Customer Reviews for

Leap of Faith: Memoirs of an Unexpected Life

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2007

    Another perspective

    I really enjoyed this book. It is written by a woman who expresses herself very well, and uses that gift to share an important viewpoint. The book is not anti-American nor anti-Israel... it is honest. We are not presented with personal opinion, but with historical facts - facts that are all too often glossed over by CNN and their ilk. No government is perfect, and Noor is candid about the shortcomings of the Jordanian constitution as well as the American system. Beyond that, observations I appreciated included the absurd fascination Western culture has with celebrities and their scandals and how these become front page news, crowding out life-and-death matters on a global level. Another point is that Europeans are more sensitive to the tragedy of war than Americans, having more recently experienced its long-term devastation through two World Wars. Finally, I appreciated that, as King Hussein stated, 'engagement isn't endorsement.' One cannot seek to effect change without diplomacy, and the US position of 'we won't talk to so-and-so until they [fill in the blank] first' is both shortsighted and childish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    Jordan, Up Close and Personal

    I found the book fascinating, and I'm not one to pay attention to 'things royal'. The Queen's life has been remarkable. I was particularly pleased with the depth provided, into the life of King Hussein - as a person, a world leader, and often frustrated peace initiator. This book would be a great read for anyone with the open mind to begin exploring the middle east as explained by middle easterners.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2006

    If you only read a book about the Middle East, Queen Noor's book is the book to read

    I could never find a book that described the time in Middle East of that I was growing up as a boy: Dreams, hopes, life and disappointments of Middle East Arabs generations in 26 years. Queen Noor's book is by far best written book about Middle East in the last decade, detailing a crucial period of Middle Eastern history, from a rational intelligent citizen of humanity, and a queenly perspective. .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2005

    A must read!

    This an amazing book. It provides the reader with an understanding of Jordans stuggle with middle-east peace process from someone on the inside. Queen Noor does a wonderful job explaining all complexities involved with Middle-East politics, while at the same time sharing her own personal memories of her husband and family. This is a book that anyone with any curiousity about the middle east should read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    Loved it!

    I loved reading about Queen Noor and King Hussein. It is well written and gives great insight into another country that most of us know little about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    very disappointing

    This was one of my book club books and I'm sorry it was on the list. I enjoyed reading about her and her life but you can only find bits and pieces of it dredging through the history and politics, two subjects I despise. I wouldn't recommend this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    I feel hoodwinked. Here I bought this book to read about Noor, personally, and it was anything but. You'd never know this woman was born and reared in America the way she goes on and on and on ad nauseum bestowing accolades on the Palestinians while castigating the Israelis and the U.S. I thinks she's a disgrace. Aside from the political slant of the book (which left very little), it was very, very boring.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    great book for some middle eastern history

    Thought this was a great book for people to really get an understanding of the Middle East and it's history. I found her discussion about Jordan's involvement with Isreal and the PLO the most interesting parts of her work. Queen Noor probably spends about 70% of the book talking about the politics of the region, and her travels to other countries. The rest of her book deals with family, which is interesting, but not the highlight of the book (in my opinion).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    Queen Noor, truly a light

    King Hussein and his Queen Noor have jolted me out of my complacency in this memoir. I was so impressed by the integrity and candor, the gentleness and always believable relentless quest for peace, even at great personal cost. I was among those who 'lionized' Anwar Sadat and the Camp David accorde. I value Jimmy Carter's intelligence and believe in HIS relentless quest for peace. I would be truly interested to read his response to Queen Noor's eloquent portrayal of this historical event. The memoir is remarkable, enlightening, inspiring and beautiful. It encourages the best in each of us, challenges us to research the facts and makes us accountable for repeating only factual information. We see that we are responsible for our own words, that lies and rumors bring harm to the peacemakers and aid to the enemies of peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2005

    A wonderfully written book

    I waited for this book for almost 6 months to come to paperback and everyday was worth it! I am so intrigued by the quiet strength of Queen Noor, this biography is a wonderful glimpse into another world. Her life has been both spectacularly glamorous but typically normal at the same time. I am grateful for a story from the 'other side' that has opened my eyes to the truth about American media and the politics of the Middle East. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn more about a brilliant woman and the politics that have helped to shape the Middle East.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    Beautiful

    Queen Noor has written a book thats explains her love for her husband, children, country, and the wish for an Arab Nation of peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    Book with Long words and bored me

    The book has lots of long words that you have to use a dictionary for. It also bored me that I was chugging through it just to finish it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1