Customer Reviews for

Learning to Fly

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Freakin awesome.

    I have only read the sample, got really pissed when it said [end of sample] and i cant wait to read the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    O.K.

    Not what I have come to expect from this author. Try Girl Lost, Shock Point, or Torched instead. It was interesting, but not a thriller in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good Almost Until the Very End

    This book was good, until the ending. I would have liked to see an epilogue that would more fully tie up the loose endings in the book. This book is about a young girl (named Free) who is the daughter of two drug-using hippies and who has a loser cheating boyfriend. Free is believed to be dead following a massive car pile up, leaving her car burned up along with Lydia, a stranger she had offered a ride to. After trying to assist another stranger in the wreck (named Jamie, a drug runner) she discovers a large sum of money (drug money). Jamie later dies and Free assumes Lydia's identity and takes the money to start a new life. She really has no one who cares very much for her, and she has found out she is pregnant. She wants to make a better life for her and her baby. Although she has some moral dilemma about keeping the money, she goes ahead and leaves town with it. Making only a few mistakes to hiding her identity, she is being tracked by the drug dealer Don, whom the money belongs to, and Lydia's very abusive and crazed husband Roy, who is unaware that Lydia is dead. Along the way, she makes two very good friends, Lexi, the woman from whom she rents a room, and Craig, a cop who appears to be falling for her, but from whom Free is trying to keep her distance, in order to keep her secrets hidden. The finale sees Free between the crazed husband and the drug dealer, fighting for her life. I would have given this title maybe another 1/2 a star if the author had given a better glimpse into Free's future and what she was going to do with her life. I don't want to give away the ending, but I would have liked to see it turn out a little better for Free. Although Free seemed happy with the ending, I would like to have seen Free with the money, the guy, and minus all the loser-baggage that were part of her former life. But, not everything has a fairy tale ending! :) Very good read. I would recommend this one. Very interesting plot. Have not read anything quite like this one. Also, very well written. P.S. Enjoyed the little interesting side details, like Don with his alopecia and tattooed eyebrows. Never considered before how lack of hair in the nose could cause such problems! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2002

    Tightly-written Thriller

    I understand this novel is a departure for the author. If so, she she should stay on the road now taken. This is a story whose plot grabs the reader by the throat and doesn't let go. Who hasn't occasionally fantasized about starting over, with a new identity, and of course plenty of money handy to help out? Free Meeker thinks SHE can get away with it, then soon learns the dark side of starting anew - with illegal money. April Henry ratchets up the suspense with each chapter, and spikes her story with unexpected humor (especially the descriptions of the hippy lifestyle Free reluctantly grew up in). This is a book that makes you resentful of any interruptions while you're reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2002

    Great New Thriller

    I've never read April Henry before, but I enjoyed this book so much that I'm looking forward to picking up some of her other titles. The first chapter, detailing a multi-car wreck on the interstate during a dust storm is a superb piece of writing. Surviving the wreck, heroine Free Meeker, a very interesting character, decides to assume the identity of a woman killed in her car. The plot kicks into high gear then and never slows down. A very entertaining book. I had a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1