Customer Reviews for

Leaving

Average Rating 4
( 365 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(228)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

You mustn't miss this one!

LEAVING- Kingsbury-

By Hana Gabrielle Packard

LEAVING brought every precious moment I've experienced in my life to the forefront for me to cherish. This book encourages us to love with everything in us. I'm, more than ever, inspired to not put off instilling the f...
LEAVING- Kingsbury-

By Hana Gabrielle Packard

LEAVING brought every precious moment I've experienced in my life to the forefront for me to cherish. This book encourages us to love with everything in us. I'm, more than ever, inspired to not put off instilling the faith of God's love into my family. We are reminded that the LASTS often provide opportunities for FIRSTS. I felt refreshed, up-lifted and blessed, as I always do when I finish Karen's books. Karen has an amazing gift of showing us God's love through her amazing gift of writing. I love the close relationship that Bailey and Jenny have. This is about a girl who has such a strong faith in God and thinks of Him in all she does. The pieces of scripture and the struggles that each character faces and how they learn to lean on and trust God are inspiring. You will feel the raw emotion of loosing love and the exhilaration of the premier. You mustn't miss this one!

posted by 12GABBY12 on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Leaves you pretty much in the same place as the last one

Has Karens usual good stuff but I had trouble getting into this one. Brandon's character just seems hollow to me and the story didn't move very far from where the last one left off. Could be because I'm a huge Bailey/Cody fan and I spent the whole book holding my breath...
Has Karens usual good stuff but I had trouble getting into this one. Brandon's character just seems hollow to me and the story didn't move very far from where the last one left off. Could be because I'm a huge Bailey/Cody fan and I spent the whole book holding my breath and hoping she wasn't going where she seems to be going. Feels like a betrayal almost!

posted by 5202385 on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 368 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    You mustn't miss this one!

    LEAVING- Kingsbury-

    By Hana Gabrielle Packard

    LEAVING brought every precious moment I've experienced in my life to the forefront for me to cherish. This book encourages us to love with everything in us. I'm, more than ever, inspired to not put off instilling the faith of God's love into my family. We are reminded that the LASTS often provide opportunities for FIRSTS. I felt refreshed, up-lifted and blessed, as I always do when I finish Karen's books. Karen has an amazing gift of showing us God's love through her amazing gift of writing. I love the close relationship that Bailey and Jenny have. This is about a girl who has such a strong faith in God and thinks of Him in all she does. The pieces of scripture and the struggles that each character faces and how they learn to lean on and trust God are inspiring. You will feel the raw emotion of loosing love and the exhilaration of the premier. You mustn't miss this one!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    This was a great read. The writing is beautiful, the story wonderful. I can't wait for the next book to come out.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    love this book!!

    First off I must say that I have been counting down the days for Leaving to be released. I finished this book in two days and I must say I loved this book! I laughed, cried, and had all sorts of mixed emotions for this book. I have always loved Bailey and Cody together but by the end of this book I am hoping that Brandon finally gets his chance at love with Bailey. I really am excited to read the rest of Bailey's series Learning, Longing, and Loving. I am sure there will be lots of twists and turns that Bailey will have to face to find her way in life and in love.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Five stars for Karen

    I loved the baxter family drama and now I LOVE this! Amazing book. Definitley worth the money!
    -Isabelle Jay

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    awsome book, 5 stars

    5 stars great author, she is awesome

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    I loved this book!!

    This is my very first time reading any book by karen kingsbury! I would have to say that leaving is very good. I didnt wanna put it down! This book is for young gurls becoming women! I have read the second one in this bailey flanigan series. I liked this one better than that one for some reason.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Jeremiah 29:11

    Thank you for infusing your stories with this verse from the Bible. It has such great meaning. You are truly gifted. You have been given a great gift from God. I enjoy everyone of your books and learn so much from them. I even share them with my husband. I love the whole Baxter & Flanigan series and they mix with each other. I will always look for the next one. Thank you so much.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Introduction I read Leaving by Karen Kingsbury. While reading t

    Introduction
    I read Leaving by Karen Kingsbury. While reading this book, I had many different emotions; happiness, anger, heartache. It covered many subjects such as religion, break-ups, fame, and hard times. It gave the readers a chance to relate to the story in at least one way.
    Description and summary of content
    The story is about a young girl in her early twenties who is trying to find her way. She recently went through a break-up with the love of her life; but is trying to get past the anger and hurt she feels towards him. Her life-long dream was to work on Broadway and she finally had the chance. She was moving to New York, leaving her family, friends, and neighborhood to chase her dreams. While in New York, she fell in love with the famous Brandon Paul.
    Evaluation
    I really enjoyed this book. It is very inspirational and encouraging. Everyone can relate to this story and the challenges it presents.
    Conclusion
    I recommend this book to anybody. While it covers many subjects, it is still easy to understand and relate to.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    A great book

