Customer Reviews for

Leaves of Grass (First Edition, 1855)

Average Rating 4
( 248 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

-THE BEST OF THE BEST!-

Walt started it all and still continues to show his relevance with every passing decade. A life time poet who will always have my heart!

posted by UtahDesiree on October 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Dont buy this

This book is not formatted at all. Each poem is one long paragraph, and there are not even extra returns after each poem; they all run together. It may not cost much, but it's still a waste of money.

posted by 632890 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2002

    He Broke The Rules

    If you want to know where free verse and modern poetry began, then look no further, it all began with Whitman. I remember the first time I read Song Of Myself; it was sheer joy. I had discovered another country, and believe me, I often go there when I need spiritual sustenance and refreshment. A great poet was this man, Walt Whitman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2000

    A Masterpiece

    This edition of The Leaves of Grass, first published in 1855, contains 12 poems, compared with the final, or deathbed edition of 1892, which contains hundreds. But this is Whitman at his best, with a vision so inclusive as to astonish. I believe this book to be one of the world's greatest spiritual texts - surprised? Read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2000

    Leaves of Grass is a winner

    Walt Whitman is one of the most influential and talented poets in the history of American Literature. His poems are beautiful and can easily be related to today. His ideas are romantic, almost transendental. Leaves of Grass is and will remain a favorite of this teenager.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2015

    Click me

    Hfhvgfgbgnnnnh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2015

    Loki

    May I join?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2015

    Cernunnos

    The horned god walks in. "May I join?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2015

    Wait katrina

    do you have an older brother called matthew who goes to a private school and you went to this camp called rec pac?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2015

    Addon

    She's also not very strong... she's weak and not good at much. Scared, blind, weak, but very beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2015

    Ok thxthx

    Thx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2015

    Addon3

    And she's pretty small. About half the size of a regular dragon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2015

    Katrina

    Yeah sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2015

    Addon

    I guess you'll need to know her memories. <p> She was born and raised by a dragon name Koneko (con-eck-o) who was never exactly paying attention. She met Truthseer (who somehow became the leader of a tribe), the dragon of the librarian. They fell in love but then Dariren (the librarian) di<_>ed. Truthseer fled and you never heard from eachother since.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2015

    Bruh

    Bruh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Kyoto

    Lowers his hand and frowns to kova. "Sorry. Took me forever to get the athens navy going. Cant lose it now." Shadows cover him and he disappears.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Rayne

    He hung his head. "Im....sorry kokoa...i cant stay with you." He murmured sadly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Cause It Might Still Effect You.

    Pick. No Right Or Wrong Answer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Kyeme

    Hesitates and makes up her mind but before she can speak shadows cover her and pulls her away to camp.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Kova

    The Ferryman reaches the docks just as she hits the docks. She holds onto Kilonus as she jumps onto the Ferryman. She holds her palm up, blasting the hounds and fiends back. In the distance she spot a very angry Hades. "Oh f<_>uck..." she murmurs. The Ferryman pulls from that dock and disperses into the mist with Kova and Kilonus. After hours of traveling the Sea of Souls, they reach the other dock and she runs up the stairs as fast as she could, busting through the doors and mounting Amethyst-Inferno. He takes off back to camp.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Joey-K

    Nope. I stoll his girl, and slayed his 3 headed dog...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Joey

    You dont know wha your doing. She has Kyoto. Get. Out. Of. Here. Before Kenny kills you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12