BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Leading with the Heart: Coach K's Successful Strategies for Basketball, Business, and Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    This book gives a very insightful view on one┬┐s own experiences

    This book gives a very insightful view on one’s own experiences with leadership. Coach K’s experiences can be related to instances in our own lives and he shares personal details on how he responds to situations. This makes the reader feel very welcome and I know I certainly was. Coach K invites others to take up roles in leadership and gives encouragement along the way. It’s a great book for people who hope to get more out of life and to help others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Highly Recommnended

    What an excellent book for coaches and business executives. You could use these principles in every day life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Amazing book!!!! Definitely for Duke fans, basketball fans and really anyone

    I'm not really a non-fiction reader but this was great! One of the best books i have ever read! Definitely a must-read. Two thumbs up!!
    (\__/)
    (>'.'<)
    c((")_(") even bunny loved it!

    ~ =D smile! ~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    Must Have...

    This book is a must have for any leader. Coach K uses stories from his famed career as well as stories from outside the basketball world to create his vision of leadership. I find myself going back to this book over and over to stregthen my leadership style.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    Spirit First Success Follows: Winning the most and best through playing for the team and not strictly for the win!,

    Susanne Cardwell is the wholehearted advocate of the spiritual views of Kirby Thibeault, author of Wealth ==== Leading with the Heart: Coach K`s Successful Strategies for Baseketball, Business, and Life by Mike Krzyzewski (Coach K) and Donald T. Phillips provides provocative, real-life anecdotes that capture the meaning of the spirit of winning for the team. Coach K shows that through the spirit of playing FOR the team - and not strictly for the win -- and with the spirit of those who can be considered 'the HEARTS of the TEAM,' possibilities become boundless. ==== It's not the win that defines success. It's the spirit first, through which the success follows. Sometimes the team stumbles and sometimes the team loses. Every team and every human being goes through these trials and tribulations. What defines the spirit of success, as taught to me by Kirby Thibeault, author of a book of inspirational poetry titled Wealth, and reflected in the teachings of Coach K, is the ability to overcome psychological obstacles, to see and strive for the most positive possibilities, to never give up, to look outside the 'box,' to look within, and to discover the true meaning of winning. ==== Kirby Thibeault, author of Wealth, expresses a similar perspective in his forward titled 'Wealth' when he writes 'It's realization is like that of the discovery of the divine. All that was unknown and limiting becomes clear and liberating. What was once feared becomes friendly.... It's an awakening of the spirit.' ==== Coach K delivers tips that help define the winning attitude in teams, in leadership roles, in success, in defeat, in life, and in considerations of humanity and love.' ==== Susanne Cardwell, owner/operator of Advert Marketing Solutions and avid supporter of the spiritual views of Kirby Thibeault, author of book Wealth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2004

    Leadership is built from the ground up.

    This is one of the finest books on leadership I have read. Coach K arrived at Duke and built a winner based on 'tradition' and 'trust.' His roadmap should be a guideline for all who want to be successful leaders in any phase of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2002

    This book applies to everything

    This is an excellent book on leadership written by someone who really knows the subject! After reading this book, you really understand why Coach K and Duke have been so successful-he know that it's the people who matter the most. Whether you are already in a leadership position or preparing yourself for a leadership position, READ THIS BOOK AND APPLY IT. You and the people around you will glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2000

    Heart warming!

    I had tears in my eyes after I read this book. Coach K ranks higher on my list of role models than anyone else (including Michael Jordan). He taught me so much in this book that I have a completely different view on life, and now have a great relationship with my parents. Anyone in any stage of their life should read this book. Because of his words he made me realize how good of a basketball player I am and how much better of a person I can be. I went from 4 points, 1 rebound, and 1 block a game to scoring 13 points, 5 rebounds, and 2 blocks a game. And for the first time in a long time I am truly happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    A must read for self evaluating your leadership qualities!

    I really enjoyed the way Coach K related his leadership as a basketball coach to that of a business leader. Effective management relies on the leader to be flexible and understand situations that require different management techniques. This book helps illustrate that philosophy. In addition, it really helps one to understand the importance of not dwelling on the negative, but on how to turn that negative into a positive...for the entire team's sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2000

    Yes!

    Coach K's entires succes hinges on believing in what you're doing. When his team was trailing by 1 point with 2.1 seconds left in overtime of the 1992 East Regional final, he took them into a huddle and said, 'The first thing is we're going to win. And here's how we're going to do it.' That, it in a nutshell, is this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2000

    It is the best book i ever read yet period!!!

    Leading with the heart is a wonderful book It not only teaches you basketball but life iwould recommend it to anyone!- period!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    An inspirational book for all and esp. for hoop fans

    I wanted this book because I love Coach K but I found it absolutely riveting because of the way he wove in stories about players he has coached with realistic lessons about life and motivation. To my surprise, I stayed up until 1 am to finish it and I would never normally read a book on leadership. I would recommend this to almost anyone as it provides advice on working in groups and how to inspire others to work as a team. Coach K emphasizes treating people as individuals, since no one approach works on everyone. He comes across as a very caring individual who makes his players part of his own close-knit family. Go Duke!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1