Customer Reviews for

Leaves of Grass (1884)

Average Rating 4
( 242 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

This had basically all of his works. He is a great writer.

posted by edd4243 on August 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Dont buy this

This book is not formatted at all. Each poem is one long paragraph, and there are not even extra returns after each poem; they all run together. It may not cost much, but it's still a waste of money.

posted by 632890 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 244 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Walt Whitman Leaves of Grass

    Walt Whitman speaks of things that would not normally be placed in poems. He is open about the world around him and himself. In a sense, he is a transcendentalist who does not fear what the public thinks about him. His poems are witty, strange, and sometimes provoking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    AMAZING

    I have always yearned for this book, and knew I would never be able to find a copy.Not only did I locate a

    a copy of this timeless treasure, but a brand new print from Barnes & Noble Books. My most wonderful find yet. Thank you so much, B&N, for making available the past into the present and for the future.
    Paradise Lost by Milton was also the other treasure I was able to acquire to complete my love of literature.

    Thank you so much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Leaves of Grass: The Pinnacle of Western Metaphysical Poetry

    From the opening lines and throughout, Whitman expresses with great clarity the experience of inner peace that arises when the human being is completely connected to the inner and outer worlds. This text includes both versions of the famous Leaves of Grass, as well as, a multitude of other poems. It is a perfect format for long intense study or the need to read a short inspirational piece of poetry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Whitman is the father of American Poetry

    This is the best book ever, period. Wholesome, pure, warming, honest, true.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked this book

    This book was very insperational to me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    Leaves of Grass are Shreds of Truth in a World Unaccustomed to Veracity

    Maybe it is just that I am a hopeless American history book and that a book of poems about the Civil War is more than my feeble mind can resist, but this collection of Walt Whitman's poetry is simply, for lack of a better word, brilliant. In any given poem in the volume, there is some truth, and I do not think we realize how relevant these poems are to life today. The themes in Whitman's poetry are just as alive now as they were during his time. Really, there is no reason why they should not be. Centuries may come and go with the seasons, but America is really the same. Time cannot (or is it has not?) tarnished yet that for which this country exists, and because of that, everything Whitman said in terms of his America applies to ours as well. My favorite poems include 'O Captain! My Captain!', 'Long, too Long, America', and 'To Thee, Old Cause.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    Leaves of Grass

    I think Walt Whitman's poems are sensational!I fell in love with his poems and now I read them all the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    The Perfect Sleeping Pill

    Uncle Walt was considered one of the greatest poets in American History, but I would have to say he is the biggest disappointment in Literature. Leaves of Grass (Bowels of Gas) is so boring it could put you to sleep in the middle of a raging battlefield. I recall him writing a review on Poe, stating Edgar was a nothing, well, (laughing) guess what, no one reads Whitman anymore, yet, Poe is taught in every literature class. The only GOOD thing Whitman ever wrote was, 'Oh Captain, my Captain.' The rest is pure garbage. So, unless you need a good sleeping pill to knock you out, don't bother buying/reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2004

    Perfect Synthesis

    Karbiener brings us a perfect match - Whitman's best poetry in one clear volume. As a Whitman expert, she has compiled what readers need and long for: Whitman's essence. The raw, ascerbic embrace of Whitman's inauguration into the world of literature as seen in 1855 will certainly wake anyone from a holiday slumber.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2004

    a perennial favorite

    Whitman didn't begin writing great poetry- or much of anything at all- before he 'came out,' to himself, in the sexual sense, but also in the greater exploratory and transcendent sense. His best poems are those in which he embraces even death and decimation- as the same life that exists within birth and beauty. Whitman arguably has no actual 'art'- only the kind of originary, inexplicable, uncopyable art that a few others had, for one, Shakespeare.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    The great American book of poetry

    Whitman is the great American poet, the one whose spirit encompasses the vast catalogue of a continent in expansion. His language has a hypnotic rhythmic quality, and the colloquial collector of his own heightened perceptions is too a most sympathetic unraveler of the human soul. Apparently wound-dresser Whitman was a first - rate human being as well. There are parts of ' Leaves of Grass' I believe 'When I Heard the Learned Astronomer ' is one which belong in the Canon of Mankind , and will sing to us down through the 'Ages'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    Excellent poetry.!

    I have read much poetry in the past 20+ years, including Walt¿s, and I still like his poetry very much. If you read Walt¿s poems before, then you know he¿s a great Poet. If you haven¿t read any of his work, then this is a good book to start off reading his poetic works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2003

    This poet had the courage to write his life in verse

    Leaves Of Grass is our American Master peice! He took poetry to a more complex level, simple free verse written from his soul. He was the first poet to inspire me as a poet.Each leaf falls from the tree of monumental size.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2002

    He Broke The Rules

    If you want to know where free verse and modern poetry began, then look no further, it all began with Whitman. I remember the first time I read Song Of Myself; it was sheer joy. I had discovered another country, and believe me, I often go there when I need spiritual sustenance and refreshment. A great poet was this man, Walt Whitman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2000

    A Masterpiece

    This edition of The Leaves of Grass, first published in 1855, contains 12 poems, compared with the final, or deathbed edition of 1892, which contains hundreds. But this is Whitman at his best, with a vision so inclusive as to astonish. I believe this book to be one of the world's greatest spiritual texts - surprised? Read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2000

    Leaves of Grass is a winner

    Walt Whitman is one of the most influential and talented poets in the history of American Literature. His poems are beautiful and can easily be related to today. His ideas are romantic, almost transendental. Leaves of Grass is and will remain a favorite of this teenager.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2015

    Bruh

    Bruh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Kyoto

    Lowers his hand and frowns to kova. "Sorry. Took me forever to get the athens navy going. Cant lose it now." Shadows cover him and he disappears.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Rayne

    He hung his head. "Im....sorry kokoa...i cant stay with you." He murmured sadly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Cause It Might Still Effect You.

    Pick. No Right Or Wrong Answer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 244 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13