and bomb-suicide as a goal of the life -- then and only then we can consider terrorism is eliminated. Mr. Heifets provides tangible guidance for a leader to solve complex issues without risk to be scapegoated or assassinated. This book is a good manual without easy answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2002

    No Easy Answers - But Case Studies that Mentor

    Ron Heifetz Leadership Without Easty answers provides insight and encouragement for the journey - the journey of all those who hope to 'make a difference' through social action and social change. He reminds us that politics is never 'pure' or 'ideal' and is is selcom effective if it is. But clear goals, values clarified and effective use of political compromise can move us forward - in the desired direction. How I wish this book was standard reading for government leaders and those trying to negotiate peace in so many of the world's troubled war zones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2001

    One of the Best!

    As a holder of a Doctorate in leadership I am very critical of the usually poor and narrow quality of the books and articles written on leadership. Mr. Heifetz has written one of the best books on leadership that has been published in the past ten years. He is clear and on what the challenges of leadership are. His insights are based largely on research not on opinion or fads. If you are a student of leadership this should be one of your main sources of information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2001

    Leadership for a New Age

    While Mr. Heifetz correctly identifies the problem of leadership today as too 'leader focused,' he does not convey his thought in simple, succint language. The narrow use of illustrative material from the 1960's demonstrates a somewhat liberal bias. The scientific viewpoint from which the book is written makes it an extremely hard read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1