Customer Reviews for

The Lean Belly Prescription: The fast and foolproof diet and weight-loss plan from America's top urgent-care doctor

Average Rating 3.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great Read! Love This Book!!!

I just picked up this book after watching Dr. Travis on "The Talk," and read it in one day! Contrary to Lemme14's review, I thought this book was great! It was such a fun read, and I LOVE the whole concept of picking which changes I want to make ("Pick Three to Lean."...
I just picked up this book after watching Dr. Travis on "The Talk," and read it in one day! Contrary to Lemme14's review, I thought this book was great! It was such a fun read, and I LOVE the whole concept of picking which changes I want to make ("Pick Three to Lean.") It is definitely not a "fad" diet. I get to keep eating my favorite foods (cheese-- yay!), but it puts the focus on healthy REAL foods (whole grains, veggies, fruits, and healthy fats.). In addition to the weight loss tips, I love the exercise plans, and sample menus. So flexible and simple! I have already brought it with me to the grocery store. I have been looking for something to help me lose the stubborn belly fat I've carried since having my second child, and this was the motivation I've needed. I recommend this book for anyone who has struggled to lose those extra lbs around the middle (or wants to know how to avoid it!)

posted by CharlieHale on February 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

I could have published this

I do not know the author. He might be a smart guy. I bought this book on a whim (poor choice #1), after seeing a review of it by Men's Health (poor choice #2) and thought I'd go ahead and purchase for myself with the other gifts for Christmas I was buying (poor choice...
I do not know the author. He might be a smart guy. I bought this book on a whim (poor choice #1), after seeing a review of it by Men's Health (poor choice #2) and thought I'd go ahead and purchase for myself with the other gifts for Christmas I was buying (poor choice #3). A quick summary (because that's about all it's worth). If you've been living in a cave for the past 10 years, you might find some useful information in here. However, if you know anything about nutrition (and I mean anything), you will not find anything new here. A quick Google will yield all the same information. Save the money. There is no new information in this book. I need this guys job.

posted by lemme14 on December 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I could have published this

    I do not know the author. He might be a smart guy. I bought this book on a whim (poor choice #1), after seeing a review of it by Men's Health (poor choice #2) and thought I'd go ahead and purchase for myself with the other gifts for Christmas I was buying (poor choice #3). A quick summary (because that's about all it's worth). If you've been living in a cave for the past 10 years, you might find some useful information in here. However, if you know anything about nutrition (and I mean anything), you will not find anything new here. A quick Google will yield all the same information. Save the money. There is no new information in this book. I need this guys job.

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    Great Read! Love This Book!!!

    I just picked up this book after watching Dr. Travis on "The Talk," and read it in one day! Contrary to Lemme14's review, I thought this book was great! It was such a fun read, and I LOVE the whole concept of picking which changes I want to make ("Pick Three to Lean.") It is definitely not a "fad" diet. I get to keep eating my favorite foods (cheese-- yay!), but it puts the focus on healthy REAL foods (whole grains, veggies, fruits, and healthy fats.). In addition to the weight loss tips, I love the exercise plans, and sample menus. So flexible and simple! I have already brought it with me to the grocery store. I have been looking for something to help me lose the stubborn belly fat I've carried since having my second child, and this was the motivation I've needed. I recommend this book for anyone who has struggled to lose those extra lbs around the middle (or wants to know how to avoid it!)

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Highly recommend!

    Informative, inspiring and an educational book which explains the "whys" and "what needs to be done" to achieve the desired results book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Highly Recommended - really you must check it out!!

    I'm a fan of the TV programme The Doctors. And as I was able to buy this book, I hurried to read it complete. And believe me, it is very useful if you want to lose weight, and live a healthier life.

    Dr. Travis knows a lot of things, and in this book he shares them with us, in order to burn more calories in all the possible ways. He also gives useful information about specific items of food's advantages and disadvantages.

    READ IT, Don't miss the opportunity to learn all these!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Do not bother reading

    Advice that I have heard, nothing new. Recipes that aren't reasonable for the average person. Want to know what the book says? Eat healthier and excersize! I know, shocking new advice. Btw, the ancedotal stories are boring and poorly written. Wish I could get my money back and the hour I spent rolling my eyes.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    great book

    this is by far one of the best diet books to help lose weight. i read it at least one a day not all but different parts you always pick up what you may have missed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Excellent Read..

    Definitely a whole lot of sense.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Very Helpful!

    As an athlete my whole life, I never really had to worry about what I ate. I'd burn off everything and head back for more. My eating habits were awful. I'd have a Milky Way and a Coke and call that breakfast before swim practice! As I aged, my body became less "enthused" with my food choices. This book did MUCH to help cut through all the useless information and "diets" out there. I've recommended it to the swimmers I currently help coach, along with their parents, hoping it will do as much good for them as it did for me. Highly recommended, especially for people who touch the lives of children of all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    truly not a diet book

    Very interesting reading. Found some items that I can use

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Brandon

    You ready sonic?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4