Customer Reviews for

Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead

Average Rating 4
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

I'm a man, and I picked up this book to see what successful wome

I'm a man, and I picked up this book to see what successful women are doing to see if I might learn something.

Why not pick up a pointer or two from somebody who's gone much further in her career--and with many more obstacles--than I have in mine?

The list of things S...
I'm a man, and I picked up this book to see what successful women are doing to see if I might learn something.

Why not pick up a pointer or two from somebody who's gone much further in her career--and with many more obstacles--than I have in mine?

The list of things Sheryl Sandberg has done that I haven't is lengthy. Too many times I've not spoken up when I've had things to say. At work gathering after work gathering I've failed to sit at the table with key decision makers. Time and time again I downplay myself for fear I'll be seen as a self-promoter.

The book reminded me of something I have done, however. I've moved cross country twice on account of my wife's career. Acknowledging that my wife's profession had more upside than my own wasn't easy, and I feel fortunate that none of my family and friends criticized me for supporting her.

Sandberg's book taught me that other men are not so lucky. I knew of the challenges that women face if they choose to assert themselves in traditionally male dominated careers, but I never appreciated the gender based scrutiny and criticism men face when they choose to support them. Husbands and wives shouldn't have to consider gender related stereotypes when deciding who works outside the home and who works in it. Simply pick the best person for the jobs.

I give the book 4 stars instead of 5 because I think it spends too much time telling men and women to remove gender from their decisions and not enough telling them specifically how.

posted by Transplanted_Southerner on March 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Another tome expounding the necessity for women to become just l

Another tome expounding the necessity for women to become just like men! As much as I hate to admit it, we women cannot have it all. Lean in if that is what you truly want, but know that there will be consequences and sacrifices that you will have to make to do so.
...
Another tome expounding the necessity for women to become just like men! As much as I hate to admit it, we women cannot have it all. Lean in if that is what you truly want, but know that there will be consequences and sacrifices that you will have to make to do so.
Strangely, this book made me incredibly sad for young women in the workplace today.

posted by DKFrancis on March 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    I'm a man, and I picked up this book to see what successful wome

    I'm a man, and I picked up this book to see what successful women are doing to see if I might learn something.

    Why not pick up a pointer or two from somebody who's gone much further in her career--and with many more obstacles--than I have in mine?

    The list of things Sheryl Sandberg has done that I haven't is lengthy. Too many times I've not spoken up when I've had things to say. At work gathering after work gathering I've failed to sit at the table with key decision makers. Time and time again I downplay myself for fear I'll be seen as a self-promoter.

    The book reminded me of something I have done, however. I've moved cross country twice on account of my wife's career. Acknowledging that my wife's profession had more upside than my own wasn't easy, and I feel fortunate that none of my family and friends criticized me for supporting her.

    Sandberg's book taught me that other men are not so lucky. I knew of the challenges that women face if they choose to assert themselves in traditionally male dominated careers, but I never appreciated the gender based scrutiny and criticism men face when they choose to support them. Husbands and wives shouldn't have to consider gender related stereotypes when deciding who works outside the home and who works in it. Simply pick the best person for the jobs.

    I give the book 4 stars instead of 5 because I think it spends too much time telling men and women to remove gender from their decisions and not enough telling them specifically how.

    54 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Another tome expounding the necessity for women to become just l

    Another tome expounding the necessity for women to become just like men! As much as I hate to admit it, we women cannot have it all. Lean in if that is what you truly want, but know that there will be consequences and sacrifices that you will have to make to do so.
    Strangely, this book made me incredibly sad for young women in the workplace today.

    27 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    As a  young woman entering the business world, I found this book

    As a  young woman entering the business world, I found this book incredibly helpful and relatable. I currently have no marriage
    prospects, but I already have a fear that one day I will have to choose between family and career. Sandberg  made realize that not only
    am I not alone with this concern, but it is also possible to do both. Her insight, advice, and fun stories kept me up long into the night;
    I couldn't put the book down. I am so glad I read this book at such a young age. I highly recommend this book to driven females and
    males of all ages.

    I also want to comment on a few of the negative posts.  Yes, Sandberg went to Harvard and was the daughter of a doctor. I don't see
    how this is relevant. She still had the grades to get into Harvard and had the drive and skills to become successful. Not many people
    will have the same opportunities as she did but every one can relate to the concrete advice she gives you on how to succeed. The fact
    that people are talking about this issue at all is a gender bias. There are plenty of men leaders who were born with a silver spoon but the
    comments on that subject are rare. Secondly, Sandberg does not make any negative comments about mothers who stay at
    home. She mentions many, many times that she respects those women and realizes an executive position isn't everyone's dream.
    This book is for women who want to succeed and want to balance work and family life. This doesn't mean we are better or worse than
    the stay at home moms; it simply means we are different. If you do not have the drive to succeed in the business/work/volunteer world,
    this book is simply not for you.  

