Customer Reviews for

Learn American Sign Language - ASL Video Flashcards

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

70 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

Very good

The app is very helpful but just for BEGINNERS. I learned so much just by listening to it for just 10 minutes! It involves a professional sign interpreter that shows the signs very slowly and clarifies possible confusions. Get this app but don't expect in- depth signs...
The app is very helpful but just for BEGINNERS. I learned so much just by listening to it for just 10 minutes! It involves a professional sign interpreter that shows the signs very slowly and clarifies possible confusions. Get this app but don't expect in- depth signs just basic "hello, goodbye type things"

posted by 6521600 on December 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

62 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Basic - No internal chapter controls

Good for beginners. Covers some basic signs. Disappointed that you can't control the video within chapters, so if you want to rewind to see a sign again, you have to go all the way back to the beginning of the chapter, and you can't fast forward. The only controls are t...
Good for beginners. Covers some basic signs. Disappointed that you can't control the video within chapters, so if you want to rewind to see a sign again, you have to go all the way back to the beginning of the chapter, and you can't fast forward. The only controls are to select entire chapters :(

posted by 9705559 on February 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Very good

    The app is very helpful but just for BEGINNERS. I learned so much just by listening to it for just 10 minutes! It involves a professional sign interpreter that shows the signs very slowly and clarifies possible confusions. Get this app but don't expect in- depth signs just basic "hello, goodbye type things"

    70 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Basic - No internal chapter controls

    Good for beginners. Covers some basic signs. Disappointed that you can't control the video within chapters, so if you want to rewind to see a sign again, you have to go all the way back to the beginning of the chapter, and you can't fast forward. The only controls are to select entire chapters :(

    62 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Rip off

    What you see is what you get with this app. Literally all you get is the picture and every time you try to open it you get a forced close message and then it shuts down. Very upset i wasted my money.

    -10

    38 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Very well done

    The teacher, "Renee," in the video demostration's is very professional... and makes it very easy to understand. She did an awesome job. Love it! : )

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Very good

    I found this app alot of help!!!!

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Pretty good

    This app is great if you want to say a few things to a deaf person. My only problem is it should of to us to say for it would of helped me a lot.

    17 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Emma5018

    This taught me alot because i go to a school for deaf people and im hearing so this got me started and it helped me alot.( by the way the teachers are deaf too )

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Very easy and helpful

    This is a great application to learn basic emergency and greetings in sign language. I work with a deaf employee and now I can communicate and I'm able to provide assistance in an emergency

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Doesn't open

    I feel like this was a waste. It didn't open so I'm not using it.It would be great if it worked

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Great app once oppened

    I thought that it was great once i got it to open. The stupid app would not open but after 10 min it finaly let me on. Besides that it is great.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Like this app

    This is a good beginner app for sign language. Gives you the basic phrases you need to start out.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    This is excellent for those that have just started learning ASL

    This application is very helpful for first time users of ASL. I highly recommend it especially if you are talking ASL in school for the first time. The instructor takes her time when demonstrating the signs so you don't have to constantly back her up to see what she signed. What I liked most was the meet and greet section. This helped me greatly because part of my college assignment was to attend a Deaf Event and meet other Deaf people. I felt more confident after viewing this app. I just wish there were more of these that I could upload.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    highly recommend

    This was really helpful. I was carring on a conversation by the end of the day.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1