BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Learning the Tarot : A Tarot Book for Beginners

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    EXCELLENT BOOK!!!

    Very practical book, i have been reading the tarot for 38 years and always keep my eyes open buying new books, i wish to know about this book before i expended a fortune buying a correspondence curse from a tarot school that after all it focused only in the description of the cards not exactly in the practical meanings that is all that matters for a reading.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    Difficult concepts made easy

    Of all the books that I have purchased on reading the Tarot, none have been as good as Joan Bunning's Learning the Tarot. It's certainly designed for the beginning level Tarot card reader, it is clear, concise and makes each card understandable and memorable. I've read this one book many times now, and took the course over a year ago. I highly recommend both the book and the free course, taught by the author, and available through BNU. If you have any interest at all in learning how to read Tarot cards, this book is definitely for you!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2002

    EXCELLENT!!!!

    Of all the books I have, this book is the most helpful and easiest to understand. Joan wrote this book with the beginner in mind. Other authors seem to have forgotten that most beginners are looking for guidelines to go by and some have No knowledge of the Tarot. This book is GREAT!!!! I highly recommend for the beginner and other more experienced reader!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2001

    Excellent Book and Course!

    Joan does a wonderful job explaining the tarot. I've looked at a few other tarot books but no one breaks it down to make it easier for the beginner like me. Thanks for this book and doing such a wonderful job on the BNU course. I feel I've learned lots. I hate to see the course end!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2001

    DO NOT pass this book up.

    Freeze! Stop! You either got to this point in your life by typing tarot in in that keyword box.. or you got here by going through Joan's site. Good news. You can stop. You're done searching :) I will not say this book is the ultimate tarot book. I will not say that you will fail unless you buy THIS book. But I will say this. Joan is approachable, nice, and a very good teacher. She shows how to best interpret the cards for YOU. She teaches YOU how to learn the tarot in a manner that will be most conducive to YOU. You do it all. From the journal to the cards.. YOU are centered. You are central. If you want a book that gives you the ability to work with a great divination method, go ahead. Order this book. Good journey!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    One of the best tarot books!

    Ms. Bunning really explains things in depth for a beginning book and this is one of my all time favorites. I have many books on Tarot and this is one I use again and again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2005

    Wonderful book

    An excellent introduction to the RWS family of decks. Bunning offers a simple, easy to use approach that will have newbies reading quickly. Simple, logical, approachable. Does not include any esoteric info but my opinion is that this topic should be reserved for intermediate tarot students.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    Excellent!

    This was the first tarot book I ever ran accross, and I love it! I've been very fortunate to find an online version, since I'm blind, and love the info it gives! I feel that the interpretations can be most wonderful. Joan Bunning is a great writer, and author as well at teacher.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2001

    Guidance

    I have several books on the tarot, but this one is the best I've seen. With this book, Joan Bunning has guided me in the direction I have wanted to go. The imagery on the Rider Waite deck has finally come to life for me. If you're looking for a book that brings out the details of the cards without being overwhelming...your search is over. I also recommend the B&N University online class that Joan teaches. She is real and reachable. Thank you, Joan, for sharing your wisdom and insight with us.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2001

    EXCELLENT

    This book is teriffic. Joan Bunning is a wonderful teacher. Her book's lesson plan is easy to follow and is very thorough.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2000

    Joan's Book is one of the best I have read...!

    Joan's free online study version of her book illustrates her unselfish and unreserved sharing of her knowledge to others, truly the making of a true tarot card reader! Her book is very well organized, clear and concise, and allows no room for misunderstanding or confusion. It truly covers all aspects from a beginner's point of view to that of the more serious student of the tarot. I truly recommend Joan Bunning's book. It is extrememly informative and made learning all the more fun. It could easily passed off as Tarot101.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Without a doubt, a must have book!  Joan Bunning really puts it

    Without a doubt, a must have book!  Joan Bunning really puts it together.  I have the 
    hardcopy edition and she shows every card in black and white.  The exercises are
    excellent.  Her interpretations are easily relatable to modern life and the cards to each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Go go

    This book is made possible by barnes and noble so is all the other nook books that you may enjoy. That is why we should help our local barnes and noble stay in business or else we may lose our nook books and nook things we love and have been spending our money on. So buy the harry potter collection on your nokk so that they dont lose business

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Very Highly Recommended!

    This is one of the best Tarot books I have ever read! I absolutely loved it! The author is very engaging and it feels like she is right there with you as you work your way through the outstanding exercises. Her section on the Celtic Cross Spread is fantastic-extremely detailed and allows for the best possible interpretation using both the Position Meaning and the Card Meaning. It can be a bit of a challenge to know which Position Meaning to use (probably reader error!) but I think it is worth it to be able to explore the Card Meaning more fully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2002

    Horrible

    Absolutly no help, very confusing and nothing useful!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2