Customer Reviews for

Lean Mean Thirteen (Stephanie Plum Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 621 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(354)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    Nothing new

    predictable,character needs to wise up!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    Still A Fan

    I've read every one of the Stephanie Plum books many times except Lean Mean Thirteen. With each book something new was added to the old and made it better. Twelve Sharp was my favorite. It left me anxiously awaiting number thirteen. Perhaps it was so good that Lean Mean Thirteen couldn't measure up. It's almost as if someone else wrote the book. I'm still a Stephanie Plum fan so I await her next adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    Huge Disappointment from a fan.

    I was hugely disappointed with this one, and I am usually a big fan of Plum. I couldn't wait for this one to come out, because 12 was such a cliffhanger - would she end up with Ranger?? But he's barely mentioned, the story line is tired, the same old jokes, and the mystery was dull. Come on Evanovich, bring on some excitement!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought she would pick up some from the ending of 12. She has SP driving a yuk car when in 12 she was driving a Cooper. I thought it was a thrown together book & had no consistency with her other books. She had Morelli's house with out a washer & dryer when in her others such as 11 he has a washer & dryer. I hope 14 has more of what her other books has such as book 8 & 9. Good Luck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was very funny in parts but overall a disappointment. Stephanie is starting to look sluttish by not being able to decide on a man. The long overdue explanation for her not working for Rangeman was too simplistic. The love triangle was rather flat with no new insights into the characters and who really cares about Dickie and Joyce? I'll read 14 in hopes that things get back on track. Maybe it's time to start a new series and let these characters go if Janet can't decide where to take them. Still love Grandma M!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    ...

    I agree with the other readers. This book was very disappointing. Some parts of the book was funny, but overall very bland. Character development is sadly lacking as well. I've enjoyed the other books in the Plum series, and this one was definitely the worst. The ending was very anti-climatic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am a Stephanie Plum addict, I have no qualms admitting that so, when Lean, Mean, Thirteen came out - I was at B&N on release day! I breezed through the novel in one day, mainly because it was extremely boring! Correct me if I am wrong, but didn't Twelve Sharp end with Ranger being shot and Stephanie realizes she loved both Morelli and Ranger? So explain to me how in Thirteen, when Steph has to hole-up at Rangeman quarters again, there's not even a spark between the two of them 'she's always passed out and he's always being the good guy, yeah, right!'. What I love about the Steph Plum series is that she's always trying to juggle her feelings for both men while getting the job done. There wasn't much juggling in this book AND the murder mystery lacked excitement. I'll need to spend some time at B&N skimming #14 before I decide to buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2007

    lean and mean is right....

    I was terribly disappointed with book 13. I had been so excited about it that I had reread the entire series in the past two weeks. Coming off the high from book 12 'and plum lovin'' this book was disappointing in contrast. I'll still read the rest of the series but I am not sure I'll be nearly as excited:'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Dead in the water

    For her thirteenth time out Evanovich has written a sleeper. As a lover of Twelve Sharp I found this book disappointing at best. Although Evanovich is not known for her plots this one fell way below her standard. The slapstick laughout loud humor was even sparse. I felt Janet was way off her mark with this one. The love triangle still had spark at times but grew unbelievable as the two alpha males tossed Stephanie back and forth like a football. One can only say it has to be better next year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    TS was the best in the Plum series. This is probably the worst book. There are some very funny parts, but on the whole it's a boring book. Joe was the most boring character of all. I can't see why a writer would like her heroine to be with such a boring boyfriend. I hope book 14 will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    I wait expectantly every June for the newest Plum. The past three or four books have been stellar! Lean Mean Thirteen was entertaining but dropped the ball when it came to character relationships and plot. Stephanie was her usual misadventure self, getting roadkill bombed and dragged into fires, shootings and murder conspiracy. It had a few good laughs, but this time events made me feel more sorry for Steph than a comedy/action adventure should. The way boyfriend Joe Morelli treats her should be insulting to women everywhere. The huge secret he kept from her should have made her leave him for good. How could he allow her to run around thinking she was at risk when he obviously knew different? She should be burning his underwear, not picking it up. In contrast, Ranger Manoso is a positive influence in Stephanie's life any way you examine it. Stephanie needs to spend more time with him. Also many things didn't make sense in this book. Way too many loose ends and unresolved scenes. If you skim it or read for a couple hours of distraction, you'll probably like it. If you read Plum for the plot, pay attention to details and expect any kind of character advancement, get it from the library. Janet, please bring back 'tough, caring, smart, independent' bumbling Steph and Ranger and ditch 'needy, I-could-be-my-mother' bumbling Steph and Joe Morelli. It's much more fun reading Stephanie driving a loaner Porsche, eating Ella's cooking and working/sleeping with Ranger, than Stephanie walking Bob, picking up Joes underwear and serving him pizza and beer. I hope Joe Morelli is not the future for Stephanie. That would be a sad day for Plum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    Same book, differnet name

