BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Learning

Average Rating 4.5
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wholesome, Hope and Inspiration

Karen's latest novel "Learning" will truly take you on a roller coaster of emotions and won't let you go until you read the last page. Bailey and Cody are two of the main characters who find themselves living separate lives in different cities but their thoughts and hea...
Karen's latest novel "Learning" will truly take you on a roller coaster of emotions and won't let you go until you read the last page. Bailey and Cody are two of the main characters who find themselves living separate lives in different cities but their thoughts and hearts are never far from each other. They once thought they would be together forever, but find that life has a way of leading them in different directions. Bailey seems to settle well in New York to work on Broadway in the musical "Hairspray." She soon learns that being on Broadway isn't an easy job. Meanwhile, her friendship with Brandon Paul continues to grow, but she still questions and sometimes regrets the loss of her relationship with Cody. Cody is doing well, coaching football at a high school in Indiana, and is growing closer to his friend Cheyenne while helping her recover from her car accident. Brandon and Bailey's developing relationship was interesting to watch and I admire how greatly Brandon respected Bailey and treated her like a Queen! I always feel so satisfied after I finish a Karen Kingsbury book. "Learning" deals with going after your dreams, developing relationships, and allowing God to work his magic. Karen's books inspire and teach and give hope to a better tomorrow. This is what we all need more of especially in this time we are living in. Ann T. Mason

posted by ANNTMASON on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Please put it on NOOK!!!!

I was going to preorder it, but found out it's not available on NOOK. Not going to order it, unless I can get it on NOOK.

posted by 5984577 on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Awesome!

    I love Karen Kingsbury! Cant wait to finish this and start the next one. Another great installment in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Must read

    Loved it. Already read the next one and can't wait unti March for the last one, Loving, to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended-This book was so good i could not put it down.

    This has been a very good series. I can hardly wait for the next book to come out in March!! I absolutely loved reading about the Baxter family and then on to read about the Flanigan's. I love Karen Kingsbury. I wish she write more about the families in both series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Great as always

    This is book #2 in the Bailey series and it is addictive as the rest of Karen's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Great book

    Can not wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Enjoyed

    I always like her books. This one is as good as all the others. Can't wait for the next in the Bailey Flanigan series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    She does it again!!

    Karen Kingsbury continues to give us amazing books. Definitely read all of her novels if you haven't yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Inspired and Heartfelt

    Have you been keeping up with Bailey and Cody since our last meeting with them in "Leaving" by Karen Kingsbury? Kingsbury has given us more of our favorite characters with book two in the Bailey Flanigan series, titled "Learning."


    This book is not just about a love story. It's about pursuing your dreams, moving on from your past and looking to God to light your path. This story is very relate-able. While everyone may not be on their way to being a Broadway starlet or running from someone out to get their mom, we do or know someone whose heart belongs to someone they can't be with. Many of us are struggling with the choices we've had to make in our lives. The story pulled me in with a turn of the first few pages. I love the courage and faithfulness of Bailey and the dedication of Cody. Great support from characters around them makes their learning experiences much better, which is sound advice that we could all use sometimes.

    Sprinkled throughout the book are spritual references that add to the story. I always find myself trying to relate things I've seen or read to things in the Bible. This book combines that referencing for me, and I LOVE it. A few of my faves are "...you must show your love as a Christian on Broadways. No one wants to hear about your faith. They must see it." and "...He'll always exceed what we can imagine Him to do, the ways He comforts us and leads us." I am "learning" myself and applying to my own life. Even if the reader is not spiritual, these references do not overpower the story at all and is still very entertaining.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book without charge to review by the publisher. All opinions are mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Anxious for the next book in this series

    Karen Kingsbury is one of those writers who always seems to write a good book. She uplifts and inspires while allowing us a peek at the lives of the characters she creates,and with her series books she always leaves us wanting more.
    Learning is the second book in the Bailey Flanigan series, and while I think it could be read as a stand alone book, you will certainly want to read the first book in the series titled Leaving. The plot revolves around Cody Coleman and Bailey Flanigan young adults who are following their dreams while following God as well. In this book Bailey has landed a role on Broadway while Cody is teaching. The author tells their stories making us feel like we are following along with our friends, allowing us to experience their ups and downs their hopes and dreams, and she does it in such a way that allows us to realize how God can work in our lives. If your looking for a book that you wouldn't mind sharing with your teen daughter or just want an uplifting story that will make you laugh and cry, then pick up this book, although I must warn you once you start reading Karen Kingsburys' work you won't be satisfied until you have read everything she has written.