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    I don't normally read career books so it was significant that I

    I don't normally read career books so it was significant that I was excited to read this one. I enjoyed reading this book which has a lot of examples and plenty of research. By the end of the book, I was encouraged to take a serious look at my career and personal goals and how my own behaviors may be holding me back from attaining those goals. I would recommend this book to all my friends.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    It takes courage and a boldness to expose these topics. I applau

    It takes courage and a boldness to expose these topics. I applaud her and have found each chapter enlightening and relatable. As a female working in a predominately male organization - I found it helpful. From "Sit at the Table" to giving yourself credit where credit is due - gave me motivation and confidence to lean in. It's not sad by any means to find the balance, to empower yourself, and in the end become a role model/better mom for your children.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    So, being a female member of management on her way up in one of

    So, being a female member of management on her way up in one of the nation's largest grocery retailers, I had to pick up this book to find out how Sheryl did it and what all the excitement is about. My company has been around for 100+ years and I am proud to say that not only do we have women at the top, but those women are helping other women get there (through networking, real mentorship, and organizations within that promote help and promote women in getting where they want to go: all these helped me realize that I don't necessarily what to be a president but rather the TEACHER of our next one!) What was once a traditional man only club has offered ways for women and minorities to take advantage of opportunities we did not have 25 years ago. With that being said, it does come with a cost for time and time into your "other life" outside of the store. Books like these have helped me shape what I will become later for my company. I am very dedicated and loyal but have often times wondered why grocery retail? I want to provide great customer service for customers and a working environment that makes them want to come back each day for associates that are as loyal has I am. We are far from ideal but Sheryl is right. We will not be "balanced" until we see it for ourselves and DO IT, what we know is right for our families. Her book is for that middle management female on her way up who thinks that working every day and every night, email here, email there, nights away from your kids, is the only way. Ladies, your bosses go home and turn off their blackberries! I have had the pleasure of working with so many leaders in my career who have always told me to spend more time with my son., because the see how much they missed with their kids. After reading Sheryl's book, I can see now how I have missed so much and didn't have to. I can still be GREAT and have my other life, too. I had to figure out that my other life is my first life and in the few weeks since reading the book, I have made small steps in the direction that includes my son and my husband more (no more checking email when my son is awake and I am off, no working on projects during my time off, planning better during the week to get projects off my task lists so that I can have this time with my family). Probably the most important point Sheryl drives home is not taking your spouse for granted. I am that very lucky woman who has a husband who is the primary caregiver of our son, who has moved with me for a job opportunity within my company, who does not take opportunities for himself within his company because he sees the future ahead for mine, cooks and cleans, and puts up with my out of balance life. My husband is a saint and Sheryl has shown me that my husband truly is my life partner and that without him I would not be where I am today. He deserves my time, my attention, and an afternoon in his lazy chair while I entertain our kid. If Sheryl's book does anything for anyone, and no we don't all have companies that we work for that have all the features she describes, but if you can take some of her messages and apply them to your unbalanced life, how much better would it be? I do recommend this book for anyone who is moving up within their company, the men who support them and need to understand why this woman is the way she is, and I recommend this to any mentor of any aspiring associate who needs balance before she gets to where she is headed.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Psst, lean in... Here's how you do it... Have doctor parents. Be

    Psst, lean in... Here's how you do it... Have doctor parents. Be the type of person who teaches aerobics classes in high school. Go to Harvard business school. Graduate top of you class. Be Jewish. Meet sucker berg (also Jewish).

    None of this stuff applies to me. Where's the book for ex-Cathloic slackers who lack ambition, cant stand schmoozing, but don't mind working really hard? Write THAT book and I'll give ya 5 stars.

    13 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

     The book is engaging and a quick read, but adds little new to t

     The book is engaging and a quick read, but adds little new to the discussion of women in the workplace.  I was hoping to get more out of this book than I did.  However, Sandberg's personal experiences are interesting and worthy of reading.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Question: When is a book not a book. Answer: When it has 37 fo

    Question: When is a book not a book.

    Answer: When it has 37 footnotes by the 24th page.

    Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead by Sheryl Sandberg is nothing more than a thesis paper thinly disguised and marketed by the publishing company as the next "it" book for women. Well...not all women; at least in my mind.

    Why, you ask? The reality is that most women are never going to get the opportunity to work in a Fortune 500 company as an executive. Now that's not to say that women won't have opportunities to work in large or mid-size corporations. Let's face it. Most top level jobs are already taken, and if the company is worth its salt, the chance for advancement is slim because those at the top like their jobs and tend to stay, especially when the company is well established and appreciates their staff.

    So what kind of message is Ms. Sandberg sending to the average American woman? On the surface, I can't quite figure it out. Perhaps we need to dig a little deeper here. If her book is merely a dissertation on the battle between the sexes and the inequality of paychecks, then sadly, the author is really behind the times and she hasn't told us anything that we haven't already heard.

    However, if she is saying that we, as women, will never be happy unless we occupy every top level executive position in the country, well then, I beg to differ? What if our mothers decided they didn't want to be our mothers and just wanted to climb that corporate ladder, then where would we be? What if I don't want to be a top level executive at a Fortune 500 company? Can't I be happy doing exactly what I am doing right now? What if I don't want to be a leader? What if there are other women who don't want to be leaders? Is being a leader the only road to happiness? I think not. I have a lot of will and ambition, but my desires don't necessarily point me in that direction.

    But, let's take this a little further. Ms. Sandberg says on page 10 (Kindle version) that she "would never advocate that we should have the same objectives. Many people are not interested in acquiring power, not because they lack ambition, but because they are living their lives as they desire....We each have to chart our own unique course and define which goals fit our lives, values and dreams." This is great, however, the overall message of the book makes it seem that the only correct life choice that we, as women, should have is to be on that corporate ladder climbing toward the top rung to obtain equality. She says on page 10 (Kindle version) "If we succeed in adding more female voices at the highest levels, we will expand opportunities and extend fairer treatment to all."

    Now that the author has highly advocated that we, as women, should go for that top rung, and we succeed in adding more women to top level positions, where's the guarantee that fairer treatment and equality will occur? Also, while I thank her for supporting us in making choices, but then tell us in the next breath that we, as women, should all be leaning into our careers to level the playing field just seems to send out a mixed message. And, let's not even talk about the underlying subtext of the "you should be doing it this way because this is the way I did it, I know it works, and you will be successful and happy if you do it this way." With so many inconsistencies throughout this book, it makes it difficult to see what the real point is here.

    To circle back around to the very beginning of my review, this entire book reads like a master's thesis paper for one of Sandberg's Harvard classes. While I can appreciate the fact that she loves to "rely on hard data and academic research" (page 9, Kindle version), some of us would have just preferred her thoughts on the subject backed up by her real life experiences. The 227 footnotes is a little excessive and limits the audience from any opportunity to flush out the details, not to mention the loss of flow while reading due to constantly having to flip back and forth between the book and the footnotes. How are we as the readers suppose to know if these thoughts are really hers or those that were referenced? And, who really has time to read through, in depth, all of these footnotes, including researching the sources of those said footnotes? Certainly not myself.

    Now, I will admit that there are some principals in this book that can be followed and adapted to fit every women's life. (Note: It took until almost the last couple of chapters to find some kernals of wisdom. Any hope of finding something earlier in the book is simply lost within the text stemming from the research and footnotes.) Perhaps these few morsels were the real intent of the book, but the message simply was too muddied up in her intelligentsia. As a graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Business school, there is no doubt that Sheryl is a smart woman; however, she would have better served her audience if she had spoken to us and not above us. As a college graduate, I have the capability of dissecting and extrapolating information; however, others might not be able to do so, or if they were it would be with great difficulty. Perhaps there is something here, I just don't see it. Maybe it got lost in the translation.

    Overall, I think the message to "lean in" to "whatever" could have been delivered with a little less reliance on statistics and information from other sources. The one thing the book failed to mention is after we, as women, work so hard to get to the top rung, what do we do when we get there? It seems that the author and her colleagues have spent too much time climbing the corporate ladder, missing out on having some fun and losing the opportunities to be truly creative and produce something that will leave a lasting mark on the world, other than to say, I was the CEO/COO (or some other high level position) of such and such company. As for me, I would rather not strive for the top rung, but hang back a few steps, and enjoy the creativity and fun afforded to me at that level while enjoying life a whole lot more.

