Customer Reviews for

Lean Mean Thirteen (Stephanie Plum Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 620 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(353)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    PAYING ATTENTION (and money) IN OREGON!!!

    Morellis aunt is now Ruth, not Rose. Stephanies mom is Helen, not Ellen. Who really wrote this book? For what we pay for an Evanovich e-book we should have an author who knows their characers names after 15 books! When you publish 5 books in one year i guess you get confused! C'mon Janet! Pay attention! At $9.00 and up you could do better! We spend the money! At least you should write your own books!!!! Heres hoping you see your errors and hop to. Your name on a book wont cut it anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Not to be missed!

    Once again Janet Evonovich has written a delicious, fun, bawdy, easy to read book! This series is sheer delight; a must read for anyone wanting a light hearted, fast read that is totally absorbing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Terrible

    A friend loaned me this book...so glad I didn't buy it. This is the first and last one I will read. Tries too hard to be funny and the launguage is awful....words just thrown in because her vocabulary is insufficient.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    Weakest of the series

    After reading books 1-12 of the Stephanie Plum Series, this book was most definitely the weakest link. The mystery never really formed. The story meandered along and then the entire mystery was revealed in one large dump of information near the end of the book. The antagnonist didn't make an appearance until near the end, and he was not very menacing. Overall, I was very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    some good parts but all in all, lame

    I too have read all the previous books. This one... flat.. boring. It does have funny moments, yes, I'll give it that. But it's not really that good. It's more of a book about Ranger and his obsession with Stephanie. I mean, he's got microphones planted on her, and he installs cameras in her apartment. She used to bungle her way through catching the crooks. Now he catches them for her and shelters her from everything by having half a dozen of his men follow here everywhere. Come on! Let her do her own thing. Every two seconds we hear about how totally hot ranger is... It's so totally old. Morelli is good in this book. He's maturing and focusing on his job, but Stephanie doesn't seem to mature as the books go on. She just gets more and more dependent on Ranger's help. All the innuendos and suggestive remarks by Ranger... ho hum.... boring. Sure, the books are fluffy entertainment and have some laughs... but come on... I didn't even feel like finishing this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2007

    Very disappointed after waiting weeks to get from library

    I've enjoyed most of the books from the Stephanie Plum series, but as I read this one I couldn't help but think it is time to retire Stephanie. It has become so predictable and is not entertaining anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am wondering what is wrong with this book,was I expecting too much maybe? I have read every Stephanie Plum book at least six times. I can't wait to buy them. With this book, I could put it down, come back later. Not curious about what happened next. I don't feel Janet Evanovich even wrote the book. Stephanie was bland, Ranger all of a sudden is a talking guy who says 'dude'. Ranger and Joe are falling all overthemselves for Ms. Plum who shows no great emotional yearing for either one. Grandma has a potty mouth, a boyfriend who mysteriously disappears into an assisted living. So many inconsistencies with the other books. Joe is always parked at Stephanie's. They were always at Joe's before. He doesn't have a washer or dryer, but he does in the other books. He cooks in this book, but in other books, his cooking skills run to toast and hot chocolate. In this book, Stephanie's mom's name is Helen. In all the other books, it is Ellen. The car at the end of the last book is a different car than this book. I have the feeling Janet is writing too many books at once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    Very Disappointing

    I was previously a huge Plum fan, but this book was just another cookie cutter version of her previous works. I sincerely doubt whether I'll reach for #14. Nothing new, same old, same old. Mrs. Evanovich needs to do some serious reaching and write something new and evocative to keep her readership.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2007

    Losing My Touch?

    That must have been what Janet was thinking after she published this book. The plot seemed thrown together and too many parts of the book were just choppy. This is definitely one to check out from your local library and not pay good money for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    Big disappointment

    I'm a big Plum fan and I've been looking forward to LMT. After reading, just one thing comes to mind, what a big, big disappointment. After reading TS I had the feeling this series was becomming better with each book, sad to say, I was wrong. As a woman I have a hard time believing Steph punts up with the way Morelli is treating her. Steph get in big trouble, just because her boyfriend doesn't tell her her ex isn't murdered. I could give other examples, but this book isn't worth it. Still hoping book 14 will be as good as a lot of books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2007

    Don't waste your money or your time!!

    Not every book can be a winner and not every winning streak can last forever. This book feels like it was thrown together hastily. Doesn't matter if you consider yourself a babe or a cupcake, this book is just boring. Check it out from the library, if you really want to read it - save your money for something interesting to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    Only for the most stubborn Stephanie Plum fans. This series should have been wrapped up at least 3 books ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Rubbish

    Janet began the Stephanie Plum series with some strong characters, great gags and a solid storyline. Now as we reach book 13 the series has gone cold. Stephanie, who was once a great female character has been reduced to at best a flake and at worst a whiny flirt. The gags are 1000 miles from funny, rather the same joke repeated from one book to the next. Her writing is extremely inconsistent, with what usd to be strongly drawn characters changed on a whim to suit the story. Can Janet only build Ranger as a character by emasculating Joe? And how can a female character cruelly cheated on by her husband, be so blase about her own infedelity. The only decent part of this book is the slim development of the Ranger character, but even this is happening at a snails pace. This may not be the last Stephanie book, but it's the last one I'll read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2