Customer Reviews for

Learning to Breathe

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Karen White is a winner!

I have just finished reading my first three Karen White books -- all in a row. I honestly cannot tell you which one I liked best as they were all so good! I read THE HOUSE ON TRADD STREET first, then THE LOST HOURS. I ran to the B&N and bought three more and just fin...
I have just finished reading my first three Karen White books -- all in a row. I honestly cannot tell you which one I liked best as they were all so good! I read THE HOUSE ON TRADD STREET first, then THE LOST HOURS. I ran to the B&N and bought three more and just finished reading LEARNING TO BREATHE. This book would especially be enjoyed by family historians and genealogists, but is a super read for anyone. Karen's characters building skills are terrific. I strongly recommend this author!

posted by patoxley on May 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok...read better

I liked her book The House on Tradd Street much better. I just kept wanting the people in the book to hurry up and figure out the obvious. It kind of dragged on.

posted by EJS on April 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Karen White is a winner!

    I have just finished reading my first three Karen White books -- all in a row. I honestly cannot tell you which one I liked best as they were all so good! I read THE HOUSE ON TRADD STREET first, then THE LOST HOURS. I ran to the B&N and bought three more and just finished reading LEARNING TO BREATHE. This book would especially be enjoyed by family historians and genealogists, but is a super read for anyone. Karen's characters building skills are terrific. I strongly recommend this author!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    Read like true life

    This book seemed to encapsulate what every girl at some point in life goes through: the love of a lifetime, the man she wants, the friend who never has let her down, and having to choose between the two. I reread this book every year and still love it. Karen White writes as if you are thinking out loud. Perfect for the beach, on a plane, or when you want to procrastinate on cleaning the house.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet Love Story!

    Even though I found it predictable I consider this book engrossing and enjoyed it til the end!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    Karen White is awesome!

    This is the 2nd book I have read by Karen White and I think she is a GREAT writer. The 1st I read was Pieces of the Heart, which I referred to for the longest time as my FAVORITE. Learning to Breathe is written with the same amount of passion. I need to go purchase Karen's other books now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    A Fabulous, Resonating Read

    When I read this book, parts of it were like reading the screenplay of my life. I couldn't put the book down! I can't wait to read more books by Karen White.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific second chance at love romance

    In Indianola, Louisiana, Brenna O¿Brien owns and operates the Royal Majestic Theatre when her former teenage lover Pierce McGovern returns home from San Francisco. The son of a local doctor, Pierce just left Brenna behind when he deserted the town. Now he is back to place his ailing father in the assisted living complex the Village and to open a multiplex theatre that will shut down Brenna¿s operation.-------------- Pierce blames his abrupt departure and his sarcastic outlook on Brenna. However, he admits to himself he still wants her Brenna feels the same way but has decided to marry someone else. His ailing dad shows Brenna love letters that make her realize one should never settle, but risking her heart seems foolish as he rejected her once and will break her heart into a zillion pieces this time.-------------------- This is a terrific second chance at love romance starring two likable protagonists who blame the other for the end of the first time together. The support cast is strong as his forgetful father and her relatives especially her introspective young nephew bring wisdom to the pair of hurting soulmates. Karen White writes a deep Bayou contemporary love story as her lead pair begins LEARNING TO BREATH in the love they share.--------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    Ok...read better

    I liked her book The House on Tradd Street much better. I just kept wanting the people in the book to hurry up and figure out the obvious. It kind of dragged on.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2015

    A very pleasant novel, well written like all Karen White's books

    A very pleasant novel, well written like all Karen White's books are. Can't wait to read another of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    What ive learned.

    Be a rebel for whats right. Dont be afraid to stand up for what you believe in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2