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Just want to express my gratitude to the author and BN; I enjoy

    Just want to express my gratitude to the author and BN; I enjoy reading every single page. She is insightful, articulate and passionate about her views. It is exceptionality well written. I love how she dismantle all the common views we as women have about ourselves. I love the chapter on “Are you my mentor? “It’s truly open your eyes on what it is to be a mentor and what it takes to have someone mentoring you, I was always going about it the wrong way . Thanks to her I know understand what someone feels when they are asked to be a mentor. Seriously LOVE this book!!!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Femi-nazi

    Same old tired and overused rhetoric designed to divide and fault differing life perspectives. Why can't some women accept the reality that not everyone wants to deal with the caddy corporate BS?

    8 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Another judge mental woman, some people can't do what they want

    Another judge mental woman, some people can't do what they want and its by reason of having a disability that enables them to achieve their dreams, and goals.  I'm really starting to get annoyed with how she and other women are so judge mental of women who rather live the once so called american dream to stay home and let the man take care of them

    8 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Love this book! She is so authentic. I wish I had read this when

    Love this book! She is so authentic. I wish I had read this when I was 18!

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Should be required reading for all young women!!

    An excellect, insightful look at what motivates and hinders women in the work place. This book is not only a great read for any woman, but any manager, or employer who seeks to grow and improve his work force. Lean In uses personal stories, scholarly studies, and collected data to educate the reader about this relevant and important topic. It is well written, and one finds himself (herself!), looking foward to the next chapter. This book has left it's mark on me, I venture that anyone who thoughtfully reads it will be impacted in a positive way.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Very disappointed

    This book is just chapter after chapter on how to balance your work life while being a mother. If you don't want to read about that, then don't bother!

    I was really hoping for insights on being successful as a woman and career wise, not how to find a good husband and raise your kids!

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Didn't Expect To Like It, But Did

    Well, it's hard not to be disarmed by someone who, in the first few pages, tells you that she spent the nine months of her first pregnancy bent over a toilet, gained 70 pounds, and couldn't recognize her feet. Not long after that, she tells you that she felt like a failure when she got a divorce in her twenties.

    Sandberg's willingness to model that for which she argues, and share her stories, be vulnerable (lean in) increases the books authenticity and increases the likelihood that the reader will be receptive to what she's trying to say, and be motivated to internalize those messages. She wisely acknowledges that her call for women to lean in does not mean that men and businesses and the like don't have some leaning in to do as well, and also that leaning in is not the right choice for all women, all the time. Having dispensed with those inevitable rejoinders, she moves swiftly and crisply through her thoughts (carefully well-supported by data) on women, work, and leadership. She's less about how to do something--sit at the table, for example--than about why she believes that something is important. This more cerebral orientation also aids the book's brisk pace.

    I think it would be easy to see this book as only for women who have both families, and careers (whether they love those careers or not), who probably make choices with which they feel uneasy every day. There is tremendous value in Lean In's validation of the difficulty of navigating these roles and making these choices.

    But I hope others read this book, too. I think the only thing you need to be to see the value of living in the world for which Sandberg hopes--the one in which you do as you've dreamed without internal and external obstacles holding you back--is a person.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    this speaks to women who want and have it all

    I bought and sent this book to my daughter-in-law, an upper management civil servant with three children under 6 years old. This is what she said: I strangely feel the need to comment via my Facebook status on the book Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg. I was kind of prepared not to like it, but wow, I identify with almost everything she says. So many good passages I'd like to quote, or share with my employees. I highly recommend it...maybe once it's available at the library. Sheryl doesn't need the book sales to pay the bills.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Recommend for women and men in business

    The only thing about this book I was disappointed in was that I didn't have this book to read 30 years ago! Now in my 50s the book is still of great value, but oh! How much more I could have achieved with this great advise in my 20s! And men, don't let the title put you off. This is a great book for men in business too.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Some of what Sheryl Sandberg discusses in her book is on par wit

    Some of what Sheryl Sandberg discusses in her book is on par with Daniel Pink's 2009-2010 book DRIVE. Considering myself to be a lifelong and career optimist, I believe firmly in the power of people to affect change, but our corporate, business, and government leaders need to do more than just recommend these books to their staffs and subordinates.  Both women and men who aspire to leadership and positive change have to be recognized by those at the head of the table. And those men and women at that head have to be willing to wager a bit more on the likelihood of greater success and eventually toss out the mantra of "it's always been done this way."

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Great Book! Great read for those in their twenties

    Great Book! Would make a great gift for the graduating college senior.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8