BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Leave Your Sleep

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Recently purchased and very highly recommend.

    Heard an interview on Public Radio and was impressed. I had forgotten that Natalie Merchant sang with the 10,000 Maniacs. Purchase the double CD package and have been playing it every day. Even read and played some of the pieces to 3 of my young grandchildren. My wife also loves this. Anyone who loves poetry should buy this. Anyone who loves music should buy this. Anyone who loves children should buy this for them and then read other similar pieces to them. Did I say my wife loved this - we don't always agree on music but we do on this. Marvelous is too mild a word. Even the darkerside of some of these pieces seem gorgeous in this presentation. Very well done. Mannington Phil

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Leave Your Preconceptions at the Door

    Natalie Merchant does it again with Leave Your Sleep. Leave your preconceptions at the door when you listen to these songs as they are not her lyrical creations. With this album Natalie not only interprets the poems individually but uses the fruits of her research on the authors to give her an understanding of the topic and the emotions involved in each piece and then shares that with us in the short book that accompanies the discs.
    Not only is this album a gift to the listener by letting us hear poems most of us have hardly ever heard spoken, let alone sung, but it is a flattering gift to each an every one of the poets whose work was chosen for this album.
    The music is both relaxing and fun. I'm very pleased with this album, but must confess that Natalie Merchant has never left me disappointed . . . only wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Best Musical Poems

    Natalie Merchant has put music to 26 poems most of us have probably never heard of. That's great. It broadens our horizons. The poems are primarily children's poems because, as Ms. Merchant says in the liner notes, this album originated as a gift to her daughter.

    The music as well as the poems are wonderful. The music crosses all genres. The poems are wonderful. The liner notes includes biographies and photos of each poet, so they are humanized instead of abstract people with no face.

    I knew vritually nothing of Natalie Merchant prior to this--yeah maybe a 10,000 Maniacs song or two, but now I'm scheduled to see her in concert. I can't recommend this CD enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not only the music, there's more ...

    The Editorial Review introduces the musical content better than I can.

    This purchase was a most pleasant surprise. I purchased after seeing an interview on TV. Children's poetry into musical compositions? Why not?

    I'm more into classical and jazz from the '50's through the '80's, and I had no prior experience with Natalie Merchant's work.

    Packaging and liner notes. Before I even heard a cut, I was impressed. Take off the shrink-wrap, and out slides a nifty little bound book. Inside the book, at front and back, are two pages as sleeves for the CDs. Between are pages of liner notes. Following Natalie Merchant's Introduction is her research on each poem and the poet. With pictures. Shades of vinyl.

    I was so taken by the presentation, I read before I began listening to the songs. Not everything, but about three or four.

    Also in the book, at the back under Credits, are listed, by track, arrangers and musicians, ie. contributing artists.

    After listening to the two CDs (more than once), and drifting through the histories, purchased a second as a gift. Both purchases were at $24.99. It's worth it.

    This was a labor of love. It shows. Thanks Natalie Merchant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Leave Your Sleep by Natalie Merchant is the gift that keeps on giving and my CD choice of the year!

    From the poems to the melodies to the stellar musical accompanists to the accompanying pocket-size book, this record is a treasure trove!

    Leave Your Sleep is a collection of Victorian era (for the most part) poems set to fabulous and varied arrangements. Ms. Merchant offers this 2 CD set with an accompanying book that includes the poem, a short write-up and photograph of the poet, and the stellar list of musicians/artists involved on each track.

    The musical arrangements are rich and thematically varied including a Topsyturvey-world to a reggae beat, a frolicking sea shanty of a Walloping Window Blind, a New Orleans jazzy Janitor's Boy, a bluesy Peppery Man, and a soaring Land of Nod that is so developed musically it could be the score to a full length motion picture. And that just touches the surface.

    Finally, this is a children's album for adults and an adult album for children. This CD is our current choice for car music and with my athletic ten year old singing along and engaging in car conversations about poetry and musical styles and the Indian names of U.S. waterways, all is right with the world!

    I recommend this for yourself your family and everyone on your gift list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The voice sells it!

    Natalie's voice is as profound as ever and easy on the ears, but the arrangements had too many fiddles for me. I prefer her love songs and life songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great from start to finish

    Natalie Merchant has always had a compelling voice, but sometimes with earlier recordings that voice got a little bit lost in the arrangements. Her new album is a 2-CD set of quirky poems & nursery rhymes set to all sorts of music: classical, folk, jazz, rock, reggae. It's really wonderful, and that amazing voice is front and center. The tones range all over the map, from dreamy to brassy and yet the album seems like a seamless whole. A real treat is the beautiful packaging, complete with very detailed liner notes by Merchant on each poem that she set to music. Don't be tempted by the single-CD abbreviated version also on sale. It's well worth getting the complete, 2 disc version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Keeps you on your toes!

    Every song on the album has its own flavor and message, and the 80-page book built into the CD packaging only enhances each song with explanations of its origin. From Nursery Rhymes to discussions with her daughter, Natalie Merchant weaves a tale of childhood that sparks the imagination and rejuvenates the soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is absolutely Amazing

    I heard about this album on a radio interview with Natalie Merchant. She played a couple the songs from the disc live. It was very impressive so I ordered a copy right away. When I received the CD, the quality of the whole package (book and notes) was again impressive but what took my breath away was the quality not only of the material but of the recording itself. If you have a decent system, this recording will make it shine as well as make you smile. Back to the material, it varies nicely with a consistency that is never jarring but rather inviting. When a song is finished, you wonder what will happen next ?(like a good book!) Perhaps that is how I would describe the feeling I have when I listen to these disc, I am in a state of wonderment. It was said it took 7 years for Ms Merchant to come out with this concept. It was well worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great change of pace

    I bought this CD after hearing an interview with the artist and a few samplings of a couple of songs on a radio program. I thought my grandson, who is 1 yr. old, might like it but there are only a handful of songs that I really feel he would enjoy. It is a 2 CD set and comes with a "book" with information on the poems used and the authors; very nice! The songs and tunes are fun and a great change of pace from most of the music out today. Some of it is what I would describe as folk tunes but she has also included reggae and jazz. A great buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Can't stop listening....

    I want to buy a copy for everyone I know. So much fun, I don't mind my commute anymore! So hard to describe I could not do it justice. Thank you Natalie, for a truly poetic masterpiece!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful, just beautiful.

    We've just listened to the 2-disc set all the way through, and are listening again with the accompanying liner notes. What a beautiful, eclectic mix Ms. merchant has created. Her voice is stronger and more soulful and spirited than ever. I will buy this for everyone on my gift list this year, for any occasion. This is music to share, and bound to be counted as one of the best albums of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a MUST BUY for any Natalie Merchant fan

    Natalie's long awaited CD is certainly worth the wait. Full featured from the first track to the last. It is a rich mixture of music done perfectly. Her writing and arrangements are top notch. I would be hard pressed to say what my favorite track is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Unparalleled

    This is an extremely ambitious album, pulled off with delicious wit and grace. Natalie deserves every accolade she will receive. My ears are happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Leave Her CD...

    Natalie may have been better off remaining asleep. She has a wonderful voice, but this new material does not have nearly the commercial appeal of her past material. It is the type of music one might share with his or her children around the house, with few of the songs having the potential of becoming family favories. Natalie was obviously inspired to write these songs, but I think the audience appeal will be limited. She is a very talented artist, however, and I admire her ambitions to go with what she believes in. I hope I'm wrong in my predictions for this CD and certainly wish Natalie success and happiness in her personal and professional life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2