    A complimentary copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    "Learning"by Karen Kingsbury-Book 2 of 4 in the Bailey Flanigan Series!

    "Learning": by Karen Kingsbury Book two in the 4-book Bailey Flanigan series! This Book Blog Tour is being sponsored by Zondervan Publishers. Karen Kingsbury's NEW RELEASE, "Learning", Book 2 out of a series of 4, we learn a lot about what the characters in this book have learned over the time-frame of over the course of about a year since the first book, Leaving. This book, "Learning" picks up where "Leaving" left off. This book is about relationships and "Learning" about relationships, old and new, and about life, the facts of life's reality. The characters in this book go through a lot and learn a lot about their lives. The work they are doing, how and what they have learned as times passes, how it is affecting their personal and professional journey through life, and other people. This book could not have been named any better. The author really needed to write this book in the series to show us how the characters lives' have and have not changed, some for the better, some in different ways, and more, but none for the worse The paths these characters have taken in this book are essential to their growth, all they have learned and continue to do so. They have learned much about their past as they reflect on it, the current situations they are in now, and their future to choose as it comes along. There are also some eye opening situations we learn about with Bailey and Cody, both. This book is what we need as it is setting the stage for books 3 and 4. I don't know where the author will take us with the next two books, but the characters are very well developed and working on their lives while learning a lot. Karen Kingsbury always makes reading her books very enjoyable. You don't want to put them down, especially this Bailey Flanigan series because you want to keep reading about these characters' lives, where their directions are taking them, and what they and we learn more about them. What really appeals to me about this series is thinking back to the time I was the age these characters are now, what I did with my life in comparison, and what life taught me as well. This is a very important age in these characters' lives, as was ours, as we step out into the world of reality following our dreams. This book goes into great detail of Bailey's life during this year while working on Broadway in the Musical show called 'Hairspray'. It also goes into great detail about Cody's life, (Bailey's previous boyfriend's life), and what he has learned about his life and the job has taken as a Football Coach in a small town High School who had a reputation for complete loss. They have both made new friends, and we learn what they learn with these new relationships. We learn the way these new relationships go, as well as learning that both Bailey and Cody reflect on their relationship they had with each other and how they grew from them. They continue to 'sneak a peek' at each others' lives via Facebook, and learn what each other are doing. Can these two get back together despite their new relationships they have made with other people? I have said this before in my review of Karen Kingsbury's first book in this series. This series, the Bailey Flanigan series, has been the most enjoyable series Karen Kingsbury has written to date, in my opinion! Very well worth the read! I am waiting in 'great' anticipation for the release of her next book, Book 3, which is called "Longing", due out on Nov

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Fantastic just like all of Karen's books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Awesome- Like all of Kingsbury's books

    I loved this new chapter in Bailey and Cody's story. I was suprised by the directions their lives are going in and am rooting for them to end up together in the end. Can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Can't put it down

    With every book that Karen writes, I get deeper and deeper into the story. I love the fact that she brings humanity and tough subjects into her books and handles them so well ... so that it makes me think and go to God more intently. I'm already waiting for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Karen Kingsbury..... LEARNING

    Once again Karen delivers a delicious story that I devoured in days (only took days because we have 5 kids). The characters seem to grow and learn as if they were actually real. You know it's good when you find yourself dreaming about them and what will happen next. As always, Karen is able to place scripture throughout the book, expand on some of it & I come away knowing more scripture & finding that it's VERY relatable to everyday life. I love how facebook, texting etc. Is written about- keeps it very fresh & today. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS FABULOUS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Love it!

    All of Karen's books are a must read. She is my favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7