    This is one of the best books I have read lately, you did not want to put it down, and when you finished you could not wait to get the next book which I am reading now "Learning". It keeps you guessing what will happen next and if it will be what you want it to be. Very inspirational and a lot of it really hit home for me. Being a person who has asthma I really related to the story. Gotta get back to "Learning" so I will know who gets whom.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Looking forward then back

    I tried really hard to concentrate on a storyline, but this author's "faith" kept me so distracted and went on & on & on about the message of God that I just gave up! I can appreciate and respect someone's belief, but this wasn't my cup of tea.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    Leaves you pretty much in the same place as the last one

    Has Karens usual good stuff but I had trouble getting into this one. Brandon's character just seems hollow to me and the story didn't move very far from where the last one left off. Could be because I'm a huge Bailey/Cody fan and I spent the whole book holding my breath and hoping she wasn't going where she seems to be going. Feels like a betrayal almost!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Really good book!

    Once I started reading the 'Bailey Flanigan' series I could hardly wait for the next book! It was one of the best series I've ever read, I wasn't disappointed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Amazing

    Karen Kingsbury is sooooo talented. I loved the entire series and now I wish there were more storys in that series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Bailey Flanigan is a wonderful role model for young women today.

    Bailey Flanigan is a wonderful role model for young women today. I am so happy that Karen Kingsbury has given Bailey a series of her own. We have "watched" Bailey grow up though out several other series by Mrs. Kingsbury. Leaving is book #1 in the Bailey Flanigan Series and was well worth the wait. This book will touch the hearts of all mothers who are watching, waiting or have already seen there daughters grow up and leave home. It was wonderful to watch Bailey pray and listen to God's will for her life. The story line for Cody was also used to show his spiritual growth and the redeeming power of the Lord. I look forward to reading, Learning(book #2), Longing(book #3) and Loving(book #4) in this series.

    I was great to see Landon and Ashley's story continue in this book also. This couple models a Christian marriage as it should be in a world gone crazy. Through many heartaches this family has grown and become even more faithful to the Lord. I am praying that these characters will have the happy ending I am hoping for, but then again, God is in charge and the story line will go His way.

    Keep the books coming, Karen as you continue to let God use you to make a difference in this world through your writing. You have a fan for life.

    I received this book from Zondervan for my honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Dislike BIG TIME!

    Had I known that God and Jesus were in every sentence I would not have purchased this book.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    LOVED This Book!

    Leaving" by Karen Kingsbury follows the story of Bailey Flanigan, a young woman who might just have found her next chapter in life. But as with many new changes, people leave and move on, including Bailey and she comes to embrace the fact that Jesus is the only one who won't leave her.

    From the first chapter, I was hooked into the story. The characters are real and relate-able and the format is very reader friendly. The author has nicely woven together this novel with powerful messages such as knowing that God has a plan for you and praying for others. This stories evokes emotions that make this book such a pleasure to read. Readers teen and up will definitely enjoy this novel. I am looking forward to reading more in the Bailey Flanigan Series.

    Disclosure: A copy of this book has been provided without charge by the publisher in order to complete this review. All opinions in this review are mine.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Easy Reading

    I haven't finished it yet, but the book moves rather slow. Enjoy the quotes from the Bible and the story of life experiences but wish there was a little more excitement to keep you interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Me

    Theme song SEXY BACK

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Rosepaw

    Name- Rosepaw
    Age- 8 moons
    Lookes- A white she-cat with green eyes
    Positions- Med. Cat or Med. Cat Apprentice
    Mate/Kits- Are you crazy!
    History- Lived with two different Clans. None of them were active so she left.
    Family- Both parents died. My sister, is the leader of Iceclan at blue ice.
    Others- Just ask. I'm fine with it.
    Traits- Shy, and kind. Will fight if she has to. Loves Kits but doesn't want any of her own.(why? Because i'm a med. Cat/med. Cat apprentice)

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Excellent book- I could hardly put it down. I read through this whole series very quickly. These books are encouraging, and inspire me to walk out my belief in Jesus in a very practical way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 368 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19