Customer Reviews for

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Volume 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    LXG

    My name is Emily and i have gotten the novel or comic book what ever you like to call it and have read it the same day i got it, i lvoed it and plan to get the second volume of this novel. i am 15 years old so i dont think anyone will listen to me but i have the understanding of someone much older and take this novel and spend the day reading it, you wont be able to forget the people: A drug lover , alan quiatermain. the Jittery scientist Jekyll, the mad-man Nemo the unknown vampire Mina harker/murry and the Invisible man Hawley Griffin/Rodney Skinner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great book by Alan Moore

    Anyone who likes Watchmen yet wants to try out something a bit different should check out TLEG. The quality/detail of the drawings coupled with the wit of Alan Moore makes for a great read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The League of Extra­or­di­nary Gen­tle­men, Vol. 1 by Alan Moore

    The League of Extra­or­di­nary Gen­tle­men, Vol. 1 by Alan Moore is a graphic novel col­lect­ing issue from the first run of this pop­u­lar series. A movie by the same title was made in 2003, how­ever don’t let that turn you off from read­ing this won­der­ful rendition.

    Cam­pion Bond, Direc­tor of England’s Intel­li­gence ser­vice — MI5, has recruited a team of inven­tors, sci­en­tists, spies and adven­tur­ers who are known for being able to get their job done no mat­ter what. This team con­sists of Mina Mur­ray from Bram Stoker's Drac­ula, Allan Quater­main pro­tag­o­nist of H. Rider Haggard's series from the late 19th Cen­tury, Cap­tain Nemo of Jules Verne’s 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, Henry Jekyll and Edward Hyde of the Scot­tish author Robert Louis Stevenson’s famed hor­ror novel, as well as HG Well's invis­i­ble man, Haw­ley Griffin.

    The team is ordered to recover an anti-gravity com­pound, Cavorite – invented by physi­cist Mr. Cavor (from H.G. Wells’ The First Men in the Moon) before the noto­ri­ous Dr. Fu Manchu (intro­duced in a series by Sax Rohmer dur­ing the first half of the 20th cen­tury) can get his hands on it and attack Lon­don from the air.

    The League of Extra­or­di­nary Gen­tle­men, Vol. 1 by Alan Moore brings in a bunch of famous fic­tional char­ac­ters, writ­ten by dif­fer­ent authors, to a steam­punk adven­ture which spans lit­er­a­ture and imag­i­na­tion. The story revolves around sev­eral famous Vic­to­rian char­ac­ters which serve as a won­der­ful intro­duc­tion to their sto­ries and authors.

    The graphic novel is illus­trated with skill and tal­ent, every panel has an aim and is wor­thy of close exam­i­na­tion. Every panel is aimed at the reader who, with some knowl­edge of the clas­sics, can appre­ci­ate the humor and genius behind the lines and words.

    The char­ac­ters which Mr. Moore “bor­rowed” are full of life and rel­e­vant despite their Vic­to­rian ori­gins. While the main cast (The League) gets the major­ity of the pan­els, there are many more lit­er­ary char­ac­ters hid­den within the novel, hunt­ing for them was a major part of the fun in read­ing this work. The story, together with the art, can be read as a very com­plex novel which is prob­a­bly the rea­son it was not done jus­tice being trans­lated to the big screen.

    This graphic novel is full of vio­lence, blood, death and sex­ual sit­u­a­tions and innu­en­dos, that is not a bad thing, but let the informed buyer beware. Kevin O’Neill’s mag­nif­i­cent art com­pli­ments and enhances Mr. Moore’s sto­ry­telling. The imag­i­na­tive pan­els of Mr. O’Neill breathe life into old favorites, you will never read those same clas­sics again in the same way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Thrilling Read!

    I am used to reading B/W graphic novels, So the color format was something new for me. I loved how the story panned out though history. It was very true to life as far as I know. I highly recomend getting this one if you are into comic type thrillers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    The first volume of a remarkable series, traversing an entangled

    The first volume of a remarkable series, traversing an entangled alternative universe of popular culture so complex that it borders the overwhelming.  It is a pleasure to reread (really soak up the details), and a definite must either for fans of Victorian literature or the graphic novel.  

