Customer Reviews for

Leaving Before It's Over: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 535 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(209)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A great story

I have to thank ms reynolds for not filling the book with filth & sex. She made mention of the normal feeling that arise with youth as well as adults. She always kept the end result clean and respectful. So if you want to read "clean and respectable" you can be comfort...
I have to thank ms reynolds for not filling the book with filth & sex. She made mention of the normal feeling that arise with youth as well as adults. She always kept the end result clean and respectful. So if you want to read "clean and respectable" you can be comfortable reading this book. I can't vouch for other books by this author . But i will read another of her books expecting the same result. Enjoy!!! I wish more readers would express if the book is respectable that i could loan to my Christain granddaughter.

posted by 9039455 on April 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Family values and turmoil

This book started off very intriguing and enjoyable. The story line was very clear and understandable, and you could really feel the heart-wrenching problems that this family has been through. The book lost alot of it's vigor for me towards the end, but I was intrigued...
This book started off very intriguing and enjoyable. The story line was very clear and understandable, and you could really feel the heart-wrenching problems that this family has been through. The book lost alot of it's vigor for me towards the end, but I was intrigued to see how the loose ends all come together. Overall, it is a fairly easy and quick read that will leave you thinking about your own family values.

posted by flteacher4 on December 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Family values and turmoil

    This book started off very intriguing and enjoyable. The story line was very clear and understandable, and you could really feel the heart-wrenching problems that this family has been through. The book lost alot of it's vigor for me towards the end, but I was intrigued to see how the loose ends all come together. Overall, it is a fairly easy and quick read that will leave you thinking about your own family values.

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    disappointing ending to Disappointing ending

    I enjoyed the story and found myself excited to see how it ends but was thoroughly disappointed in the ending. The story just didn't seem to have a real ending to it. I thought I had reached the end of the chapter so I turned the page and reached the bonus material. I would not recommend buying it but not bad for a freebie.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Story draws you in, ending leaves you guessing

    This book started off fine, but ended horribly. There were many loose ends and unfinished scenarios. I hate when authors end a story to leave the rest up to your imagination. If I wanted to imagine my own ending i would have written a book myself.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    It was ok

    The ending felt rushed and not very satisfactory.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Enjoyable

    This book had me hooked from the beginning. At times I hoped things went a little different, but that is what kept me reading: wanting to know what ends up happening.
    I think the ending came as a rush and could have been different. Overall: enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    I thought this book was good. I enjoyed watching the characters

    I thought this book was good. I enjoyed watching the characters develop. The only thing I disliked about it was the way it ended. It left too many loose ends. It took over 300 pages to get to the end, so why rush the last little bit?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    A slow read

    I dont know how i felt about this book. It was like a Lifetime movie with no climax. It was just enough to keep me reading but it never moved forward. With all of the character development I would have expected much more development from it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Good.

    Leaving Before It's Over: A Novel

    I give this book 3 out of 5 stars because although I liked it, I felt like something was missing towards the end. It was a good read overall though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Family Values

    A feel good novel about a family faced with adversity, but full of support for one another. You can't help but root for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Lex

    Okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Good

    Slow beginning but ioverall a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Good read

    Heart warming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Good story

    I fell in love with the characters and the story was very interesting! It was definately a page turner! The ending was kinda abrupt. And left me wanting more! I gave it 3 out of 5 because I wanted more of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    B+

    While I enjoyed the southern charm of the story, and I loved the characters, I was disappointed in the ending. I expected a little more. Overall...a nice read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Nice Clean Story, Good Character Development.

    It was moderately well written, except I agree that there could have been a more satisfying ending. Thanks for a story without the obscenity so many books have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    no ending

    I really enjoyed this book until the last page. There is no end.... I would love to know what happens to this family. Disappointing for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Ok

    Good book but I kept waiting for something big to happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Recommend

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book however I'm not sure that the maturity of the teens is credible. Would certainly read more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Enjoyed the story

    But have to agree w/ previous review ~ abrupt ending. I was ready for the next chapter, not the end of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6