    I really love the Plum series, however I was hoping for some growth in the characters....The best way to describe this book is BORING. I would have to agree it just looks like JE just threw something together... When is Stephanie going to start making some strides forward in her life?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am beginning to feel used by the Evanovich people. I think the plan was for the series to end at 14, but since her other books were not well received, she has decided to extend this series. This book was laugh aloud funny, but didn't fit in time line order with the series. After Twelve Sharp, we were all primed for the romance triangle to keep adjusting, but this book was completely stagnant. Enough already. I'm ready for this to end. I am going to wait for the paperback. I'm not spending big bucks on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    Very stale Not funny at All

    I have been a huge fan from the first book before she got really popular. I found this book to be really disappointing, I did not laugh once. I buy these on release date and usually finish them that day. I finally finished this one 5 days later, struggling to read it. there was nothing new and exciting and I think the whole storyline has finally gotten old. I think the series needs to join the Sopranos - Fourteen and done!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2007

    Not her best work

    I have read all of her books and I must say this one was a bit disappointing....the ending was very weak and it had so many 'F' words in it my mind went numb....she is one of my favorite authors and though this book wasn't her best she's still a great writer...the book is funny as usual and i'm glad Ranger got a lot more play , but see what u think go buy it....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    I hoped it wouldn't come to this...

    Wow! I have been such a HUGE fan of the Stephanie Plum series since the beginning. In fact, working at a bookstore, I have turned many women on to this series. Light is one thing but bad is bad. Her stories used to incorporate interesting, fantastical characters that made the storyline funny. Then the love triangle gave that necessary romance element. This book was stagnat, boring, and seemed very thrown together. I am guessing that what Ranger wanted to talk to Stephanie about was bugging Dickie's office...too bad...something far more interesting could have been done with that. And just when I thought there was more hope for something to happen between Ranger and Stephanie...something ANYTHING...Evanovich wastes the moment. So, like a lot of reviewers, I was disappointed but unlike a lot of reviewers I was disappointed with 12 and I forsee this series going nowhere but downhill from here. It's too bad because I used to anticipate these books coming out (especially since their release falls around my birthday.) I guess I am just going to have to find another author that can keep me entertained like Evanovich used to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2007

    Lean Mean Thirteen (Stephanie Plum Series #13)

    I really thought Janet Evanovich was going to give us another excellent installment. Instead, I felt like she just threw something together so that she could get back to co-authoring and writing other stories that are lack luster. I thought that some of the questions from Plum Lovin would be answered like who sent the roses and what did Ranger want to talk to stephanie about. We didn't get it. Instead we got a cute story line with a beer drinking slob who isn't much of a boyfriend. Janet should stick with what she knows and give her Plum fans more than one book a year. I was so hurt that I waited a year only to be let down by a very good writer. Janet stick with what you know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2007

    All good things must come to an end.

    After reading Lean mean Thirteen, I felt a little disappointed. This installment in the Plum series felt like a major downshift after the last few books were full-steam-ahead toward what could have been a spectacular ending to a great series with book 14. I really wanted the Plum series to end at its peak performance. Like a great TV sit-com, that you always have fond memories of. At this point these books could go on indefinitely. For those of us readers who have been with the plum family from the beginning, it feels as if we are stuck in a perpetual time warp with Stephanie and the gang never moving forward.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2