    And it's nice to add, nothing at all like the film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    Never before have I laughed so hard at a graphic novel before. Alan Moore shows his capacity for remembering details of classic fiction and his ability to blend them together in a seamlessly constructed action and adventure story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Suppliment to The Original Texts

    This is a great graphic novel and spurned the movie of several years ago. It is a wonderful foray into a different, exotic world that many have forgotten and the author, illustrator and team allow us to see. This is steampunk at its best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    GOOD!

    The book was great but it did have a lot of violance but it still was an awsome book. I highly recomend it. Especially iy you like Dracula, 20,000 leagues under the sea, the strange case of dr.jeykll and mr.hyde, the invisible man and Alan Quatormain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    What is this? This isn't a book!

    The main character was not Mina. The Mina from Dracula was much, much different. The whole books seemed like a piece of FanFiction, and Mina was excessively OOC. 'Out of Character' There was so much blood and violence that it made me sick. There were also times when the characters spoke in different languages, which confused me, since I don't read/speak Arabic. The violence, nudity, and racism were awful. Spare yourself. Don't read this. Watch the movie. It was actually very good.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2004

    the league of extaordinary gentlemen

    As a fan of Victorian age literature and comic books, this graphic novel falls directly under the category. It was one of the best I've read yet. yet it lacked one of my favorite characters Sherlock Holmes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    Great Comic Book/Opens your eyes!!

    I'm a huge comic book fan I have been since I could read.I loved(And still do)the characters who maybe in the story somebody died by accident and well tough luck,but in this book we got killing,drugs,lots of bad stuff!That's what make's it so great The characters are great the story is great EVERYTHING is great!!It's not for little kids but for adults(and some teens)it's an Awsome Read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    Disturbing, yet oddly interesting

    This book is hard to put down. You will read it even as you curl your lip up in revulsion at the actions of some of the characters. It's images will disturb you, but there is just something about the book that will make you read it again. The book stays very true to the original characters of the literary world. It is nothing like the movie version, which is a children's fairy tale in comparison. The book forces us to see things as they would be, if there had been super-heroes in the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    Literary mayhem

    I hate violence. So why, why, why do I LOVE this book? I love it because it has some of the greatest literary characters of the Victorian age meeting each other, while remaining true to their original natures. There is humor and sly satire, and great imagination. I am now eagerly awaiting Vol. 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2002

    Brilliant! Simply Brilliant.

    Take the characters of Jules Verne, Robert Louis Stevenson, Bram Stoker, Edgar Allen Poe, Arthur Conan Doyle and H. G. Wells roll them up and have them told by one of the darker graphic novelists and you have The League of Extrodinary Gentlemen. Run - do not walk - to either your comic book shop or look on the web for it. This graphic novel, actually a collection of a six issue limited series, takes place at the tale end of the 19th century. The English Government has need of a special force to be headed by the mysterious Wilemina Murray. She is charged by a man who goes by the initial "M" with assembling the legends of that era: Captain Nemo, Alan Quatermain, Dr. Henry Jekyll (with Mr. Edward Hyde), and Hawley Griffin to make the League of Extrordinary Gentlemen. Alan Moore uses his dark wit to craft this thoroughly enjoyable and wonderfully worked out graphic novel in the tradition of The Watchmen and "V" for Vendetta. I can not recommend this highly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2002

    Tres Bien

    This comic is amazing, so amazing that I myself considerate it classic literature. There are all kinds of little adventures within this one big adventure as little by little each characters mysterious past is revieled. Read it oh please do!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    Fantastic

    I very much enjoyed this book. The story is quite interesting and the art is great. I gave it 4 stars because it relies on a few too many comic book cliches, but I suppose it has to acknowlege it's origins. I very much recommend this as a great book for a lazy summer weekend. You will surely return to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2001

    Steampunk at its finest

    The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen is an excellent fiction involving heroes from Victorian England and beyond. H. Rider Haggard, Bram Stoker, and Robert Louis Stevenson fans will see some old characters, among others, cast in a new light, almost impossibly joined by a mysterious quest. Great attention is given to period fiction and the art is at times breathtaking. If you know why to laugh at seeing Monsieur Dupin and Sherlock Holmes cast in the same book, this one is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2